Maggard wins the battle, Dalton wins the war at Springfield
Print this page
September 5, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Despite heavy rains only 24 hours earlier, Springfield Raceway was able to get the quick quarter-mile ready to crown the 2009 season championships as three titles were up for grabs with over 70 race teams in the pits and ready for action.

The USRA Modified feature was going to be a points battle duel as three-time track champion Jackie Dalton came into the night with only a one-point lead over Mitch Keeter.

As the field took the green with both Dalton and Keeter on the front row, it was Dalton getting the jump with Keeter right on his side.

On lap 4, Erik Maggard began his move to challange Dalton with Keeter and Bobby Pearish close behind.

With Maggard diving to the inside groove of Dalton, the duo ran wheel to wheel for eight laps before Maggard made the low groove stick going into turn 4, grabbing the top spot on lap 15 as Keeter began to fall back.

The Yellow waved on lap 17 as Steve Muilenburg had problems, sending him to the pits and ending his night.

On the double-file restart, Dalton picked the low groove as Keeter got a fresh breath of life and began to apply pressure to Dalton in the championship chase.

Up front, Maggard could run anywhere high or low as he pulled away to take home the win as all eyes were on the side-by-side battle of Dalton and Keeter.

Keeter pulled along side of Dalton several times on the top side, but Dalton got the better grip off the turns. Dalton's runner-up spot grabbed the championship with Keeter, Jim Body and Jody Tillman completing the top-5.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, Sept. 5, 2009


Feature: 1. Erik Maggard, Springfield; 2. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 3. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 4. Jim Body, Diamond; 5. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 6. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 7. Brian Green, Pierce City; 8. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 9. Darrell McWhirter, Bentonville, Ark.

Heat #1: 1. Muilenburg; 2. Green; 3. McWhirter; 4. Tillman.

Heat #2: 1. Maggard; 2. Keeter; 3. Body; 4. Dalton; 5. Pearish.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group