Dalton, Yeoman takes checkers at Springfield
Print this page
June 30, 2012

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Despite temperatures around 100 degrees, over 85 race teams checked into the Springfield Raceway Saturday night.

Current Budweiser USRA Modified points leader Jackie Dalton found the redraw to his advantage early as Dalton and Rob Muilenburg brought the field to the green flag. Dalton shot from the pole spot as the Carthage driver currently second in the USRA National Modified point standings pulled away from the veteran Muilenburg. Dalton had pulled away to a full straightaway advantage as John Yeoman moved around Muilenburg on lap 3 to take over second place. With the race going caution free, drivers were told the halfway mark as then Yeoman began his charge to the front as Muilenburg had Danny DeMasters II and points runner up Mitch Keeter were swapping positions. On lap 15, Yeoman really closed up the ground on Dalton as Keeter was also coming quickly to the front runners. Yeoman had caught Dalton on lap 16 as the duo kept fans wondering the outcome. Keeter used the bottom groove to his advantage and was making up ground while Muilenburg found Jerry Lankton and DeMasters coming quickly. As the white flag flew, Yeoman looking several times to the inside of Dalton while Keeter was also in the mix. Heading to the checkered, Dalton would hold back the veteran engine builder Yeoman to take his Doug's Pro Lube/Garrison Performance/Hoffman to win number 3 with Yeoman's 25th Anniversary Engines/Dy-Na-Tech/Hoffman, Keeter with his Mid-America Rebuilders/Yeoman Engines/TRE, Lankton in the Lankton's Welding/Yeoman Engines/Hoffman and DeMasters in his DeMasters Racing completed the top 5. Muilenburg slowed on the final lap falling to a 7th place finish for the veteran currently 4th in the USRA National Standings.

In the Reliable Chevrolet/GM Performance Parts USRA B-Mods, Jon Yeoman Jr. snapped a two-year drought by taking the lead from early Kaleb Copher on lap 4 and then holding off stiff charges from current track and National point leader Scott Drake in taking his first of the season. Copher, the former Midwest Modz track champion grabbed the opening lead from Blake Ellis only to see a restart as Michael Maggard went around after contact with Drake. Both drivers went to the rear of the field as Copher again took command early with Blake, Jeremy Thulin and Yeoman in tow. Yeoman who won the first ever Reliable Chevrolet $500 to win event at Springfield made a smooth move around Copher on lap 4 as Jared Thulin, a fast moving Ryan Stacye and a hard charging Drake were in the top 5. With Yeoman pulling away, Drake moved around Thulin on the lap 10 mark and began to close up the ground. As the feature stayed green and clean, Drake would tuck behind the leader Yeoman by lap 14 and applied pressure with a great battle behind as the Thulin cousins Jared and Jeremy were holding off defending champion Bobby Maggard Jr for the spot. Drake would use every move possible in trying to overtake Yeoman Jr as the battle of Spec and GM 602 Performance motors were showing the best they had. Drake would diamond the track as Yeoman kept glued to the top side as the final lap went in the books. Drake would tuck behind Yeoman and then look inside, but tonight Yeoman held a solid line to grab the win with Drake, Rookie Jeremy Thulin, Maggard Jr and Jared Thulin in the top 5 as 13 of the 16 starters completed the lead lap.

Next Saturday, July 7, the speedway will be holding another exciting Transport Graphics Championship Chase along with a Facebook Family special offer. Please be sure to check out the offer and like Springfield Raceway on Facebook. The Speedway is also gearing up for the 2nd Annual Summer Perry Memorial on July 21 featuring Midget Cars along with USRA Modifieds, B Modifieds,Midwest Modz, Legends and Pure Stocks. On July 21 Street Stocks and Young Lions will have the night off as Young Lions can compete with the Legends. Also on July 28 the 1st Annual Casey's General Stores Summer Meltdown featuring the MLRA/MARS Super Late Models along with a Transport Graphics Points event.

For more information visit www.springfieldraceway.com or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Sprignfield, Mo.
Saturday, June 30, 2012


Feature: 1. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 2. John Yeoman, Joplin; 3. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 4. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 5. Danny DeMasters II, Neosho; 6. Terry Beckham Jr., Webb City; 7. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta; 8. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 9. Dairan Hendrix, Joplin; 10. Billy Dalton, Exeter; 11. Kelly Hicks, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 12. Fred Slagle, Pierce City; 13. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 14. Scott Symmonds, Bolivar.

Heat #1: 1. Keeter; 2. Yeoman; 3. Muilenburg; 4. B. Dalton; 5. Slagle; 6. Hicks; 7. Symmonds.

Heat #2: 1. J. Dalton; 2. Pearish; 3. Lankton; 4. DeMasters; 5. Bryant; 6. Beckham; 7. Hendrix.


Feature: 1. Jon Yeoman Jr., Granby; 2. Scott Drake, Webb City; 3. Jeremy Thulin, Miami, Okla.; 4. Bobby Maggard Jr., Republic; 5. Jared Thulin, Miami, Okla.; 6. Gary Rodocker, Willard; 7. Ryan Stacye, Fair Grove; 8. Colt Pruente, Aurora; 9. Michael Maggard, Springfield; 10. Kaleb Copher, Webb City; 11. Thomas Hylton, Avilla; 12. Dylan Timmerman, El Dorado Springs; 13. T.R. Phillips, Nixa; 14. Blake Ellis, Sarcoxie; 15. Terry Williams, Springfield; 16. Ryan Hendrix, Joplin; DNS - Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; DNS - Aaron Speck, Republic.

Heat #1: 1. Drake; 2. Maggard; 3. Ellis; 4. Jared Thulin; 5. Hylton; 6. Graybeal.

Heat #2: 1. Maggard; 2. Hendrix; 3. Stacye; 4. Jeremy Thulin; 5. Rodocker; 6. Williams.

Heat #3: 1. Copher; 2. Yeoman; 3. Timmerman; 4. Pruente; 5. Phiilips; 6. Speck.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group