Sherwood, Fuhs, Vermillion nab wins at Osky
Print this page
August 23, 2000

by Scott Watson

OSKALOOSA, IA (Aug. 23, 2000) — Travis Sherwood of Oskaloosa went to the lead of the Hobby Stock feature on the second lap and held off the field the remaining ten laps for his second victory of the year at The Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa during Bill and Rays Truck Service Night. Lorne Parks of Ottumwa finished in second place to Sherwood by two car lengths with Scott Buehneman of Keswick in third and Brad Stephens of Bussey in fourth.

Brant Fuhs of Eldon took over the IMCA Stock Car feature lead on the ninth circuit and held off the hard-charging, Howard Gordon Jr. of New Sharon, the final lap for the trip to victory lane. Gordon started on the outside of the eighth row and worked his way through the field for a second place finish to Fuhs while Brad Pinkerton of New Sharon finished in third and Bobby Greiner Jr. of Ottumwa took home a fourth place finish from his inside seventh row start.

Mike Vermillion of What Cheer took advantage of his outside front row starting position in the IMCA Modified main event by going to the lead on the first lap and he proceeded to lead the entire 16-lap event for his first ever win at Oskaloosa and the second win of his career. David Brown of Kellogg finished a strong second place to Vermillion with Randy Schroeder of Keswick in third and Mark Mundell of Ottumwa in fourth.



Heat #1 - 1, Jareod Sanders, New Sharon; 2, Tommy Lathrop, Ottumwa; 3, Scott Buehneman, Keswick

Heat #2 - 1, Rick VanDusseldorp, Oskaloosa; 2, Brad Stephens, Bussey; 3, Nicky Witt, Oskaloosa

Heat #3 - 1, Travis Sherwood, Oskaloosa; 2, Mike Shelton, Ottumwa; 3, Lorne Parks, Ottumwa

Heat #4 - 1, Jason Reed, Dallas; 2, Gene Tish, Deep River; 3, Robbert Rupprecht, Oskaloosa

B Main - 1, Bobby Greene, Tracy; 2, Brad Tursic, Ottumwa; 3, Kris Walker, Oskaloosa

Feature - 1, Sherwood; 2, Parks; 3, Buehneman; 4, Stephens; 5, Shelton; 6, Reed; 7, Tish; 8, Tursic; 9, VanDusseldorp; 10, Greene; 11, Lathrop; 12, Walker; 13, Sanders; 14, Todd Phillips, Ollie; 15, Curt Lamberson, Rose Hill; 16, Jared Curry, Fremont; 17, Witt; 18, Mike Payne Leighton; 19, Rupprecht; 20, Eric Flander, What Cheer


Heat #1 - 1, Bill Slaney, Packwood; 2, Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 3, Doug DeJong, Oskaloosa

Heat #2 - 1, Jim Lynch, Bloomfield; 2, Wade Francis, Eddyville; 3, Larry Mathis, Beacon

Heat #3 - 1, Brant Fuhs, Eldon; 2, Mike Robinson, Moravia; 3, Mike Goff, Lacona

Heat #4 - 1, Corey Stout, Oskaloosa; 2, Brian Sterling, Rose Hill; 3, Randy Baker, Batavia

B Main - 1, Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa; 2, Mickey Kerr, Fairfield; 3, David Vass, Eldon

Feature - 1, Fuhs; 2, Howard Gordon Jr., New Sharon; 3, Pinkerton; 4, Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa; 5, Baker; 6, Sterling; 7, Kerr; 8, Michael McClure, Bloomfield; 9, Bob Crouse, New Sharon; 10, Pat Surfus, Oskaloosa; 11, Francis; 12, Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 13, VerBeek; 14, Eric Snyder, Eldon; 15, Goff; 16, John Smith, Ottumwa; 17, Dennis Harwood, Mt Pleasant; 18, Slaney; 19, Robinson; 20, Vass


Heat #1 -1, Mike Vermillion, What Cheer; 2, Jeff Kropf, Ottumwa; 3, Randy Schroeder, Keswick

Heat #2 - 1, Mark Mundell, Ottumwa; 2, Danny Wallace, Des Moines; 3, David Brown, Kellogg

Heat #3 - 1, Tim Folkerts, Albia; 2, Mike Kaller, Highland Center; 3, John VanDenberg, Oskaloosa

Feature - 1, Vermillion; 2, Brown; 3, Schroeder; 4, Mundell; 5, Roger Baxter, University Park; 6, Troy Folkerts, Albia; 7, Kaller; 8, Todd Holman, Ottumwa; 9, Greg Cox, Altoona; 10, Wallace; 11, Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa; 12, Ken Squires, Albia; 13, Tim Gannon, Des Moines; 14, Chris Schulte, Davenport; 15, Bill Barber, Osceola; 16, Kropf; 17, VanDenberg; 18, Bill Davis Jr., Des Moines

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group