Hanford likes Cresco, Boyer also wins on NKF Tour
Print this page
June 22, 2000

by Jeff Broeg

CRESCO, IA (June 22, 2000) — During its three year run, Bruce Hanford of Davenport has been a regular competitor on the National Kidney Foundation Heartland Tour for a Cure in the Modified division winning the title in 1999. In the three years Hanford had finished in the top five at sixteen events, but only had one victory at a track that he seldom competes at. On Thursday night he repeated that win at the Cresco Speedway during the Mighty Howard County Fair. Junior Boyer of St. Lucas also earned a NKF Tour win on the night in the Hobby Stock division.

Vern Jackson paced the Modified field for the first eight laps before Hanford slipped by in turn four. 1998 Tour champion Corey Dripps followed him into second and with current Tour point leader Ron Barker moving into third, it was setting up to be quite a battle amongst the top names in the Tour’s young history. With two laps to go Dripps was able to put his nose under Hanford in turn one, but just as he jumped on the accelerator to make his move the right rear wheel broke off of the car ending his evening. On the restart Barker tried to mount a challenge, but he found himself under attack from Dan Bohr as Hanford moved away for the win. Barker held back Bohr by a car-length for second with Jackson and Troy Langowski completing the top five.

Boyer and Jeff Larson started on the front row of the Hobby Stock main event and the two ran side-by-side for the first two circuits. Boyer established himself as the leader on lap three with Adam Speicher closing in to challenge for the top spot. Speicher kept the pressure on the leader, even pulling alongside Boyer with two laps to go, as Steve Holthaus closed on the lead pair in third. On the final lap Boyer nosed ahead for the win while Holthaus nipped Speicher at the line by inches for the runner-up honors. Lynn Panos and Larson completed the top five.

The NKF Tour Modifieds have a doubleheader next week starting on Wednesday night, June 28th, at 34 Raceway in Burlington. Then on Thursday, June 29th, the Tour returns to the Benton County Speedway in Vinton. The next action for the NKF Hobby Stocks will be on Monday, July 3rd, at the CJ Raceway in Columbus Junction.


NKF Modifieds

1st Heat – 1. Dan Bohr, Decorah 2. Todd Suhr, New Hampton 3. Bruce Hanford, Davenport 4. Ron Barker, Dubuque.

2nd Heat – 1. Larry Schmidt, New Hampton 2. Troy Hale, Grand Meadow MN 3. Dean Riess, Rochester MN 4. Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls.

3rd Heat – 1. Vern Jackson, Waterloo 2. Troy Langowski, Winona MN 3. Corey Dripps, Cedar Falls 4. Todd Stinehart, Waseca MN.

A-Main – 1. Hanford 2. Barker 3. Bohr 4. Jackson 5. Langowski 6. Hale 7. Mitchell 8. Suhr 9. Stinehart 10. Brad Rain, Preston MN 11. Tim Heins, Elkader 12. Brian Bronner, Lime Springs 13. Todd Schaufenbuel, New Hampton 14. Larry Grube, Cresco 15. Ken Hofner, St. Ansgar 16. John Grube, Cresco 17. Dick Brummond, New Hampton 18. Dripps 19. Riess 20. Schmidt 21. Brian Schrage, Cresco 22. Kaleb Himli, Fountain MN.

NKF Hobby Stocks

1st Heat – 1. Adam Speicher, Fredericksburg 2. Rod Miller, Eldon 3. Jay Schwamann, Ft. Atkinson 4. Lynn Panos, Protivin.

2nd Heat – 1. Junior Boyer, St. Lucas 2. Jason Rohde, Fayette 3. Jeremy Moellers, Elma 4. Bruce Benzing, Harpers.

3rd Heat – 1. Darrin Walch, Postville 2. Steve Holthaus, Cresco 3. Rick Stockman, Preston MN 4. Andy Burke, Waukon.

4th Heat – 1. Blaire Benzing, Waterville 2. Jeff Larson, New Hampton 3. Jeff Vsetecka, Charles City 4. Tory Reicks, Waucoma.

A-Main – 1. Boyer 2. Holthaus 3. Speicher 4. Panos 5. Larson 6. Rohde 7. Bl. Benzing 8. Vsetecka 9. Schwamann 10. Stockman 11. Moellers 12. Miller 13. Reicks 14. Burke 15. Dean Vrba, Ft. Atkinson 16. Mike Hiller, Dunkerton 17. Br. Benzing 18. Les Mahlstedt, Waukon 19. Greg Mitchell, Decorah 20. Walch 21. Todd Halverson, Decorah 22. Dave Mayer, Riceville 23. Mark Rue, West Union.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group