Phillips grabs OctoberFast checkers at Springfield
Print this page
October 10, 2009

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Springfield's Terry Phillips just loves the quick high-banked quarter-mile Springfield Raceway. Phillips, who started his racing career at the Springfield track when it was a different layout, has had a lot of success here.

Phillips took advantage of a lap-five restart to overtake leader Steve Martin and drove away with the 30-lap USRA Modified feature worth $1,000. Phillips redrew the sixth starting position after the top eight redrew, then let the race come to him. He worked the outside groove to perfection and left the field to battle for positions.

Erik Maggard ended up in the runner-up spot after several battles with Tony Jackson Jr. and a fast-moving Mark Dotson.

Perhaps the fastest car on the track was top passing points earner Brian Bolin. Bolin redrew the eighth starting spot, was as high as third and charging until a right rear flat took him to the pits. The Fort Scott veteran was able to make it back out and charged again back to a sixth-place finish from the rear of the star-studded field which saw several top Modified drivers on the trailer.

Twelve of the twenty starters finished on the lead lap.

The top eight in passing points were Bolin, Martin, Jackson, Eric Turner, Phillips, Erik Maggard, Cody Elnicki and Brandon Maggard.

"B" features went to Jesse Stovall and Rex Merritt.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, Oct. 10, 2009


"A" Main (starting position in parenheses): 1. Terry Phillips (6); 2. Erik Maggard (5); 3. Tony Jackson Jr (2); 4. Mark Dotson (11); 5. Steve Martin (1); 6. Brian Bolin (8); 7. Jason Pursley (15); 8. Steve Muilenburg (14); 9. Cody Elnicki (7); 10. Jim Body (13); 11. Bobby Pearish (18); 12. Jackie Dalton (17); 13. David Kirkland (19); 14. Jesse Stovall (9); 15. Brian Green (20); 16. Brandon Maggard (4); 17. Rex Merritt (10); 18. Eric Turner (3); 19. Todd Knight (16); 20. John Yeoman(12).

"B" Main #1 (top 6 advance): 1. Stovall; 2. Dotson; 3. Body; 4. Pursley; 5. Dalton; 6. Kirkland; 7. Daulton Greven; 8. Colson Kirk; 9. Ryan Stacye; DNS - Travis Smith, Dutin Campbell.

"B" Main #2 (top 6 advance): 1. Merritt; 2. Yeoman; 3. Muilenburg; 4. Knight; 5. Pearish; 6. Green; 7. Jon Sheets; 8. Jody Tillman; DNS -Justin Folk, Mitch Keeter.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group