Track champions crowned at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
August 25, 2012

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- A late afternoon mist delayed the start of the racing action on the Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday, but when the track finally got rolled in again the racing was fast and furious on Track Championship Night. With an anonymous donor putting up extra money for the USRA Modifieds making them $1,000 to win and Randy and Patti Eastvold putting an extra $100 to each third-place finisher in all six classes.

First feature of the night was the Hinz Trucking USRA B-Mods with Kylie Kath jumping out to the early lead. Jacob Bleess sat in second early on with Scott Demmer and Shaun Walski in the top four. With five complete it looked like Kath was going to run away from the field and hide as he pulled away from Bleess. With eight complete Demmer got under Bleess from second as the first caution flew over the field. On the restart Demmer and Kath were side by side for the lead with Parker Hale taking over the fourth spot. Walski sat in third as Alex Williamson moved under Bleess for the fifth spot.

With eleven laps down Kath and Demmer was still racing for the lead with Kath holding the slight edge. They came upon slower traffic and Demmer got the preferred line and took the lead only to have the pass negated by another caution. On the restart Kath held the slight lead as he and Demmer resumed their side by side race for the lead. With thirteen down Bleess moved past Hale for fifth again while Walski and Williamson were racing for third. Williamson got third on the next lap. Up front Kath held the lead until the white flew then Demmer got a good run out of two to take the advantage into three.

Demmer took home the win ahead of Kath, Williamson, Walski and Bleess. Bleess was declared the 2012 Hinz Trucking USRA B-Modified track champion. Kath, Demmer and Hale won heat races earlier in the night.

Kevin Stoa and Brandon Davis battle for the lead on lap one of the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modified division. Stoa took the lead on the completion of lap one while Kelly Shryock, Mike Sorensen and Steve Wetzstein raced for the third spot. Wetzstein held onto the spot as a caution flew on lap three. On the restart it was Stoa leading and Davis in second. Wetzstein was in third. Rodney Sanders moved into the top five on lap six.

A caution slowed the field on lap eight and on the restart Stoa led with Shryock in second as another caution flew on lap nine. On the restart Stoa led with Brandon Davis right there in second. Davis moved under Stoa on lap ten to take over the lead. Right behind him crazy action for the positions were taking place with hard charges and slide jobs. Sanders moved into second behind Davis on a lap twelve restart. Stoa fought back and sat in second until lap twenty one when he and Sanders were again side by side for the second spot.

At the finish it was Davis with the win and the track championship title. Sanders, Stoa, Sorensen, and Lucas Schott rounded out the top five. Joe Horgdal won the “B Feature” while Davis, Shryock, Schott and Sanders won heat race action

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 24, 2012


Feature: Scott Demmer, Kylie Kath, Alex Williamson, Shaun Walski, Jacob Bleess, Parker Hale, Jerry Young, Erik Kanz, Aaron Haggerty, Josh Smith, Brady keeve, Aaron Benson, Wade Wenzel, Alan Wagner, Ben Moudry, John Warrinton, Mike Chisholm, Taylor Ausrud, Brandon Hare.

Heat #1: Kath, Hare, Smith, Kanz, keefe, Wenzel, Young.

Heat #2: Hale, Moudry, Haggerty, Warrington, Ausrud, Chisholm.

Heat #3: Demmer, Walski, Bleess, Williamson, Benson, Wagner.


"A" Feature: Brandon Davis, Rodney Sanders, Kevin Stoa, Mike Sorensen, Lucas Schott, Kelly Shryock, Johnny Scott, Jason Cummins, Mark Teske, Joe Horgdal, Nate Wasmund, Jake Timm, Tom Brink, Brian Albrecht, Cole Queensland, Steve Wetzstein, Jeremy Misgen, Brian Shaw, Mark Noble, Dan Bohr, Jeremy Payne, Jeremy Brogaard, Jay Ihrke, Joel Alberts, Josh Angst, Jason Krohn.

"B" Feature: Horgdal, Alberts, Shaw, Misgen, Albrecht, Brogaard, Phil Wernert, Billy Steinberg, Greg Jensen, James Parker, Brad Waits, Ric Fynbo.

Heat #1: Davis, Sorensen, Cummins, Wasmund, Ihrke, Waits, Wernert, Brogaard.

Heat #2: Shryock, Noble, Timm, Brink, Payne, Horgdal, Albrecht, Fynbo.

Heat #3: Schott, Wetzstein, Angst, Scott, Queensland, Misgen, Steinberg, Alberts.

Latest News from the USRA

March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
March 16, 2018
Zimmerman on top in Out-Pace USRA B-Mods at Humboldt
Veteran racer Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., flew by leader J.C. Morton on lap 16 of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, and then held off multiple challenges over theread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge opener to Jolly
Thursday night kicked off the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment at the Humboldt, and the 2018 campaign for the USRA Iron Man Chread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group