Scharkey bounces back, wins at Lansing
Print this page
August 27, 2010  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. - The USRA RHS Modifieds were the last feature run. Josh Mattick led at the start, but Todd Scharkey was not to be denied this week. Scharkey lost a heartbreaker on the final corner last week, but he shot to the lead to complete lap one.

Scharkey stormed away from the pack and left little doubt who would take won the feature winning check. Scharkey led all 25-laps in a caution free race for his fourth win of the season.

Josh Mattick would finish second as Steve Wetzstein bested Mike Sorensen in a good race long battle for third. Joel Alberts finished out the top five running order. Jason Cummins took home the track championship for the division.

Next week will feature the United States Modified Touring Series in The Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s General Stores National Championship. Also racing will be WISSOTA Street Stocks and Pure Stocks.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, August 27, 2010


Feature: 1. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 2. Josh Mattick, Austin; 3. Steve Wetzstien, West Concord; 4. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 5. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 6. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 7. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 8. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 9. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 10. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 11. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 12. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 13. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 14. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 15. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 16. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 17. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 18. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center.

Heat #1: 1. Josh Mattick, Austin; 2. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 3. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 4. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 5. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 6. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 7. Andrew Wiste, Adams.

Heat #2: 1. Steve Wetzstien, West Concord; 2. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 3. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 4. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 5. Dave Wytaske, Jr., ; 6. Wallace Bustad, Austin.

Heat #3: 1. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 2. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 3. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 4. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 5. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group