Myer nabs first win of 2010 at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
July 23, 2010  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. - Heavy rains on Thursday night provided a challenge to get the Chateau Raceway ready for action this week. The hard work paid off and racing went off without a hitch this week. The only sign of the rain was Lake Chateau in the infield due to the water backup through the tiling system from the bankful Cedar River off the backstretch.

This week's races were sponsored by L&D Ag and Wrads Wrags & Awards.

Jacob Dahle led the USRA RHS Modifieds with Ben Mattick in second. The drivers on the charge were Tommy Myer, who started ninth, and Jason Cummins from the 13th slot.

By lap 3, they were close to the top-5 and a caution on lap 4 closed everyone up. On the restart, Myer got an outstanding start on the top side of the track and stormed top third. Myer then charged past Darwyn Karau for second and chased down Dahle. Cummins cracked the top-5 on lap 6.

When another caution slowed the pace one lap later, Mattick dropped from the race with mechanical issues. When the green returned, Myer was all over Dahle up front. On lap 11, Cummins zoomed around Karau for third and then Karau spun and out came the yellow.

Myer again set sail on the top of the track and passed Dahle for the lead on lap 12. Cummins also went up top and took second away on lap 13. Cummins was able to get up alongside of Myer, but no closer.

Myer went on for his first win at Lansing this season. Cummins finished second with Dahle in third. Joe Horgdahl had his best run to date in fourth, while Karau rebounded back to fifth.

Racing will resume next Friday, July 31, with car rides for the kids at 7 p.m. For more information on Chateau Raceway please visit the track website

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 23, 2010


Heat #1: 1. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 2. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 3. Josh Mattick, Austin; 4. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 5. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 6. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 7. Jason Cummins, New Richland.

Heat #2: 1. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 2. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 3. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 4. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 5. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 6. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 7. Greg Mattick, Hayfield; 8. James Parker, Dodge Center.

Feature: 1. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 2. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 3. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 4. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 5. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 6. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 7. Josh Mattick, Austin; 8. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 9. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 10. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 11. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 12. Greg Mattick, Hayfield; 13. James Parker, Dodge Center; 14. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 15. Ben Mattick, Hayfield.

Points standings (top 10): 1. Jason Cummins, New Richland, Minn., 911; 2. Josh Mattick, Austin, 890; 3. Andrew Wiste, Adams, 830; 4. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea, 822; 5. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin, 815; 6. Jacob Dahle, Morristown, 756; 7. Wallace Bustad, Austin, 726; 8. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale, 724; 9. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, 644; 10. Todd Scharkey, Kasson, 641.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group