Schott, Blees grab third feature wins at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
June 29, 2012  |  by Dan Bailey

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Lucas Schott is quickly becoming the face of the River City Manufacturing USRA Modified division at Mississippi Thunder Speedway, for the second week in a row, the Chatfield, MN racer ended the evening with family and friends celebrating another feature win in Victory Lane. But it very easily could have ended differently as the feature got off to a wild start; with the 18 car field bumping and banging as they took the green flag to start the 25 lap feature. Some of that bumping and banging resulting in Les Duellman (who started on the outside of the third row) backing his Dirt-Dueller #0 hard into the turn one wall.

But after the dust and settled, the action on-track heated up with Schott running as high as the upper groove would allow as he worked his way to the front and began opening up the lead. Behind Schott's #69 the father-son duo of Bob and Jake Timm spent laps several laps battling for position while 2010 track champion Josh Angst worked his way from an inside fourth row starting spot towards the front.

But many race fan's attentions were focused on the "Fast Fastenal 59" of Hank Rollinger Jr. Currently sitting third in the River City Manufacturing USRA Modified point standings, Rollinger is enjoying a strong first half of the 2012 season - despite starting deep in the field, on the inside of the fifth row, Rollinger used calculated moves and speed, including the fastest lap of the 25-lap feature, to smoothly weave his way through the pack. By the final five laps of the feature, Rollinger was actually closing in on Schott.

"I've been working hard every single week on this car," said Rollinger after the strong charge that came up just one position short of his first feature win of the year, "I've made both big and little changes and all of them are helping." It's apparent that Rollinger's chances of finally grabbing a feature win are closer now than ever.

Unfortunately for Rollinger, Schott was in position to hold on and pick up his third feature win and second in a row. "That high groove was about has high as it could get," commented Schott from Victory Lane, "I think the track was taking on some rubber late, but my car was handling perfectly up where I was running."

Rollinger enjoyed a strong showing in second with Jake Timm beating Angst and 2011 Track Champion Bob Timm to the line for third.

The youth movement races on at Mississippi Thunder Speedway; Jacob Bleess, Brady Keefe and second heat race winner Alex Williamson - all three of whom are 15 years old or younger - raced their way to the top three finishing positions in the USRA B-Mod feature.

Bleess crossed the line first to pick up his third feature win of the 2012 season while Keefe bettered Williamson for his best feature finish of the season.

Mississippi Thunder Speedway's 2012 regular season action continues next Friday night July 6th with the 4th Annual River City Rumble presented by Rivercity Manufacturing & Machining and R&R Machining! On-Track action begins at 6 PM with the Sunshine Sanitation A and B Mini Mods on the "Lightning Speedway", with competition on the fast 1/3-mile getting underway at 7 PM comprised of a complete program from the River City Manufacturing USRA Modifieds, Coordinated Business Systems WISSOTA Super Stocks, The Engine Store USRA B-Mods, Jailhouse Saloon WISSOTA Street Stocks, & REDBOX+ 600 Mods.

An almost $30,000 potential purse has been posted for competitors along with a fireworks display and live concert by the Freezers after the final checkered flag. In addition to the on track action, race fans in the grand stands could go home winners also as R & R Machining and Audio Designs are joining the fun to give away five (5) 32" flat screen TV's, a boys and a girls bike will be given away, several cash prizes handed out as well as T-Shirts, gift cards and other goodies! Join the fun Friday July 6th for the 4th Annual River City Rumble presented by Rivercity Manufacturing & Machining and R&R Machining!

Compliments of support from event sponsors, Adult General Admission is just $15 with Senior Citizen tickets only $12. Student admission (age 13-18) is just $5 while all children 12 and under will be admitted ABSOLUTELY FREE! And don't forget about the new "Family Friendly Pricing" promotion unveiled for the 2012 season, the "MTS Family Pass" which consists of Two (2) Adult Tickets AND Up To Three (3) Kid's Tickets (17 & Under) is available for only $30 - a $15 savings over the individual purchase of those same five tickets. Also the new "Family Friendly Pit Pricing" is also available for EVERY event! For more details, visit the official Mississippi Thunder Speedway web site:

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, June 29, 2012


Heat #1: 1. John Doelle, 2. Lucas Schott, 3. Jake Timm, 4. Bob Timm, 5. Les Duellman, 6. Chris Oertel, 7. Thomas Brink, 8. Steve Bangart, 9. Phil Wernert.

Heat #2: 1. Josh Angst, 2. Chris Gilbertson, 3. Lance Hofer, 4. Keith Foss, 5. Hank Rollinger Jr., 6. Dan Hesch, 7. Leroy Scharkey, 8. Luke Schilling, 9. Don Schaefer.

Feature: 1. Lucas Schott, 2. Hank Rollinger Jr., 3. Jake Timm, 4. Josh Angst, 5. Bob Timm, 6. Keith Foss, 7. John Doelle, 8. Chris Gilbertson, 9. Thomas Brink, 10. Chris Oertel, 11. Luke Schilling, 12. Lance Hofer, 13. Phil Wernert, 14. Steve Bangart, 15. Dan Hesch, 16. Leroy Scharkey, 17. Don Schaefer, 18. Les Duellman.


Heat #1: 1. Ben Moudry, 2. Troy Langowski, 3. Erik Kanz, 4. Jacob Bleess, 5. Jack Baehman, 6. Brandon Reutzel, 7. Robert Carpenter.

Heat #2: 1. Alex Williamson, 2. Shaun Walski, 3. Brady Keefe, 4. Matt Appel, 5. Scott Guthrie, 6. Josh Appel, 7. Tyler Creeley.

Feature: 1. Jacob Bleess, 2. Brady Keefe, 3. Alex Williamson, 4. Erik Kanz, 5. Troy Langowski, 6. Ben Moudry, 7. Brandon Reutzel, 8. Scott Guthrie, 9. Josh Appel, 10. Robert Carpenter, 11. Shaun Walski, 12. Matt Appel, 13. Jack Baehman, 14. Tyler Creeley.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group