Hess, Robinson, Folkerts take checkers at Osky
Print this page
June 7, 2000

by Scott Watson

OSKALOOSA, IA (June 7, 2000) — Brandon Hess of Oskaloosa passed last week’s Hobby Stock feature winner, Brad Stephens of Bussey, for the race lead on the sixth lap and held him off the remaining six laps to return to victory lane at The Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa for his second career feature win during the night being sponsored by Pyramid Graphics and Sports and R/J Performance. Bussey finished in second to Hess by a car length with Bobby Greene of Tracy in third and Scott Buehneman of Keswick in fourth.

Lady luck was riding with Mike Robinson of Moravia during the IMCA Stock Car main event. Robinson made his way into the feature lead on the fourth lap with his car running strong. Then the first of four caution flags was displayed two laps later. While the cars proceeded around the track until they were properly aligned, smoke began to spew out of the engine compartment. The green flag was displayed and they resumed racing with the smoke stopping for the time being. Three more caution flags were thrown during the remaining eight laps with Robinson’s machine smoking each time they slowed for the yellows. Robinson’s motor held together to hold off Bobby Greiner Jr. of Ottumwa the last lap for the victory. Greiner finished in second with Brad Pinkerton of New Sharon in third and Brian Edel of Oskaloosa in fourth.

The Folkerts brothers from Albia battled side-by-side the entire third heat of the IMCA Modifieds with Troy topping Tim as they crossed the finish line for the heat race win. In the feature event, Troy passed Tim with three laps remaining after Tim had led from the drop of the green flag and proceeded to lead the field to the checkered flag for the victory. Tim finished in second place with last week’s feature winner, John VanDenBerg of Oskaloosa, in third and Ron VerBeek of Oskaloosa in fourth.

Next week is the Pepsi Mid Season Championships and the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models will be making their annual stop at the track. This is the 200th event for the series which will bring a large number of IMCA Late Models to the fast ˝ mile.



Heat #1 - 1, Phil Hamilton, Oskaloosa; 2, Robert Rupprecht, Oskaloosa; 3, T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa.

Heat #2 - 1, Bill Bonnett, Knoxville; 2, Tommy Lathrop, Ottumwa; 3, Bobby Greene, Tracy.

Heat #3 - 1, Scott Buehneman, Keswick; 2, Brad Stephens, Bussey; 3, Lorne Parks, Ottumwa.

Heat #4 - 1, Kris Walker, Oskaloosa; 2, Brandon Hess, Oskaloosa; 3, Gene Tish, Deep River.

B Main #1 - 1, Eric Flander, What Cheer; 2, Doug Gordon Jr., Ottumwa.

B Main #2 - 1, Mike Shelton, Ottumwa; 2, Todd Phillips, Ollie.

Feature - 1, Hess; 2, Stephens; 3, Greene; 4, Buehneman; 5, Parks; 6, Criss; 7, Jason Reed, Melcher; 8, Shelton; 9, Nicky Witt, Oskaloosa; 10, Lathrop; 11, Rick VanDusseldorp, Oskaloosa; 12, Phillips; 13, Jared Curry, Fremont; 14, Hamilton; 15, Rupprecht; 16, Steve Shepard, Fremont; 17, T.J. Sammons, Agency; 18, Bud Maschmann, Malcom; 19, Walker; 20, Gordon.


Heat #1 - 1, Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 2, Brian Edel, Oskaloosa; 3, Jim Brown, Fremont.

Heat #2 - 1, Brant Fuhs, Eldon; 2, Mike Robinson, Moravia; 3, Jim Lynch, Bloomfield.

Heat #3 - 1, Scott Johannes, Cedar; 2, Pat Surfus, Oskaloosa; 3, Howard Gordon Jr., New Sharon.

Heat #4 - 1, Dave Wilson, Ottumwa; 2, Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa; 3, Wade Francis, Eddyville.

B Main - 1, Kevin Booy, Oskaloosa; 2, Corey Stout, Oskaloosa; 3, Don Sanders, Ottumwa.

Feature - 1, Robinson; 2, Greiner; 3, Pinkerton; 4, Edel; 5, Gordon; 6, Surfus; 7, Fuhs; 8, Brown; 9, Eric Snyder, Eldon; 10, Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 11, Stout; 12, Booy; 13, Bob Crouse, New Sharon; 14, Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa; 15, Sanders; 16, Travis Hansaker, Melcher; 17, Bill Redlinger, Richland; 18, Brian Sterling, Rose Hill; 19, Johannes; 20, Jeremy Miller, Batavia.


Heat #1 - 1, Mark Mundell, Ottumwa; 2, Todd Holman, Ottumwa; 3, John VanDenberg, Oskaloosa.

Heat #2 - 1, Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa; 2, Jim Lynch, Bloomfield; 3, Mark Widmar, Ottumwa.

Heat #3 - 1, Troy Folkerts, Albia; 2, Tim Folkerts, Albia; 3, Mark Macomber, Lancaster, MO.

Feature - 1, Troy Folkerts; 2, Tim Folkerts; 3, VanDenberg; 4, VerBeek; 5, Lynch; 6, Holman; 7, Macomber; 8, Danny Wallace, Des Moines; 9, Jeff Streeter, Vinton; 10, Greg Cox, Altoona; 11, Chad McKay, Oskaloosa; 12, Mundell; 13, Widmar; 14, Mike Vermillion, What Cheer; 15, Gordy Head, Plano; 16, Dave Farren Jr., Des Moines; 17, Chris Eggers, Lancaster, MO; 18, Brian Vanderwaal, Nevada; 19, Bobby Bowman, Winterset; 20, Eric Fullenkamp, Eldon.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group