Angst, Kanz triumphant in Fall Festival opener
Print this page
October 8, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

Josh Angst wheeled his way to the checkered flag in the USRA RHS Modifieds. FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - A lot of cars, a lot of fans and a late night was the definition of the opening night of the Fall Festival season finale at Mississippi Thunder Speedway. Near perfect conditions brought out many to take in their last chance at dirt track racing until next Spring.

Hank Rollinger Jr. was awarded the Winona Radio Driver of the Week for his performance at the USRA Modified Nationals held back in September. Erik Kanz led flag to flag in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature while Josh Angst wheeled his way to the checkered flag in the USRA RHS Modifieds.

Early Saturday morning the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods hit the track for their feature with Erik Kanz and Brandon Reutzel setting the pace. Kanz hit the solo lead as Jake Timm moved into second ahead of Reutzel. Jeremy Smith and Kylie Kath ran third and fourth ahead of Troy Hovey. Kanz appeared to be strong out front, but Timm moved in to look at the lead. With seven laps down, a caution flew which resulted in Kath heading to the tail of the field. Jimmy Broszeit had maneuvered his way into fourth place, but he got too high out of turn three and zipped around and stopped with his rear to the wall which pulled another caution. Kanz again led the pack followed by Timm, Smith, Hovey, and Troy Langowski who quietly slipped into fifth. Soon after, Smith, Hovey, Langowski, and Ben Anderson raced for third place. Smith and Hovey charged side by side for third when Langowski slowed and dropped to the infield. Kanz held his ground and headed to victory lane followed by Smith. Timm nipped Anderson at the line for third and Hovey finished fifth.

The USRA RHS Modified main event first lap ended early in a multi-car pile-up in the first corner. On the restart, Bob Timm took the lead over Bob Fort, but Josh Angst quickly moved under Fort for second place. Robby Bunkelman slipped into fourth place as Ben Mattick followed in fifth. Mattick tried to dart low for fourth place when a caution realigned the field. Timm assumed the point with Angst and Fort in tow. Angst was able to pull up beside Timm as the two ran side by side for the lead. Fort, Mattick, Bunkelman, and Jared Siefert raced for fifth. Another caution slowed the bunch when Fort slowed in turn four. With nine laps down, Angst put a good distance on the field as Timm ran second. Mattick made a jump to third over Siefert. Siefert and Mattick continued to run side by side for third while Bunkelman and Don Eischens vied for fifth place. Angst extended his lead over Timm, Mattick, and Bunkelman when Jason Cummins entered the top five. With 18 laps down, the final caution reset the field with Angst still out front. Mattick tore under Timm for second place with Cummins on the tail of Timm. Bunkelman added himself to the mix to make a four-car roundup for second place. Angst grabbed the win several car lengths over Mattick and Cummins. Timm clipped Bunkelman at the line for fourth.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, October 8, 2010


Feature Erik Kanz, Jeremy Smith, Jake Timm, Ben Anderson, Troy Hovey, Greg Mitchell, Parker Hale, Brandon Reutzel, Brian Schrage, Kylie Kath, Tyler Creeley, Brian Mahlstedt, Jack Baehman, Jacob Bleess, Terry Timmerman, Austin Schrage, Terry Kohnert, Mike Kelly, Troy Langowski, Jimmy Broszeit, Kyle Anderson.

Heat 1 Kath, B. Anderson, Reutzel, Creeley, Kelly, Timmerman, Mahlstedt.

Heat 2 Hovey, Hale, Smith, Bleess, B. Schrage, Baehman, Kohnert.

Heat 3 Kanz, Langowski, Broszeit, Timm, Mitchell, K. Anderson, A. Schrage.


Feature Josh Angst, Ben Mattick, Jason Cummins, Bob Timm, Robby Bunkelman, Jared Siefert, Don Eischens, Leroy Scharkey, Mike Anderson, Ron Schreiner, Andy Bohnstengel, Doug Hillson, Brandon Hare, Kevin Viebrock, Keith Tourville, Lucas Schott, Steve Speltz, Les Duellman, Bob Fort, Brian Shaw, Adam Stockhausen, Hank Rollinger Jr., Steve Lavasseur, Todd Scharkey.

B-Main Schott, Schreiner, Stockhausen, Tourville, Brandon Aggen, Chris Gilbertson, Jason Swan, Phil Wernert, Kevin Rogers, Brian Albrecht, Jeremy Jonsgaard, Randy Jonsgaard, Thomas Brink, Josh Mattick.

Heat 1 Timm, Hillson, Bunkelman, Siefert, Rollinger, Aggen, Brink, R. Jonsgaard, Stockhausen.

Heat 2 L. Scharkey, Hare, Bohnstengel, Shaw, Viebrock, Schott, Gilbertson, Tourville, J. Jonsgaard.

Heat 3 Fort, Speltz, Angst, Lavasseur, Duellman, Swan, Albrecht, Mattick.

Heat 4 Eischens, Mattick, T. Scharkey, Cummins, Anderson, Schreiner, Wernert, Rogers.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group