Dalton, Drake return to Springfield winners circle
Print this page
July 7, 2012

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Current Budweiser USRA Modified points leader Jackie Dalton took charge early and then held off several attempts from veteran Steve Muilenburg in capturing his fourth feature event of the season and third consecutive Saturday night at the Springfield Raceway.

The redraw saw Arkansas driver Dale Proctor grab the pole with Brian Green to the outside as high point earner Robbie Bryant started the night 8th on the grid. At the drop of the flag, Dalton shot to the high side to overtake both Proctor and Green and grab the lead. On lap 2, veteran driver Steve Muilenburg moved into second place and began to work the low side of the speedway with Green running a solid third place.

Several cautions slowed the pace down as Rob Muilenburg brought out the first caution slowing on the backstretch on lap 3. Rob Muilenburg ducked into the pits and rejoined the rear. On lap 5, Josh Woody got sideways in turn 2 and looped around, suffering damage and ending his night. 2010 Turkey classic winner Jody Tillman who had been charging forward ducked into the pits and rejoined the field.

Back under green, Steve Muilenburg was putting on pressure to Dalton as John Yeoman, Billy Dalton and Bryant were following. Green's strong showing ended as he pulled into the pits with problems and Proctor pitted under caution while running earlier in the top 5.

On the restart, Steve Muilenburg again went low with Dalton staying top side. During the green flag runs, Bryant was coming quickly along with Mickey Burrell. Billy Dalton's great run ended badly as he spun on the last lap in turn 4 costing him a top-5 finish.

Jackie Dalton and his Doug's Pro Lube/Garrison Performance/Hoffman held off the late surge to take the win followed by a fast-moving Bryant in his McCoy Metals/GRT/Arbuckle Engines with Steve Muilenburg in the Muilenburg Excavating/Mike's Motor Machine Shop/TRE, Burrell with the D&D Welding/Ruble Engines/TRE and John Yeoman in his 25th Anniversary Yeoman Engines/Hoffman completing the top 5.

Twelve of the 19 starters completed the lead lap.

Current Reliable Chevrolet USRA B-Mod track and national points leader Scott Drake of Webb City was able to move into the lead on lap 10 from Kaleb Copher and then had to hold off a strong charge from Sean Williams in getting him back into the winners circle.

Former track champion Wayne Graybeal grabbed the opening lead with Copher following. Graybeal, who won his heat tonight, worked right until the start of the feature to fix some problems and looked quick. On lap 4, Copher shot around on the top side as Graybeal tucked behind.

On lap 7, Caution waved as Blake Ellis spun in turn 4 and defending track champion Bobby Haggard Jr. slowed after jumping the top cushion in turn 2. Maggard's night ended with damage to the underside of the car. On the restart, Michael Maggard moved into second applying pressure to Copher as Drake who started tonight in the 9th starting spot quickly moved into third place.

After a spirited battle, Drake shot to the inside of Copher and took the lead. Sean Williams, who started 10th, was quickly moving to the front and by lap 13 took over second place. A lap 14 caution bunched the field together tight as Drake had Williams along side.

Despite the late surge, Williams came up just a little short as Drake took the win while Williams, last week's winner Jon Yeoman Jr., Copher and early leader Graybeal rounded out the top 5.

Springfield Raceway will not be racing Saturday, July 14, but will be back in action Saturday, July 21, with the Summer Perry Memorial featuring Midgets along with points races for USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods, Legends, Midwest Modz and Pure Stocks. For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Sprignfield, Mo.
Saturday, July 7, 2012


Feature: 1. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 2. Robbie Bryant, Willard; 3. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 4. Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove; 5. John Yeoman, Joplin; 6. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 7. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta; 8. Jerry Lankton, Lampe; 9. Dale Proctor, Hector, Ark.; 10. Danny DeMasters, Joplin; 11. Billy Dalton, Exeter; 12. Scott Symmonds, Bolivar; 13. Fred James; 14. Fred Slagle, Pierce City; 15. Jody Tillman, West Branson; 16. Brian Green, Pierce City; 17. Kelly Hicks, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 18. Josh Woody, Laquey; 19. Norm Harris, Mansfield; DNS - Bobby Pearish, Oronogo.

Heat #1: 1. Bryant; 2. Woody; 3. R. Muilenburg; 4. Green; 5. DeMasters; 6. Lankton; 7. Slagle.

Heat #2: 1. Yeoman; 2. Proctor; 3. B. Dalton; 4. Keeter; 5. Burrell; 6. Harris; 7. James.

Heat #3: 1. Pearish; 2. S. Muilenburg; 3. J. Dalton; 4. Tillman; 5. Hicks; 6. Symmonds.


Feature: 1. Scott Drake, Webb City; 2. Sean Williams, Willard; 3. Jon Yeoman Jr., Granby; 4. Kaleb Copher, Webb City; 5. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 6. Michael Maggard, Springfield; 7. Cody Nivens, Fair Grove; 8. T.R. Phillips, Nixa; 9. Tyler Chainey, Springfield; 10. Thomas Hylton, Avilla; 11. John Hurn, Joplin; 12. Michael Page, Webb City; 13. Blake Ellis, Sarcoxie; 14. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 15. Ryan Edde, Urbana; 16. Bobby Maggard Jr., Republic; 17. Jeremy Thulin, Miami, Okla.

Heat #1: 1. Graybeal; 2. M. Maggard; 3. Drake; 4. Nivens; 5. Hurn; 6. Edde.

Heat #2: 1. Copher; 2. Yeoman; 3. Ellis; 4. Chainey; 5. Page; 6. Thulin.

Heat #3: 1. B. Maggard; 2. Phillips; 3. Williams; 4. Hylton; 5. Muilenburg.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group