Angst picks up checkers as Chateau Raceway concludes season with “Buzz Fest”
Print this page
October 2, 2010  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. - It felt more like hockey weather than stock car racing this Saturday at Chateau Raceway. Nonetheless, 75 race teams and a group of diehard fans took advantage of the final show of the season at the speedway dubbed the “Buzz Fest.”

The USRA RHS Modifieds were staged and ready to go for their final race of the season. Right off the bat, Darwyn Karau got turned and Jacob Dahle along with Doug Hillson had nowhere to go. The resulting crash heavily damaged Dahle’s car and forced Hillson pitside for repairs.

Joe Wernecke led until Josh Angst bolted by in turn 4 on lap 2. Joel Alberts was moving up fast from the ninth slot. Brian Shaw and Brandon Hare got locked together briefly and Alberts pounced on the chance and was now third.

Alberts then closed in on Wernecke and stole second on lap 6. Angst was well out in front, but Alberts kept closing the gap as the laps wore on. Jason Cummins got to third but was well back from the leaders.

Alberts was now right on Angst up front while they worked through lapped traffic. Angest was able to hang on for the win with Alberts second. Cummins was third, Wernecke fourth and Todd Scharkey was fifth.

That concluded the racing portion of the 2010 season. Look for details on the 2010 awards banquet to come soon. Darin and Dawn Toot and the staff of the Chateau Raceway would like to thank all of the drivers, crews, sponsors and fans for a fun season. For more information on the awards banquet and the upcoming 2011 season visit the track’s website at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Saturday, October 2, 2010


Feature: 1. Josh Angst, Winona; 2. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 3. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 4. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 5. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 6. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 7. Brian Shaw, Brownsdale; 8. Brandon Hare, Elma, Iowa; 9. Leroy Scharkey, Rochester; 10. Thomas Brink, Winona; 11. Dwaine Hanson, Lakefield; 12. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 13. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 14. Wally Bustad, Austin; 15. Jacob Dahle, Morristown.

Heat #1: 1. Angst; 2. Dahle; 3. Noble; 4. Wernecke; 5. Hare; 6. L. Scharkey; 7. Hanson; 8. Bustad.

Heat #2: 1. Alberts; 2. Shaw; 3. Cummins; 4. Karau; 5. Hillson; 6. T. Scharkey; 7. Brink.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group