Angst, Walski take top honors at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
July 30, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - Winona Radio/KAGE 95.3 teamed up with Budweiser, a team that has been together at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway for many years, in presenting a nail-biter night of racing Friday.

Erik Kanz hit the lead early in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature with Ben Anderson right behind. Quickly it became a four-way race for the lead between Kanz, Anderson, Brandon Hare, and Shaun Walski. Two by two, the four raced hard for the lead. Kanz pulled to the solo lead as Anderson fought off Hare. Walski then jumped in to take third place from Hare, and then a caution flew.

Kanz, Anderson, Walski, Hare, and Brian Schrage restarted at the front of the pack. Kanz and Anderson again found themselves in a side by side run for the lead while Hare and Walski did the same for third. Anderson was able to take the lead as Kanz got shuffled back. Walski soon found himself in second behind Anderson. Hare, Schrage, and Kanz followed in spots three through five.

Troy Langowski was able to crack the fifth spot as the laps wound down. Walski continued to rush through the field and put himself into side by side competition with Anderson with three laps to go.

The white flag lap set Walski and Anderson side by side at the line. But Walski got low on Anderson out of turn four where it counted on the last lap to win his first feature at the track this season. Schrage, Hare, and Langowski rounded out the top five.

Lance Hofer utilized his pole position in the USRA RHS Modified feature to grab a big lead early on. Les Duellman and Kevin Viebrock raced side by side for second place followed by John Doelle and Bob Fort doing the same for fourth. Hofer kept building his lead as Viebrock found he was being hounded by Josh Angst.

Hofer appeared to be too strong for anyone to catch and left Viebrock and Angst to fight it out for second. With five laps down, an unwelcomed caution reeled Hofer back in with Viebrock, Angst, Fort, and Duellman in good position to take the lead. Hoferís lead was short-lived at this point as Angst hummed right on by into the lead. Viebrock and Duellman held third and fourth when Steve Lavasseur popped into the top five. Hofer continued his force on the high side and did not let Angst walk away.

Angst and Hofer drummed up a great battle for the lead. The final caution flew when Fortís machine went up in smoke. Angst was scored the leader ahead of Hofer on the caution and started in the front row solo. Viebrock and Hofer set up in the second row, and on the start, Viebrock got tangled up with other cars and succumbed to damage and pulled to the infield. Duellman was handed third place ahead of Lavasseur when Jay Ihrke broke into fifth place. Duellman and Ihrke closed in on Hoferís second place spot, but Hofer worked hard to protect it.

Angst was able to pull away from the pack for the win. Hofer collected a fabulous second place finish followed by Duellman, Ihrke, and Lavasseur.

USRA RHS Modifieds and USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods, along with WISSOTA Street Stocks, WISSOTA Super Stocks, Hornets, and Mini Mods will be on hand for another great night of racing next Friday, Aug. 6. Mini Mod racing begins at 6 p.m. with all other classes starting at 7 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 30, 2010


Feature: 1. Shaun Walski, 2. Ben Anderson, 3. Brian Schrage, 4. Brandon Hare, 5. Troy Langowski, 6. Erik Kanz, 7. Parker Hale, 8. Chad Kosidowski, 9. Jake Timm, 10. Tyler Creeley, 11. Barry Johnson, 12. Jack Baehman, 13. Tucker Breitung, 14. Brandon Reutzel.

Heat #1: 1. Langowski, 2. Kanz, 3. Schrage, 4. Hale, 5. Timm, 6. Johnson, 7. Reutzel.

Heat #2: 1. Walski, 2. Anderson, 3. Hare, 4. Creeley, 5. Kosidowski, 6. Baehman, 7. Breitung.


Feature: 1. Josh Angst, 2. Lance Hofer, 3. Les Duellman, 4. Jay Ihrke, 5. Steve Lavasseur, 6. John Doelle, 7. Adam Stockhausen, 8. Andy Bohnstengel, 9. Steve Speltz, 20. Leroy Scharkey, 11. Brian Albrecht, 12. Randy Jonsgaard, 13. Phil Wernert, 14. Kevin Viebrock, 15. Bob Fort, 16. Chris Gilbertson.

Heat #1: 1. Duellman, 2. Angst, 3. Gilbertson, 4. Hofer, 5. Viebrock, 6. Bohnstengel, 7. Albrecht, 8. Jonsgaard.

Heat #2: 1. Ihrke, 2. Doelle, 3. Speltz, 4. Fort, 5. Stockhausen, 6. Lavasseur, 7. Scharkey, 8. Wernert.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group