Folkerts, Benzing top Toyota NKF Tour mains in Britt
Print this page
May 31, 1999

By Jeff Broeg

BRITT, IOWA (May 31, 1999) - Tim Folkerts of Albia made a long trip north payoff with a Modified feature win as the Toyota National Kidney Foundation Heartland Tour for a Cure visited the Hancock County Speedway Monday night. In the Hobby Stocks, it was another NKF Tour visitor in victory lane as Blaire Benzing of Waterville came out on top.

Local favorites, the Hejna brothers, Mike and Al, started from the front row in the Modified main event and with the preferred groove right around the bottom of the racetrack, it looked as if they would be tough to beat. Folkerts, the current NKF Tour Modified point leader started tenth, and steadily worked his way to the front patiently slipping to the inside of the leaders at the mid-race mark. Once out front, there was no staying with Folkerts as he cruised to his second feature win in three events on the 1999 Tour. Mike Hejna held off a late charge from Rich Lewerke to finish second with Al Hejna and Brad Gorham rounding out the top five.

Rod Miller paced the first lap of the Hobby Stock headliner before giving way to Dan Hanselman on lap two. Before Hanselman was able to settle in to the fast lane, Benzing made his move to the point on lap three and then held off repeated challenges from Hanselman to take the win. Hanselman was the runner-up followed by Paul Underwood, Miller and Shane Monson.

The Toyota National Kidney Foundation Heartland Tour for a Cure returns to action on Tuesday, June 8th, at the Nordic Speedway in Decorah.


Toyota NKF Modifieds

1st Heat

1. Corey Dripps, Cedar Falls 2. Jeremy Mills, Marathon 3. Kevin Hoeft, Garner 4. Duane Peterson, Beaman

2nd Heat

1. Rick Schuller, Britt 2. Loren Pesicka Jr., Burt 3. Brad Gorham, Luverne 4. Todd Schaufenbuel, New Hampton

3rd Heat

1. Tim Folkerts, Albia 2. Mike Hejna, Clear Lake 3. Rich Lewerke, Garner 4. Al Hejna, Clear Lake


1. Timm Jensen, Dunkerton 2. Jon Wood, Woden 3. Bruce Hanford, Davenport 4. Dick Manske, Algona 5. Larry Portis, Nora Springs 6. Derek Cink, Britt 7. Scott Davis, Madrid 8. Mike Hackenmiller, Mason City


1. Folkerts 2. M. Hejna 3. Lewerke 4. A. Hejna 5. Gorham 6. Hanford 7. Mills 8. Schaufenbuel 9. Jensen 10. Peterson 11. David Brown, Kellogg 12. Matt Donald, Pleasant Hill 13. Portis 14. Schuller 15. Ryan Hiscocks, Britt 16. Max Dunlap, Zearing 17. Keith Schmitz, Swaledale 18. Wood 19. Dripps 20. Hoeft 21. Pesicka 22. Manske 23. Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls 24. Todd Ihde, Decorah

Toyota NKF Hobby Stocks

1st Heat

1. Dan Hanselman, Algona 2. Paul Underwood, Ottumwa 3. Shane Monson, Clear Lake 4. Rod Miller, Eldon

2nd Heat

1. Blaire Benzing, Waterville 2. Jason Daniels, Britt 3. Scott Anderson, Mason City 4. John Simpson, Britt

3rd Heat

1. Ben Hoesing, Perry 2. Jeff Danielson, Duncombe 3. Kevin Long, Cylinder 4. Harold Walker, Alexander


1. Benzing 2. Hanselman 3. Underwood 4. Miller 5. Monson 6. Jim Mitchell, Webster City 7. James Ringham, Mason City 8. Tony Smidt, Britt 9. Hoesing 10. Gary Pesicka, Algona 11. Danielson 12. Anderson 13. Joe Latham, Mason City 14. Brad Ramaeker, Humboldt 15. Walker 16. Jim Mewes, Clarion 17. Simpson 18. Long 19. Daniels 20. Jeff Larson, New Hampton

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group