Ihrke, Kanz top Mississippi Thunder Speedway action
Print this page
June 18, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - In what started out to be a very questionable day for weather and track conditions, it turned out to be a full night of racing with the program ending by 10:30. A remarkably smooth track greeted drivers at Mississippi Thunder Speedway for the sixth event of the season sponsored by Severson Sinclair of Winona.

Previous winners in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods Brandon Hare and Ben Anderson sat atop the field for the main event. Hare jetted to the lead but was immediately chased by Anderson and Erik Kanz.

Hare, Anderson and Kanz vied for the lead while Jimmy Broszeit shot into fourth. Kanz tried the high line around Hare, but Hare held his ground. Kanz made another attempt on Hare and made it stick to take over the lead while Hare was left to fend off Anderson for second place.

A caution reset the field with Kanz, Hare, Anderson, Broszeit and Troy Langowski in the top five. Langowski made a play for third on Hare, but Hare shot back. Langowski made another attempt, and finally made it work to take over third behind Kanz and Anderson.

A caution for Brian Schrage’s machine going up in smoke restarted the field with Kanz, Anderson, Langowski and Hare up front. Caution four slowed the field when Jack Baehman was stopped by the wall.

With three laps to go, six cars remained in play. Kanz made his final restart and was able to hold the rest back for his first feature win this season. Anderson, Langowski, Hare and Broszeit finished out the top five.

Ron Konkel and Ryan York set the pace in the USRA RHS Modified main event. Konkel assumed the front spot while Bob Timm, Josh Angst and York were in a quick three-wide battle for second place.

Jay Ihrke moved into the top five and quickly took over second behind Konkel while Timm, York and Angst battled for third place.

Ihrke climbed up on Konkel as the two went head to head for the lead as Timm peeled away for third place, and Angst took over fourth ahead of York.

At the halfway mark of the race, Ihrke led the field followed by Timm, Angst and York. Timm gained ground on Ihrke’s lead by lap 15, but Ihrke maintained the spot.

A caution at lap 20 reset the pack for a five-lap shootout to the finish. Ihrke was able to hold off Timm for the win. Angst finished third followed by Andy Bohnstengel in fourth. A late race surge nearly saw Hank Rollinger nip the top five, but York beat Rollinger to the line.

The USMTS Modifieds will blow into the speedway on Friday, June 25, for a $2,000-to-win show sponsored by Fastenal and Stone Machinery. Also running will be the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods, along with WISSOTA Street Stocks, 600 Mini Mods, A Mini Mods and B Mini Mods. Nine-time USMTS Champion Kelly Shryock will pilot the MTS NAPA Two-Seater Modified for one lucky fan. Tickets can be purchased that night for $2 through the heat races.

Thursday, July 1st will be the first WISSOTA Street Stock Summer Nationals and will include WISSOTA Late Models as well as USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods. The Dart WISSOTA Late Model Challenge Series will make its appearance at the speedway on Friday, July 2. Stay tuned to the track website for additional class information.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, June 18, 2010


Feature: Erik Kanz, Ben Anderson, Troy Langowski, Brandon Hare, Jimmy Broszeit, Barry Johnson, Jack Baehman, Chad Kosidowski, Brian Schrage, Tyler Creeley, Parker Hale, Ed Appel.

Heat #1: Broszeit, Johnson, Hale, Kosidowski, Creeley, Appel.

Heat #2: Hare, Schrage, Kanz, Anderson, Langowski, Baehman.


Feature: Jay Ihrke, Bob Timm, Josh Angst, Andy Bohnstengel, Ryan York, Hank Rollinger, Ron Konkel, Chris Gilbertson, Adam Stockhausen, Leroy Scharkey, Steve Speltz, Phil Wernert, Shaun Wehlage, Brian Albrecht, Les Jonsgaard, John Doelle, Les Duellman, Lance Hofer, Randy Jonsgaard.

Heat #1: Angst, Doelle, Scharkey, Konkel, Duellman, Albrecht, Wehlage.

Heat #2: Ihrke, Gilbertson, Hofer, Rollinger, Stockhausen, R. Jonsgaard.

Heat #3: Timm, Bohnstengel, Speltz, York, L. Jonsgaard, Wernert.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group