Stoa wins second "Challenge" in two weeks
Print this page
May 12, 2000

by Christina Danielsen

BRITT, IA (May 12, 2000) — It was a cold, windy night for the "Brother Bob" Youngwirth Memorial race at the Hancock County Speedway on Friday, May 12. The cold did not stop the drivers though, as they took the track by storm. The wind, however, did play an important roll on the track and racing conditions throughout the night, causing the track surface to be dryer than normal, but most drivers adjusted to the track conditions and the racing action heated up the night. The Youngwirth Family awarded a cash bonus to the feature winner in each division.

Lance Gardner of Garner took home another trophy for his win in the Limited Modified feature, making it three in a row. He found his groove coming from the fourth row start to chase Josh Omans also of Garner, who controlled the lead for the majority of the race. Josh had a fantastic night winning his heat, dash, and coming in second in the feature, just short of the clean sweep bonus.

It was a photo finish in the hobby stock feature with Earl Webner of Garner, Dan Hanselman of Algona, and Shane Monson of Clear Lake all coming off corner four to the checkered full throttle. Hanselman had dogged Webner for the entire race staying second to him for eleven laps. Dan got the advantage for the lead with three laps to go, but by the white flag Webner was back in first, with Dan in second spot. Webner got to the checkered first, but Monson edged Hanselman to take second and Hanselman settled for third.

Craig Berhow of Belmond started on the front row and held the lead for eighteen laps in the stock car feature. Todd Foster of Webster City came from mid pack, and took over second spot on the fifth lap. These two played cat and mouse for the lead for the rest of the race. The straight aways were a drag race while passing was accomplished in the fast corners. Berhow was able to fiend Foster off until coming into the white flag lap, when Foster got the advantage and then it was Foster's turn to defend his lead and try to keep the advantage from Berhow. Foster hung on for the win, taking the victory in his first visit to the Britt track in the new millennium.

The final race of the evening was a cold, but impressive contest for the diehard fans who had the fortitude to battle the cold and wind and stay until the final lap. Those that stayed saw Kevin Stoa of Kasson, MN win his second modified challenge within a two week time frame. The win proved that the "challenge" is not all about motors and power, but experience, patience, set-up and driver skill. Stoa started dead last in a twenty five car modified field that had a multitude of yellows and a number of leaders during the twenty five lap event.

Ron Pope had the lead for several laps in the early part of the event and spun out on his own between corner three and four. He went to the back of the field and made his own personal challenge and moved pack through the field to finish in seventh spot. Larry Portis of Nora Springs led for eight laps before Jason Slegh of Lansing, MN got by him for the number one spot. Meanwhile Stoa was advancing through the field. He chose the high side and blew by the majority of the field to be in sixth spot by the end of the fifth lap. Quiet and patient, lap by lap, Stoa stalked the field, staying high and blowing by.

Portis, Slegh and Stoa battled for the top three spots for nine laps mid way through the race. Portis gave up the lead to Slegh on the thirteenth lap and Stoa took over second spot on the next lap. Slegh defended his lead and held off Stoa for another four laps and then it was Stoa to the front with Al Hejna charging into second, but Slegh battled back for a second place finish behind Stoa, with the Hejna brothers, Al & Mike, finishing third and fourth. Stoa took the sweep bonus, the "challenge" bonus, and the Youngwirth bonus, that made him a hefty paycheck for his efforts for the evening of $1,150.

Friday May 19 is Winnebago Industries, Inc. of Forest City Night. Hot Laps 7:00 Races 7:30. Complete results, photos, point standings, and 2000 schedule available at



HEAT 1 - Ron Pope, Scott Badker, Jimmy Davis, Mike Hejna, Mike Hackenmiller, Kevin Hoeft, Scott Maulsby, Nathan Chodur, Ron Haudek

HEAT 2 - Al Hejna, Bill Cook, Carl Allbee, Ryan Hiscocks, Mike Christians, Ross Wyatt, Steve Pederson, Jon Wood.

HEAT 3 - Kevin Stoa, Larry Portis, Jason Slegh, Todd Stinehart, Scott Anderson, Rick Schuller, George Gilliland, Brad Bakken.

DASH - Kevin Stoa, Ron Pope, Al Hejna, Larry Portis, Scott Badker, Bill Cook.

A FEATURE - Kevin Stoa, Jason Slegh, Al Hejna, Mike Hejna, Jimmy Davis, Brad Bakken, Ron Pope, Jon Wood, Scott Badker, Rick Schuller, Ryan Hiscocks, Larry Portis, George Gilliland, Bill Cook, Nathan Chodur, Mike Christians, Ross Wyatt, Steve Pederson, Scott Anderson, Carl Allbee, Mike Hackenmiller, Todd Stinehart, Kevin Hoeft, Scott Maulsby.


HEAT 1 - Craig Gray, Todd Foster, Ed Wolf, Jeff Dolphin, Todd Wendel, Travis Hoeft, Russell Trulson, Curt Moore.

HEAT 2 - Craig Berhow, Scott Bloemke, Scott Bauer, Lavern Carey, Brent Powers, Kevin Opheim, Kim Schleuger, Darin Toot.

DASH - Craig Gray, Scott Bloemke, Todd Foster, Ed Wolf, Craig Berhow.

A FEATURE - Todd Foster, Craig Berhow, Craig Gray, Scott Bauer, Jeff Dolphin, Kevin Opheim, Scott Bloemke, Kim Schleuger, Ed Wolf, Russell Trulson, Todd Wendel, Curt Moore, Brent Powers, Darin Toot, Lavern Carey, Travis Hoeft.


HEAT 1 - Earl Webner, Brent Hanson, Rob Hughes, Jason Daniels, Ben Becker, Dan Stromer, Jeff Lodin, Chad Doyle.

HEAT 2 - Dan Hanselman, Scott Anderson, Shane Monson, John Madson, Tim Miller, Nick West, Remington Hill.

HEAT 3 - Dan Haugland, Tony Smidt, James Ringham, Randy Hadacek, Jared Dirks, Craig Florea, Jim Smith.

DASH - Earl Webner, Dan Hanselman, Brent Hanson, James Ringham, Scott Anderson, Dan Haugland.

A FEATURE - Earl Webner, Dan Hanselman, Rob Hughes, Jason Daniels, Randy Hadacek, Scott Anderson, Nick West, Tony Smidt, Shane Monson, Chad Doyle, Remington Hill, Craig Florea, Dan Haugland, Jeff Lodin, Brent Hanson, John Madson, Jared Dirks, James Ringham, Dan Stromer, Tim Miller, Ben Becker, Jim Smith.


HEAT 1 - Josh Omans, Ed Green, John Campbell, Steven Inman, Alex Webner, Chuck Gatewood.

HEAT 2 - Lance Gardner, Larry Cook, Brad Willier, Don Reimers, Scott Sheehan, James Krejci.

DASH - Josh Omans, Larry Cook, Lance Gardner, Ed Green, John Campbell, Brad Willier.

A FEATURE - Lance Gardner, Josh Omans, Alex Webner, Don Reimers, Steven Inman, James Krejci, Ed Green, Chuck Gatewood, John Campbell, Larry Cook, Scott Sheehan, Brad Willier.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group