Armed Services Night, $1,000 to win USRA RHS Modifieds this Saturday at Springfield
Print this page
April 28, 2011  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The 2011 season opener at the Springfield Raceway has been pushed back two weeks due to the wet spring weather, but this Saturday night we will be honoring past and present members of our nation's military.

Springfield Raceway owners Doug Bland and Jerry Hoffman thought kicking the season off with a special “Thank You” to those that have served or are currently serving our country was the perfect fit for the 2011 season.

“Racing is as American as it gets, and being able to honor those that have served our country is how we wanted to start the season,” stated Hoffman.

Any person that has served or is currently serving in any branch of the military will get a free grandstand ticket for Saturday night's races at the Springfield Raceway. Fans will be treated to a $1,000-to-win USRA RHS Modified feature, along with five other divisions of racing action.

The Transport Graphics Chase for the Championship awards points to each division in the USRA RHS Modifieds, Reliable Chevrolet B-Mods, Pepsi Factory Stocks, Casey's General Stores Midwest Modz, Missouri Legends Cars and Wheeler Metals Pure Stocks.

Another highlight of Saturday night's festivities will the first ever Foot Race: a one-lap race around the Springfield Raceway with $200 and a year of bragging rights going to the winner. Contestants must be at least 18 years old to enter.

The USRA RHS Modifieds are the main event division at the Springfield Raceway and will find the competition level getting even higher than before as 2010 track champion Mitch Keeter of Webb City will lead a talented field of drivers going for the points title which goes until Sept 3. Last season Keeter put a halt to Carthage's Jackie Dalton and his championship winning stretch by 20 points after falling just a few short the previous season.

The high level of competition has attracted interest in many of the four-state area top USRA RHS Modified drivers including Springfield Raceway regular Erik Maggard, Webb City hot shoe Scott Drake and Joplin’s Terry Beckham.

For the month of April, the Springfield Raceway will be starting at 6 p.m. and move to a 7 p.m. starting time in May. Pit Gates will open at 3 p.m. in April while the grandstand gate opens at 4 p.m. The drivers meeting will be held at 5 p.m. and hot laps begin at 5:15. Draw will cut-off will be at 5:30 in April.

Grandstand admission is only $10 for adults while kids ages 6-12 are $5 with children 5 and under admitted free of charge.

For more information visit the website at or contact Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group