Donlinger cashes big at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
July 23, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

With 32 USRA RHS Modifieds on hand Friday at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Tim Donlinger of Rochester, Minn., went flag to flag at the head of the pack for the $3,000 top prize.

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - The 2nd Annual Rivercity Rumble was brought to you by Rivercity Manufacturing & Machine and R & R Machining Company. A huge $3,000-to-win show for the USRA RHS Modifieds and a $750-to-win race for the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods highlighted the evening.

Winona Radio’s Driver of the Week was USRA RHS Modified driver Ron Konkel.

Troy Langowski got a great start on Shaun Walski in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod 20-lap main event. Erik Kanz moved low on Protivin, Iowa’s Ben Moudry, but Moudry settled into third. Ben Anderson clung tight to Kanz as Anderson nearly took fourth place when the one and only caution reset the pack.

With three laps down, Langowski again took off with Walski on a mission. Moudry ran third when Jesse Glenz tore into fourth place ahead of Kanz and Anderson. Langowski, Walski, and Glenz put some distance on the rest of the pack as they appeared to set up on cruise control. Anderson made a big gain as he took over fourth from Moudry. Dalton Yohnk then hunted down Anderson as he cracked the top five ahead of Moudry. Langowski continued his lead over Walski and Glenz.

At lap 15, Walski slipped up high which allowed Glenz to shoot into second place behind Langowski. Glenz was able to position himself right behind Langowski with time running out and no more cautions in their future. In a heart-breaker, Langowski’s smooth ride hit a rut in turn four on the final lap.

Glenz was in the right spot at the right time and was able to pull out of turn four and clip Langowski for the win. Walski, Anderson, and Moudry rounded out the top five.

The final event of the night was the 30-lap USRA RHS Modified feature. Tim Donlinger immediately shot to a big lead over Jeff Schluetter and left Kelly Shryock and Mike Sorensen to run side by side for fourth place behind Al Hejna. Todd Scharkey and Les Duellman also ran in close competition for sixth place. Shryock was able to gain third place over Schluetter while Donlinger and Hejna led the field out front.

A caution reeled the leaders back in, and with five laps down, Donlinger assumed the point followed by Hejna, Shryock, Schluetter, and Sorensen. With multiple lines of three-wide racing, Donlinger still managed to scoot to a big lead. Shryock slipped into second place, but Hejna fought back on the low side.

Sorensen and Scharkey raced for fifth behind Schluetter when Dereck Ramirez joined the fifth-place battle. With nine laps down, caution two once again reeled Donlinger back to the field. On the green, Donlinger led through the corners and left Hejna and Shryock to run back and forth for second. Sorensen and Scharkey continued their side-by-side entertainment for fourth while Ramirez patiently waited it out in sixth place.

Donlinger continued to pull away from Shryock and Hejna. Sorensen, Scharkey, and Ramirez amused the crowd as they battled for fourth place. Sorensen managed to hold fourth place as Ramirez attempted to crack the spot.

Donlinger essentially went uncontested and on to victory ahead of Shryock. Ramirez cleared Hejna for third while Sorensen finished fifth.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 23, 2010


Feature: 1. Jesse Glenz, 2. Troy Langowski, 3. Shaun Walski, 4. Ben Anderson, 5. Ben Moudry, 6. Dalton Yohnk, 7. Matt Jones, 8. Brian Schrage, 9. Erik Kanz, 10. Brian Mahlstedt, 11. Leigh Volkman, 12. Mike Kelly, 13. Jake Timm, 14. Jimmy Broszeit, 15. Tyler Creeley, 16. Chad Kosidowski, 17. Parker Hale, 18. Jack Baehman, 19. Josh Appel, 20. Brandon Hare.

Heat #1: 1. Yohnk, 2. Anderson, 3. Walski, 4. Baehman, 5. Hale, 6. Mahlstedt, 7. Broszeit.

Heat #2: 1. Glenz, 2. Moudry, 3. Kanz, 4. Jones, 5. Volkman, 6. Timm, 7. Kosidowski.

Heat #3: 1. Langowski, 2. Hare, 3. Creeley, 4. Kelly, 5. Appel, 6. Schrage.


"A" Feature: 1. Tim Donlinger, 2. Kelly Shryock, 3. Dereck Ramirez, 4. Al Hejna, 5. Mike Sorensen, 6. Todd Scharkey, 7. Les Duellman, 8. Andy Bohnstengel, 9. Corey Dripps, 10. Jay Ihrke, 11. Bob Timm, 12. Jeff Schluetter, 13. Lance Hofer, 14. Nate Wasmund, 15. Doug Hillson, 16. Joel Alberts, 17. John Doelle, 18. Kevin Viebrock, 19. Curt Myers, 20. Tom Paulson, 21. Adam Stockhausen, 22. Josh Angst, 23. Leroy Scharkey, 24. Lucas Schott.

"B" Feature #1: 1. Dripps, 2. Myers, 3. Timm, 4. Viebrock, 5. Hank Rollinger Jr., 6. Ron Konkel, 7. Brian Albrecht, 8. Les Jonsgaard.

"B" Feature #2: 1. Wasmund, 2. Stockhausen, 3. Doelle, 4. Alberts, 5. Chris Gilbertson, 6. Thomas Brink, 7. Randy Jonsgaard, 8. Phil Wernert.

Heat #1: 1. T. Scharkey, 2. Angst, 3. Donlinger, 4. Hillson, 5. Timm, 6. Viebrock, 7. Dripps, 8. Albrecht.

Heat #2: 1. Shryock, 2. Paulson, 3. Ramirez, 4. Hofer, 5. Wasmund, 6. Stockhausen, 7. Alberts, 8. Gilbertson.

Heat #3: 1. Hejna, 2. Duellman, 3. Ihrke, 4. Bohnstengel, 5. Myers, 6. Konkel, 7. Rollinger, 8. L. Jonsgaard.

Heat #4: 1. Sorensen, 2. Schott, 3. Schluetter, 4. L. Scharkey, 5. Doelle, 6. Brink, 7. Wernert, 8. R. Jonsgaard.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group