Wasmund notches first win, Langowski sweeps at Fountain City
Print this page
July 16, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - On a night sponsored by Lou Fegers Racing, Mike Fegers was in house and brought plenty of prizes for the fans as well as bonuses for some drivers. Josh Angst was chosen as the Winona Radio Driver of the Week for his supreme efforts in the USRA RHS Modified division. He currently leads the USRA RHS Modified national points standings.

Chad Kosidowski looked fierce and strong in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature. Erik Kanz slowed during the first lap with a flat tire and the first of several cautions was pulled out. Kosidowski again took the point but was reeled back by a second caution. When a few laps finally latched together, Kosidowski led over Brandon Hare in second.

Troy Langowski charmed his way through the field from his eighth place starting spot into third before running side by side with Hare for second. Shaun Walski and Brian Schrage ran hard for fourth and fifth. Langowski took to the inside of Kosidowski with four laps down to take the lead from his brother-in-law. Langowski proved to be a dominant figure as he never relinquished the lead and headed to victory lane again.

Walski certainly made several attempts to dethrone Langowski, but runner up was what he would have to settle for. Kanz worked his way back to a third place finish followed by Hare and Parker Hale.

The USRA RHS Modifieds started with 19 cars, but they had seven cautions and seven DNFs to go through before the checkers flew. Chris Gilbertson and Bob Timm pulled to a distance right away as they left Lance Hofer, Ron Konkel, and Adam Stockhausen to fight for third place. Timm grabbed the lead over Gilbertson while Hofer wrestled third place away from Konkel and Stockhausen.

Nate Wasmund torpedoed into fourth place, but the first yellow flew which sent him back to his spot. Timm, Hofer, Gilbertson, Konkel, and Stockhausen sat atop the field on the restart. While Timm ran high out of turn four and Gilbertson ran low, Hofer split the two to take over the lead, but it was brief as Timm regained the spot. Konkel then moved under Hofer, but Wasmund too had the same idea. Timm then slipped back to fourth behind Hofer, Konkel and Wasmund.

Angst and Timm then ran side by side for fourth place. Konkel managed to finally get the lead from Hofer. After multiple cautions, Konkel continued his lead over Wasmund, Angst, Stockhausen and Andy Bohnstengel. At lap 15, Wasmund made a serious bid for the lead and put Konkel back to second. Angst then jumped to second as Konkel drifted back to fourth behind Stockhausen.

Wasmund made the happy trip to the infield for his first win at the speedway in only his second visit. Angst, Stockhausen, Konkel and Hofer rounded out the top five.

Coming up on Friday, July 23, will be the Rivercity Rumble Modified Special. USRA RHS Modifieds and USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods will run in addition to Street Stocks, 600 Mini Mods, and A/B Mini Mods.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 16, 2010


Feature: 1. Troy Langowski, 2. Shaun Walski, 3. Erik Kanz, 4. Brandon Hare, 5. Parker Hale, 6. Brian Schrage, 7. Jake Timm, 8. Jack Baehman, 9. Barry Johnson, 10. Tyler Creeley, 11. Ed Appel, 12. Ben Anderson, 13. Chad Kosidowski, 14. Pat McCarthy.

Heat #1: 1. Anderson, 2. Walski, 3. Creeley, 4. Hale, 5. Kosidowski, 6. Johnson, 7. McCarthy.

Heat #2: 1. Langowski, 2. Kanz, 3. Hare, 4. Timm, 5. Schrage, 6. Baehman, 7. Appel.


Feature: 1. Nate Wasmund, 2. Josh Angst, 3. Adam Stockhausen, 4. Ron Konkel, 5. Lance Hofer, 6. Hank Rollinger Jr., 7. John Doelle, 8. Leroy Scharkey, 9. Chris Gilbertson, 10. Bryan Hessler, 11. Les Jonsgaard, 12. Randy Jonsgaard, 13. Phil Wernert, 14. Andy Bohnstengel, 15. Bob Timm, 16. Thomas Brink, 17. Les Duellman, 18. Steve Speltz, 19. Jay Ihrke.

Heat #1: 1. Doelle, 2. Stockhausen, 3. Scharkey, 4. Timm, 5. Hofer, 6. Brink, 7. Bohnstengel, 8. Hessler, 9. L. Jonsgaard.

Heat #2: 1. Wasmund, 2. Duellman, 3. Angst, 4. Konkel, 5. Gilbertson, 6. Ihrke, 7. Rollinger, 8. Speltz, 9. Wernert, 10. R. Jonsgaard.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group