Maggard back to back in Springfield USRA Modifieds
Print this page
August 29, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - While the weather has been cool this racing season, Brandon Maggard has been hot as the Springfield driver showed everyone the fast way around the quick Springfield Raceway quarter-mile Saturday night in grabbing his second consecutive USRA Modified feature win in a nail-biter.

Over 80 race teams checked into the pits.

The 20-lap USRA Modified feature saw 17 strong drivers take the green as Arkansas driver Todd Knight grabbed the opening lead with veteran Ron McClellan following closely.

On lap 2, McClellan shot to the lead as Jody Tillman and Erik Maggard were coming forward. Tillman, who used the top groove of the track, took the lead on lap 4 as Jim Body was working forward.

The first caution waved on lap 5 as Knight and Maggard made contact ending both their strong runs.

On the restart, Tillman found Jesse Stovall making his way forward to challange as Brandon Maggard was moving up from the 10th starting spot.

The lead trio thrilled the crowd as they provided excellent side-by-side action while points runner-up Mitch Keeter powered to the fourth spot and was closing.

On lap 16, Brandon Maggard, running the bottom of the track, made a smooth move to the inside of leader Tillman to grab the lead as Stovall was moving both high and low contending for the lead.

On lap 18, Tillman and Stovall made contact as Stovall went sideways in turn 3, bringing out only the second yellow.

On the restart, Maggard pulled away with Mitch Keeter slipping under Tillman to take home the runner-up spot as Tillman, Bobby Pearish and points leader Jackie Dalton completed the top-5 with 14 of the 17 starters finishing on the lead lap.

With Keeter's runner-up spot, he moved to within one point of Dalton with season championships next Saturday night, Sept. 5.

Champions will be crowned next Saturday in the USRA Modifieds, SportMods, Bombers and Legends Cars, with an apperance by the Pro-4 Late Models. Racing will start at 7:30 with hot laps at 6:45.

More information is on the website at or by contacting Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 29, 2009


Feature: 1. Brandon Maggard, Springfield; 2. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 3. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 4. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 5. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 6. Jim Body, Diamond; 7. Ron McClellan, Jasper; 8. Brian Green, Pierce City; 9. Joe Duvall, Chelsea, Okla.; 10. Greg Skaggs, Bixby, Okla.; 11. Jesse Stovall, Galena; 12. Darrell McWhirter, Bentonville, Ark.; 13. Eric Clay, Clever; 14. Sam Petty, Niangua; 15. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 16. Erik Maggard, Springfield; 17. Todd Knight, Harrison, Ark.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group