Stoa cruises to first modified triumph at Cresco; Trower, Adams, Losen also win
Print this page
August 15, 1999

CRESCO, IA (August 15, 1999) - Sue's Speed Shop of Cresco sponsored the nights racing action under threatening sky, Sunday, at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

The modifieds were up first to try the Cresco oval. Kevin Stoa of Kasson, Minn., made his move early in the race and cruised to his first feature win at the Cresco Speedway. On the last lap, Jason Weis avoided injury as his car hit the front stretch wall hard and rolled. Finishing 2-5 were Larry Schmidt, Kurt George, Dan Bohr and Dennis Fink.

Heat wins went to Schmidt, Stoa and Fink.

Tony Trower of New Hampton jumped out to a big, early lead and let everyone behind him wrestle for position as he easily won his first ever stock car feature at Cresco. Kevin Bidne, Lorin Kurth, Ron Konkel and Scott Bauer finished 2-5.

Stock car heat wins went to Dan McMillan, Bauer and Tom Schmitt. The B-main winner was Troy Scholbrock.

Last years modified points champion, Chris Adams of Stacyville, made it look easy as he worked his way to the front of the field and won his first IMCA late model feature at the Speedway, winning by a full straightaway. Darren Ackerman, Greg Kastli, Dale Hackwell Jr. and Cam Grainger rounded out the top five.

Ben Schaefer and Curt Martin picked up wins in the IMCA late model heats.

It was a close and exciting hobby stock feature race and cars worked back and forth trying to get position. In the end it was Brian Losen of Ridgeway that came out on top as the first car to cross the line was disqualified with an illegal engine. Roger Deery finished second followed by Jeff Larson, Mel Tieskotter and Dave Mayer.

Heat winners in the hobby stocks were Deery, Tony Severson and Losen.

Join us next week as Hanson Tire of Cresco sponsors the night's racing action. See you there!



HEAT WINNERS: Larry Schmidt, Kevin Stoa and Dennis Fink.

A FEATURE: 1. Kevin Stoa, 2. Larry Schmidt, 3. Kurt George, 4. Dan Bohr, 5. Dennis Fink, 6. Tim Heins, 7. Chuck Stanton, 8. Brad Rain, 9. Kyle Chiglo, 10. Todd Stinehart, 11. Curt Carey, 12. Kevin Hoene, 13. John Grube, 14. Mark Swancatt, 15. Jason Weis, 16. Jewel Losee, 17. Ken Hofner, 18. Jordan Steier, 19. Troy Hale.


HEAT WINNERS: Dan McMillan, Scott Bauer and Tom Schmitt.

B FEATURE WINNER: Troy Scholbrock.

A FEATURE: 1. Tony Trower, 2. Kevin Bidne, 3. Lorin Kurth, 4. Ron Konkel, 5. Scott Bauer, 6. Darrel Devries, 7. Tom Schmitt, 8. Troy Hansmeier, 9. Lavern Carey, 10. Dan McMillan, 11. Steve Holthaus, 12. Brad Blake, 13. Mike Bergan, 14. Jake Ludeking, 15. Rodney Zubrod, 16. Troy Scholbrock, 17. Tom Hovey, 18. Brian Tank, 19. Greg Snitker, 20. Gerald Peter.


HEAT WINNERS: Ben Schaefer and Curt Martin.

A FEATURE: 1. Chris Adams, 2. Darren Ackerman, 3. Greg Kastli, 4. Dale Hackwell Jr., 5. Cam Grainger, 6. Wade Russell, 7. Curt Martin, 8. Kevin Kirkpatrick, 9. Ben Fisher, 10. Ben Schaefer, 11. Brian Hunter, 12. Dave Kirchner, 13. Les Verly, 14. Greg Bruening.


HEAT WINNERS: Roger Deery, Tony Severson and Brian Losen.

A FEATURE: 1. Brian Losen, 2. Roger Deery, 3. Jeff Larson, 4. Mel Tieskotter, 5. Dave Mayer, 6. Jason Schlangen, 7. John Andrus, 8. Tim Gebel, 9. Lee Hansmeier, 10. Rick Stockman, 11. Jeff Vsetecka, 12. Kenny Dotzler, 13. Cory Huinker, 14. Corry Usher, 15. Jay Schwamman, 16. Pat Kelly, 17. Bill Martin, 18. Tony Severson, 19. Nathan Ferrie.

Latest News from the USRA

June 20, 2018
I-35 Speedway Racin' for Rian this Saturday
This Saturday June 23, at the I-35 Speedway is an opportunity for the racing community to give back with the 7th Annual Racin' for Rian. We love our fun and our racinread more
June 20, 2018
Baker Trucking pads purse, picks up tab for Hamilton County Speedway racers this Saturday
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive returns to action this Saturday, June 23, with some free pit passes, additional take-home pay and other bonusesread more
June 18, 2018
Boone River Bayou postponed to June 26-27
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive have postponed this week’s Boone River Bayou Dirt Track Championships to next Tuesday and Weread more
June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group