Cummins wins again in Lansing
Print this page
August 12, 2011  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- Mother Nature gleamed sunshine down on the Chateau Raceway Friday night.

Joe Horgdal vaulted to the lead from row one in the USRA RHS Modified feature. Doug Hillson and Dustin Steinbrink raced for second, but Jason Cummins was on the fly.

Cummins snapped past Hillson, got by Steinbrink for second on lap 2 and then reeled in Horgdal and went to the low groove on lap 6. Cummins pulled even with Horgdal and then made the pass in turn 2 on the seventh circuit.

The defending track and USRA national champion streaked away from the pack while Joe Wernecke worked his way by Hillson for third on lap 9.

Steve Wetzstein got into Dustin Steinbrink on the frontstretch and then they spun in turn one and collected A.J. Wiste. Wetzstein was placed to the rear of the field for the yellow. During the caution period, Wetzstein protested the call and almost made contact with the official in turn 1. He was immediately disqualified and pointed to the pits. It was not over at that point as he then drove over Steinbrink’s car in turn 2 before exiting the speedway for the night.

When the race continued it was the Jason Cummins Show as he won his third in a row by a half-lap. Horgdal had a great run in second with Brandon Davis, Wernecke and Hillson in the top 5.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, August 12, 2011


Feature: 1. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 2. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 3. Brandon Davis, Medford; 4. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 5. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 6. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 7. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 8. A.J. Wiste, Adams; 9. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 10. Jeremy Misgen, New Richland; 11. Wally Bustad, Austin; DQ - Steve Wetzstein, West Concord.

Heat #1: 1. Wetzstein; 2. Wiste; 3. Alberts; 4. Wernecke; 5. Misgen; 6. Bustad.

Heat #2: 1. Cummins; 2. Davis; 3. Steinbrink; 4. Horgdal; 5. Hillson; 6. Noble.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group