Davis tops USRA Modified thriller, Demmer makes it three straight in USRA B-Mods at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
June 29, 2012  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- It was a birthday celebration at Chateau Raceway on Friday. The track celebrated its 56th birthday this week. The first race was held on June 30, 1956, and the racing continues to attract fans to the track that lies along the Cedar River. The 50/50 drawing this week was to benefit the American Heart Association in memory of longtime track sponsor Maynard Swanson.

Power 96 and Broadway Automotive of Albert Lea sponsored the show, which featured kidís rides before the show got underway. Kids in attendance had the chance to get a ride around the track in their favorite drivers car.

Eight cars took the green flag for the L&D Ag USRA B-Mod feature. After two quick yellow flags to start the race, this one went the rest of the way without another slowdown. Scott Demmer drove off the pole and dominated the race for his third win in a row and fourth of the year. Kylie Kath held off Jerry Young for second with Justin McMahan and Terry Kohnert in the top 5.

One of the best races of the season so far took place in the Frenchís Repair & Fabrication USRA Modified 25-lap feature. A.J. Wiste took the lead off row 1 and Jason Cummins quickly challenged Todd Scharkey for second. Josh Mattick powered hard into the low side of turn 3 and he along with Jacob Dahle slid up the track. That allowed fifth row starter Brandon Davis to storm up to fourth.

Cummins snagged second from Scharkey and then moved to the top of the track. Meanwhile, Davis challenged Scharkey for third. Nine laps into the race and Cummins was close to Wiste for the lead. That duo put on a show up front. Now the lead duo was side-by-side as was Davis and Scharkey for third not too far off the leaders.

Davis got to third on lap 12 while Cummins and Wiste raced two wide on laps 10-12. Davis closed in on the lead duo and it was a three-car tussle up front on lap 15. The top three were very close as Davis looked to the low side of Cummins and they were right on the bumper of Wiste. You could have thrown a blanket over the trio on laps 16-19 as they cycled around the track in tight formation.

Davis was scored second on lap 19 and then he went to the top of the track. Davis drove to the outside of Wiste in turn 4 and just then it appeared Wisteís car jumped out and the two hit in a pure racing incident. Wisteís quarter panel was torn off, Davisí drivers door was crumpled and a yellow for debris slowed things down on lap 21.

On the restart, again Davis took to the outside of Wiste and once again they were door to door. Davis drove past with two to go and led Wiste and Cummins to the checkered flag. It was Davisí third in a row, sixth of the season and fourth in his last five starts. Scharkey and Jacob Dahle completed the top 5.

Next Friday, July 6,†is the 15th Annual Mike Guttormson Memorial when the USMTS Modifieds roll into town. Also on the card are the Midwest Modifieds, Street Stocks and Pure Stocks. It is also the trackís annual fireworks display, which is one of the best in the region. Come join the pre-race party with $1 FarmBoy BBQ pulled pork sandwiches and $1 beer from gate opening right up to hot laps.

Please go to www.chateauraceway.net for more information.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, June 29, 2012


Feature: 1. Scott Demmer, 2. Kylie Kath, 3. Jerry Young, 4. Justin McMahan, 5. Terry Kohnert, 6. Dan Mattick, 7. Todd Borwege, 8. Pete Kiley.

Heat: 1. Demmer, 2. Young, 3. Kath, 4. Mattick, 5. Kohnert, 6. McMahan, 7. Kiley, 8. Borwege.


Feature: 1. Brandon Davis, 2. A.J. Wiste, 3. Jason Cummins, 4. Todd Scharkey, 5. Jacob Dahle, 6. Darwyn Karau, 7. Josh Mattick, 8. Michael Wytaske, 9. Jeremy Misgen, 10. Greg Jensen, 11. Dave Wytaske Jr., 12. Doug Hillson.

Heat #1: 1. Mattick, 2. Hillson, 3. Scharkey, 4. Wiste, 5. Cummins, 6. Jensen.

Heat #2: 1. Davis, 2. Dahle, 3. Karau, 4. M. Wytaske, 5. Misgen, 6. D. Wytaske.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group