Walker, Greiner, Mundell pick up Bud Classic wins at Osky
Print this page
July 26, 2000

by Scott Watson

OSKALOOSA, IA (July 26, 2000) — Kris Walker of Oskaloosa made his way into the Hobby Stock feature lead on the fourth lap and held off fellow Oskaloosa driver, Brandon Hess, the final three laps for the victory during the Budweiser Classic Night during the Southern Iowa Fair. Hess made a last lap charge to pull along side Walker going into the third turn but Walker held his line around the track and picked up the win by a car length over Hess. Scott Buehneman of Keswick took passing honors by winning the first B Main which gave him a start on the inside of the eleventh row and he worked his way through the field to finish in third. Mark Wirth of Chariton finished in fourth.

Bobby Greiner Jr. of Ottumwa passed Corey Stout of Oskaloosa for the IMCA Stock Car feature lead on the eleventh lap after Stout had led the prior five laps. Greiner led the field around the -mile the final three laps for the trip to victory lane. Stout finished in second behind Greiner with Brad Pinkerton of New Sharon in third and Jim Brown of Fremont in fourth.

The IMCA Modified main event was a qualifying race for the Mr. Midwest Modified race scheduled on September 3rd and it was a race that saw several drivers dropping out with mechanical woes. Mark Mundell of Ottumwa inherited the lead on the tenth lap when race leader, Ron VerBeek of Oskaloosa, dropped out with motor problems. Mundell led the field the final five laps for the victory which qualified him for the Mr. Midwest Modified race which is a ten-lap event with 14 cars gunning for the $5,000 winner-take-all top prize. Mike VanGenderen of Newton finished in second with Mike Vermillion of What Cheer in third and Todd Holman of Ottumwa in fourth.



Heat #1 - 1, Bobby Greene, Tracy; 2, Brandon Bandstra, New Sharon; 3, Rick VanDusseldorp, Oskaloosa;

Heat #2 - 1, Travis Sherwood, Oskaloosa; 2, Brandon Hess, Oskaloosa; 3, Robbert Rupprecht, Oskaloosa;

Heat #3 - 1, Mark Wirth, Chariton; 2, Lorne Parks, Ottumwa; 3, Bill Shipman, Oskaloosa;

Heat #4 - 1, Kris Walker, Oskaloosa; 2, Rick Metcalf, Selma; 3, Eric Flander, What Cheer;

B Main #1 - 1, Scott Buehneman, Keswick; 2, Mike Payne, Leighton;

B Main #2 - 1, Bill Bonnett, Knoxville; 2, T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa;

Feature - 1, Walker; 2, Hess; 3, Buehneman; 4, Wirth; 5, Brad Stephens, Bussey; 6, Craig Brown, Eldon; 7, Parks; 8, Jason Reed, Melcher; 9, Gene Tish, Deep River; 10, Bonnett; 11, Brad Tursic, Ottumwa; 12, Curt Lamberson, Rose Hill; 13, Criss; 14, Steve Shepard, Fremont; 15, Payne; 16, Shipman; 17, Tommy Lathrop, Ottumwa; 18, Flander; 19, Rupprecht; 20, Sherwood;


Heat #1 - 1, Jim Brown, Fremont; 2, Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa; 3, Don Sanders, Ottumwa;

Heat #2 - 1, Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 2, Mickey Kerr, Fairfield; 3, David Vass, Eldon;

Heat #3 - 1, Corey Stout, Oskaloosa; 2, Scott Johannes, Cedar; 3, Wade Francis, Eddyville;

Heat #4 - 1, Brian Sterling, Rose Hill; 2, Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 3, Mike Robinson, Moravia;

B Main - 1, Brian Edel, Oskaloosa; 2, Cliff McNeal, Ottumwa; 3, Craig Tierney, Kellogg;

Feature - 1, Greiner; 2, Stout; 3, Pinkerton; 4, Brown; 5, Howard Gordon Jr., New Sharon; 6, Brant Fuhs, Eldon; 7, Sterling; 8, Kerr; 9, Francis; 10, Vass; 11, McCombs; 12, Johannes; 13, Sanders; 14, Robinson; 15, Jeremy Miller, Batavia; 16, Pat Surfus, Oskaloosa; 17, Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 18, Aaron Hicklin, New Sharon; 19, David Foster, New Sharon; 20, Bill Redlinger, Richland;


Heat #1 - 1, Troy Folkerts, Albia; 2, Mike Kaller, Highland Center; 3, Mark Mundell, Ottumwa;

Heat #2 - 1, Jeff Kropf, Ottumwa; 2, Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa; 3, Mike VanGenderen, Newton;

Feature - 1, Mundell; 2, VanGenderen; 3, Mike Vermillion, What Cheer; 4, Todd Holman, Ottumwa; 5, Dave Farren Jr., Des Moines; 6, Greg Cox, Altoona; 7, Chad McKay, Oskaloosa; 8, Folkerts; 9, VerBeek; 10, Kaller; 11, John Vandenberg, Oskaloosa; 12, Danny Wallace, Des Moines; 13, Roger Baxter, University Park; 14, Kropf.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group