Hackwell, Jones get first wins at Cresco; Bohr, Bidne get fourth straight
Print this page
June 20, 1999

CRESCO, IA (June 20, 1999) - It was a beautiful night fir racing as Sue's Speed Shop sponsored the weekly racing action at the Cresco Speedway.

The Modifieds were the first to take to the track with heat wins going to Vern Jackson of Waterloo, Ken Hofner of St. Anagar and Curt Carey of Ionia. Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie, Mn., won the B main.

Troy Scholbrock of Cresco, Steve Holtaus of Cresco and Tom Schmitt of Independence took heat wins in the Stock Car heats with the B main victory going to Don Rude of Decorah.

In the Hobby Stock class, heat wins went to Mel Tieskotter of Decorah, Tory Reicks of Lowler and Jeff Vsetecka of Charles City. The B main win went to Mike Jones of Waterville.

IMCA Late Model heat wins went to Greg Bruening of Decorah and Curt Martin of Independence.

Ken Hofner looked to be running away with the Modified feature race when the yellow flag flew, bunching up the cars for a two-lap shoot out. Dan Bohr of Decorah took to the high side of the raceway to take his fourth straight feature win. Chuck Stanton finished second followed by Hofner, Troy Hale and Kyle Chiglo.

The Stock Car feature kept the crowd on the edge of their seats with side-by-side racing. Kevin Bidne of Decorah held off Troy Hansmeier, Troy Scholbrock, Dan McMillan and Adam Martinson to pick up his fourth feature win in a row.

Mike Jones used lapped traffic to his advantage, taking the lead with just two laps remaining in the Hobby Stock feature race and hanging on for his first ever feature win. Jones did this after starring in the back of the race after also winning the B main. Jeff Vsetecka, Lee Hansmeier, Rick Stockman and Jason Schlangen rounded out the top five.

Dale Hackwell, Jr. jumped out to a early lead in the IMCA Late Model feature and held on to pick up his first feature win of the year. Jim Gallery, Greg Bruening, Chris Adams and Curt Martin finished 2-5.

Be sure to join us Wednesday, June 23, for the mighty Howard County Fair and the NKF Heartland Tour for a Cure special for modifieds and hobby stocks, and then again Sunday night as Budweiser and Kabrick Distributing sponsors the races at the fair. This will also be the Mid-Season Championship for the IMCA Late Models. See you there!



Heat winners: Vern Jackson, Ken Hofner and Curt Carey

B Feature: 1. Doug Hillson, 2. Dennis Hillson, 3. Mike Isder, 4. Rod Hinz, 5. John Grube, 6. Brad Rain, 7. Jewell Losee

A Feature: 1. Dan Bohr, 2. Chuck Stanton, 3. Ken Hofner, 4. Troy Hale, 5. Kyle Chiglo, 6. Brian Bronner, 7. Curt Carey, 8. Doug Hillson, 9. Larry Grube, 10. Dennis Hillson, 11. Kevin Hoehne, 12. Tim Heins, 13. Dennis Fink, 14. John Grube, 15. Jason Weis, 16. Mike Isder, 17. Rod Hinz, 18. Brian Schrage, 19. Vern Jackson, 20. Larry Schmidt


Heat winners: Troy Scholbrock, Steve Holthaus and Tom Schmitt

B Feature: 1. Don Rude, 2. Mike Sweeney, 3. Darrel Devries, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Todd Watts, 6. Jim Peter, 7. Gerald Peter, 8. Matt Albert, 9. Dennis Solberg, 10. EM Fretheim

A Feature: 1. Kevin Bidne, 2. Troy Hansmeier, 3. Troy Scholbrock, 4. Dan McMillan, 5. Adam Martinson, 6. Lavern Carey, 7. Steve Holthaus, 8. Mike Sweeney, 9. Brian Tank, 10. Ron Konkel, 11. Don Rude, 12. Tony Trower, 13. Darrel Devries, 14. Mike Bergan, 15. Jake Ludeking, 16. Brad Blake, 17. Brad Quirk, 18. Todd Watts, 19. Rodney Zubrod, 20. Tom Schmitt


Heat winners: Mel Tieskotter, Tory Reicks and Jeff Vstetecka

B Feature: 1. Mike Jones, 2. Tony Severson, 3. John Andrus, 4. Daniel Smith, 5. Bruce Gerleman, 6. Pat Kelly

A Feature: 1. Mike Jones, 2. Jeff Vsetecka, 3. Lee Hansmeier, 4. Rick Stockman, 5. Jason Schlangen, 6. Blaire Benzing, 7. Jay Schwamman, 8. Jeff Larson, 9. Dave Mayer, 10. Kenny Dotzler, 11. Rick Byrnes, 12. Brian Losen, 13. Tony Severson, 14. Bruce Gerleman, 15. Daniel Smith, 16. Corry Usher, 17. Nathan Ferrie, 18. John Andrus, 19. Tory Reicks, 20. Mel Tieskotter


Heat winners: Greg Bruening and Curt Martin

A Feature: 1. Dale Hackwell Jr., 2. Jim Gallery, 3. Greg Bruening, 4. Chris Adams, 5. Curt Martin, 6. Greg Kastli, 7. Dave Thorsten, 8. Kevin Kirkpatrick, 9. Brian Hunter

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group