Case closed: Anderson wins Baehman Law B-Mod Challenge at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
June 4, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - The second annual Baehman Law B-Mod Challenge had 20 cars vying for the $1,000 paycheck Friday night at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway. But not only was a driver going to collect big, the fans had a pretty good chance of something as well.

In addition to sponsoring the night, Jack Baehman also provided a beverage to every person in the stands if one of his four Baehman Law-sponsored cars were to win or if he himself just finished the race.

Both happened and fans were treated to a beverage of their choice.

USRA Modified driver Jay Ihrke was elected to drive a couple lucky fans in the Mississippi Thunder Speedway two-seater Modified.

Chances to win a ride are sold throughout the program every night at the MTS.

The 25-lap USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature showcased 20 drivers ready to race their hearts out.

Six cautions and 13 cars down, Ben Anderson captured the big check which also confirmed a free beverage to all fans in the stands.

Michael Wytaske and Ben Moudry set the pace for the race, but a first-lap caution took out back-to-back winner Troy Langowski and reset the cars for a complete restart.

Wytaske and Moudry tried again and got the race flowing when Anderson moved up on Moudry for second place behind Wytaske.

Moudry then took the lead over Wytaske, and Anderson shot low on Moudry for the lead when another caution for debris slowed the field.

Moudry headed to the pits for work and returned to the back of the field only to be sent to the infield since he went beyond the work area all the way to his pit stall.

Anderson assumed the lead over Matt Jones of Waukon, Iowa and Wytaske.

Anderson laid down a comfortable lead over Jones, Wytaske, Erik Kanz, and Brandon Hare.

Jake Timm made an attempt at fourth but Kanz held his ground. Jones gained some on Anderson and left a pack of five cars to vie for third place.

Caution three flew over the field when Timm slowed on the front stretch amid a puff of white smoke.

Anderson and Kanz then raced side by side briefly for the lead, but Anderson maintained his spot.

After caution five, Anderson led followed by Kanz, Jones and Hare.

Anderson slid a bit high into the rough when Jones shot under for the lead.

Anderson regained his composure to take back the lead.

The final caution arrived when Ed Appel’s machine went up in flames down the front stretch.

Anderson led the final restart followed by Jones, Kanz and Brian Schrage who clawed his way up from 11th place.

Through it all, Anderson grabbed the win, the paycheck, and the ride to victory lane.

Jones followed up in second place with Kanz, Hare and Schrage in third, fourth and fifth place, respectively.

Ryan York of Racine, Minn., sat atop the field in the USRA RHS Modified main event.

Bob Timm was to be outside pole but was a no-show which allowed Lucas Schott outside pole.

Josh Angst and John Doelle followed in the second row, and Angst quickly overtook York for the lead.

Schott showed signs of trouble and pulled his car to the infield while Jay Ihrke flew into third place behind Angst and York.

Doelle settled into fourth as the top four pulled away from the rest of the field.

A caution for Paul Hamernik’s machine teetering on the inside berm in turn four reset the cars with Angst, Ihrke, York, Leroy Scharkey and Chris Gilbertson in the top five.

Within seven laps, the car count dwindled from 16 to 9.

Angst continued his high-flying ways while Ihrke kept close.

York, Gilbertson, and Scharkey held their ground in spots three through five when suddenly Ihrke slowed and dropped from competition.

As cars peeled off the track with various issues, Angst was able to take another win from the competition.

York finished second followed by Gilbertson, Scharkey and “Crazy” Phil Wernert.

June 11th will show the return of the WISSOTA Late Models.

All regular classes including USRA RHS Modifieds, USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods, WISSOTA Street Stocks, WISSOTA Super Stocks, 600 Mini Mods and Junior/Senior Mini Mods will also be running.

Racing begins at 6 p.m. for the Mini Mods and 7 p.m. for all other classes. For more details, go to

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, June 4, 2010


Feature – Josh Angst, Ryan York, Chris Gilbertson, Leroy Scharkey, Phil Wernert, Les Jonsgaard, Paul Hamernik, Randy Jonsgaard, Jay Ihrke, Lance Hofer, Andy Bohnstengel, Adam Stockhausen, John Doelle, Shaun Wehlage, Lucas Schott, Bob Timm.

Heat 1 – Schott, Angst, Hofer, Doelle, Scharkey, Stockhausen, R. Jonsgaard, Wehlage.

Heat 2 – Ihrke, York, Timm, Bohnstengel, Hamernik, Wernert, L. Jonsgaard, Gilbertson.


Feature – Ben Anderson, Matt Jones, Erik Kanz, Brandon Hare, Brian Schrage, Jeremy Schaufenbuel, Chad Kosidowski, Jack Baehman, Michael Wytaske, Ed Appel, Parker Hale, Tyler Creeley, Mike Kelly, Bob Fort, Jake Timm, Pat McCarthy, Ben Moudry, Troy Langowski, Andrew Kelly, Josh Gesell.

Heat 1 – Kanz, Langowski, Wytaske, Creeley, Kosidowski, Appel, M. Kelly.

Heat 2 – Anderson, Jones, A. Kelly, Moudry, Fort, Hale, McCarthy.

Heat 3 – Hare, Timm, Schrage, Schaufenbuel, Baehman, Gesell.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group