Martin cruises to Cresco mid-season championship
Print this page
June 27, 1999

CRESCO, IA (June 27, 1999) - The Mighty Howard County Fair, along with Budweiser and Kabrick Distributing, welcomed drivers and fans to the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Ia., Sunday night.

Three-wide racing was the name of the game in the stock car feature race. Tom Schmitt of Independence lead the charge, picking up the win, followed by Ron Konkel, Don Rude, Marinus Mlady and Kevin Bidne.

Rick Stockman took over the lead at the halfway point in the hobby stock feature race and held off hard-charging Jason Rhode to pick up his first feature win of the year. Jeff Vsetecka, Jason Schlangen and Mel Tieskotter finished third through fifth.

It was Mid-Season Championship night for the IMCA late models. Curt Martin of Independence took advantage of being the point leader and front row starting spot to take home the checkered flag. Kevin Kirkpatrick, Chris Adams, Darin Burco and Greg Kastli finished out the top five.

In a exciting modified feature race, it looked as though Dan Bohr had picked up his fifth straight feature win, passing Larry Grube on the last lap following a yellow flag. After further review, Grube was awarded the win after it was ruled it should have been a yellow-checkered, with Bohr taking second. We regret any confusion that this may have caused. This was Grube's first feature win in the modified class. Doug Hillson, Kyle Chiglo and Chuck Stanton rounded out the top five.

Join us next week as KCZQ Radio of Cresco sponsors the Mid-Season Championships for modifleds, stock cars and hobby stocks. The late models will also be running. See you there!



HEAT WINNERS: Scott Bauer, Rodney Zubrod and Steve Holthaus.


A FEATURE: 1. Tom Schmitt, 2. Ron Konkel, 3. Don Rude, 4. Marinus Mlady, 5. Kevin Bidne, 6. Brad Blake, 7. Lavern Carey, 8. Adam Martinson, 9. Scott Bauer, 10. Troy Hansmeier, 11. Steve Holthaus, 12. Jake Ludeking, 13. Dan McMillan, 14. Troy Scholbrock, 15. Gerald Peter, 16. Mike Sweeney, 17. Rodney Zubrod, 18. Lorin Kurth, 19. Mike Bergan, 20. Brian Tank.


HEAT WINNERS: Rick Stockman, Jason Rohde and Brian Losen.

B FEATURE WINNER: Lee Hansmeier.

A FEATURE: 1. Rick Stockman, 2. Jason Rohde, 3. Jeff Vsetecka, 4. Jason Schlangen, 5. Mel Tieskotter, 6. Dave Mayer, 7. Jeff Larson, 8. Mike Jones, 9. Jay Schwamman, 10. Tory Reicks, 11. Brian Losen, 12. John Andrus, 13. Corry Usher, 14. Pat Kelly, 15. Mike Wiltse, 16. Troy Sobolik, 17. Dennis Boyer, 18. Lee Hansmeier, 19. Nathan Ferrie.


HEAT WINNERS: Kevin Kirkpatrick and Darin Burco.

A FEATURE: 1. Curt Martin, 2. Kevin Kirkpatrick, 3. Chris Adams, 4. Darin Burco, 5. Greg Kastli, 6. Greg Bruening, 7. Dave Kirchner, 8. Greg Hunter, 9. Bob Fisher, 10. Jim Gallery, 11. Dale Hackwell Jr.


HEAT WINNERS: Larry Grube, Brian Bronner and Jason Weis.

A FEATURE: 1. Larry Grube, 2. Dan Bohr, 3. Doug Hillson, 4. Kyle Chiglo, 5. Chuck Stanton, 6. Larry Schmidt, 7. Brian Bronner, 8. Troy Hale, 9. Ken Hofner, 10. Kevin Stoa, 11. Tim Heins, 12. John Grube, 13. Dennis Fink, 14. Rod Hinz, 15. Mark Swancatt, 16. Jason Weis, 17. Kevin Hoehne, 18. Wallace Bustad, 19. Curt Darey, 20. Jewell Losee.

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group