Springfield championship chase tight as action continues Saturday
Print this page
August 14, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The Transport Graphics Championship Chase at the Springfield Raceway has only three races remaining as drivers fight for positions in the 2012 final standings. With an average weekly car count of 94, the "Quick Quarter" offers fans plenty of side-by-side racing action on what many consider the best action around.

Currently, five-time and defending USRA Modified track champion Jackie Dalton has pulled to a 17-point advantage over 2010 track champion Mitch Keeter after last weekend's Back To School Night event. Veteran engine builder John Yeoman is still looking for his first win of the season and holds a solid third place in the track standings and is only 63 points out of the lead. Another large car count, along with an up-front finish, could pull Yeoman even closer. Bobby Pearish has a very fast moving Jerry Lankton and Rob Muilenburg trying to grab the position away.

This season has been the Scott Drake year in the USRA B-Mods as the Webb City veteran driver has been at the head of the field in his Reliable Chevrolet GM 602 crate engine powerplant. While Drake not only leads the track standings, the veteran drivers also leads the USRA national standings. The track standings have really changed behind Drake as steady running Jon Yeoman Jr. is out of action for at least a couple of weeks following an incident away from the track. Yeoman was riding in second place, but not being in action last week dropped him to third while former Midwest Modz champion Kaleb Copher moves into second. A couple of hard-charging Oklahoma drivers, Jared Thulin and rookie B-Mod driver and cousin Jeremy Thulin, fight for fourth place as defending champion Bobby Maggard Jr. starts a late season charge up the ladder in the right time as late season specials are just ahead.

Grandstand gates open at 5:30 with hot laps to begin around 6:30 and racing at 7:30. Budweiser USRA Modifieds, Reliable Chevrolet/GM Performance USRA B-Mods, Casey's General Stores Midwest Modz, Wheeler Metals Legends along with Young Lion Legends, Pepsi Pure Stocks and Williams Lawn Care and Preservation Street Stocks take to the high-banked dirt oval at 7:30 for action.

Grandstand admission is only $12 for adults while kids 6-12 are $5 while under 6 are free.

For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.


USRA Modifieds:
1. Jackie Dalton, Carthage ... 1241
2. Mitch Keeter, Webb City ... 1224
3. John Yeoman, Joplin ... 1178
4. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo ... 1077
5. Jerry Lankton, Lampe ... 1067
6. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta ... 1013
7. Fred Slagle, Pierce City ... 887
8. Brian Green, Pierce City ... 846
9. Robbie Bryant, Willard ... 809
10. Billy Dalton, Exeter ... 791

USRA B-Mods:
1. Scott Drake, Webb City ... 1304
2. Kaleb Copher, Webb City ... 1053
3. Jon Yeoman Jr, Granby ... 1030
4. Jared Thulin, Stillwater, Oklahoma ... 874
5. Jeremy Thulin, Miami, Oklahoma ... 853
6. Bobby Maggard Jr, Republic ... 805
7. Blake Ellis, Sarcoxie ... 791
8. Mike Hailman, Reed Springs ... 767
9. Thomas Hylton, Avilla ... 750
10. Don Luna, St James ... 748

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group