Dalton captures USRA Modified feature at Springfield
Print this page
October 6, 2012  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Jackie Dalton captured his second of the season-ending Fab Five Springfield Raceway specials Saturday by taking advantage of the only caution on lap 17 in the USRA Modified feature.

Bobby Pearish was the high point driver for the evening and redrew the pole was setting a blistering pace in the early portions of the race with Nick Whitehead and John Yeoman following. Youngster Logan Martin was mixing it up with the Springfield regulars and was challanging Whitehead early for the runner-up spot. With Pearish as much as a full straighaway ahead and lapped traffic in front of the leader, Ehitehead, Martin and USRA track champion Jackie Dalton closed in quickly. the only caution flew on lap 17 when 5th place running Brian Green spun in turn 1 bunching the field together. Whitehead picked the to pgroove on the double-file restart as Dalton went inside. When the Green flew, Dalton quickly rode the bottom lane of the lightning quick surface and overtook leader Pearish as Mitch Keeter who had started tonight 15th on the grid moved around Whitehead to capture third place.

Dalton would help secure a possible top ten spot in the USRA national standing by driving his Doug's Pro Lube/Garrison Performance/Hoffman Race Cars to the victory while Pearish drove the Pearish And Sons Construction/Yeoman Engines/Hoffman Race Cars to the runner-up spot as Mitch Keeter charged his Mid America Rebuilders/Yeoman Engines/TRE Race Cars to a strong third place followed by Nick Whitehead in his Muilenburg Excavating/Yeoman Engines/Hoffman and Logan Martin in the Martin Trucking/GRT/GMPP rounded out the top 5 as 20 of the 24 starters finished on the lead lap.

The USRA B-Mod feature kept the fans plenty warm with much the same action as the USRA Modifieds. It took a couple of times to get the feature going, but once it did the racing was outstanding. High point driver Kris Jackson and current USRA National B Mod point leader Scott Drake brought the field to the green with Drake getting the early control. National point runner-up JC Morton battled Jackson for second while Sean Williams, Trevor Drake,Logan Martin were swapping spots lap after lap. On lap 5, Morton moved around Jackson for second place as Williams followed and began to charge to the leader Scott Drake. From lap 10 until when morton overtook Drake on lap 15, the top 2 in the National Standings were showing high and low groove racing. Morton would get credit for the lead on lap 15 and 16 as lapped traffic was in front of the lead duo while behind then Trevor Drake,Williams.Martin,Jackson and Jon Yeoman Jr. were keeping things interesting. Drake would take advantage of the lapped traffic and get back in the lead on lap 17 as Morton lost a little ground but then started his move forward again. With both drivers all over the racy surface and in GM Performance 602 Motors, Morton closed to within 2 cars as the white flag flew and things really got interesting as Morton gainied ground on the bottom of the track. Drake kept the speed on the top grove and just nipped Morton at the stripe. Behind the top duo were Midwest Mod 2 time champion Trevor Drake, Sean Williams and Logan Martin as 14 of the 20 starters were on the lead lap.

The next event at Springfield Raceway will be Saturday October 27th as the 2nd annual Boogerman Awareness To Breast Cancer event with a safe trick or treat for the kids will be held. Race Teams,Sponsors and Area Business will set-up a safe trick or treat for the kids during the intermission break along with the Missouri Legends State Championship presented by Springfield's Petran Motorsports. Classes will include A Modifieds, B Modifieds, Legends, Young Lions,Midwest Modz,Pure Stocks and Street Stocks with Racing slated to start at 5PM

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, Oct. 6, 2012

USRA Modifieds: 1) Jackie Dalton 2) Bobby Pearish 3) Mitch Keeter 4) Nick Whitehead 5) Logan Martin 6) Robbie Bryant 7) Jim Body 8) Dave Elson 9) Jerry Lankton 10) Kyle Duke 11) Jon Sheets 12) Jody Tillman 13) Chris Tonoli 14) Andy Aust 15) Rob Muilenburg 16) Joey Smith 17) Kevin Morrow 18) Brian Green 19) Donnie Fellers 20) Brent Holman 21) Kyle Slagle 22) Les Hillard 23) Chris Cole 24) John Yeoman.

USRA B-Mods: 1) Scott Drake 2) JC Morton 3) Trevor Drake 4) Sean Williams 5) Logan Martin 6) Kris Jackson 7) Jon Yeoman Jr. 8) Ben Solberg 9) Don Luna 10) Michael Page 11) Toby Thompson 12) Steve McLaughin 13) Kyle Duke 14) Tony Fincher 15) Ted Ballinger 16) Tyler Duggins 17) Mike Mansker 18) Robert Baltzell 19) Chuck Becker 20) Bobby Ratterree.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group