Phillips wins USRA Modified Fall Nationals
Print this page
October 21, 2012

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- Springfield, Mo., veteran Terry Phillips won the $10,000-to-win Winter Meltdown at the Southern New Mexico Speedway three out of the last four years, but had never won the USRA Modified Fall Nationals ... until now.

Phillips, who started outside the front row, was challenged only briefly during the late stages of the 50-lap event by fourth-starting Johnny Scott, but Phillips withstood the pressure and went on to dominate the $10,000-to-win finale Sunday.

Friday night’s winner, Stormy Scott, and Phillips paced the 24-car field to the green after a brief delay for a rare pop-up rain shower in the desert, but after the track was ready to race the field took the green and Phillips blasted off into the lead at the start.

A lap-1 caution flew as the track was a bit greasy yet, but once back underway Phillips proved that he was the man to beat as he pulled away quickly from a great side-by-side battle between Johnny Scott and Fito Gallardo for second.

The second caution flew on lap 5 for a Jeremy Payne spin, but again Phillips drove off into the night on the restart with Gallardo in tow.

Great racing was taking place all throughout the field as Alex Stanford, Bumper Jones and Jason Krohn were battling just behind a side-by-side dual between Royal Jones and Jimmy Ray at the end of the top 5.

Racing continued non-stop until the third caution of the event flew with just 20 laps remaining for a Tristan Sikes spin in turn 4. On the restart, Phillips again took off out front but this time Johnny Scott was all over Phillips and began to put heavy pressure on the race long leader.

Johnny Scott raced a higher line through turns 1-2 and stormed by Phillips to the lead on lap 37 to take the top spot briefly until Phillips dove back underneath and took the lead for good with 12 to go.

The final caution of the 50-lapper flew on lap 44 when Krohn and Stanford got together, ending Krohn’s bid for a top 5 as he went pit side. Phillips was not to be denied his first ever Fall Nationals title and outran Johnny Scott and Gallardo to the checkered for the dominating win.

Jeff Taylor and defending USRA Modified Fall Nationals champion Jason Cummins waged a race-long side-by-side battle for positions within the top 5, which lasted until the final lap when Taylor edged Cummins for fourth at the line.

Stanford advanced 10 spots and earned the hard charger award, while the Karsyn’s Krusaders charity once again benefited from the unique driver auction which saw businesses and fans bid on drivers in the starting line-up.

Over $25,000 was raised to assist in the research and battle of cancer this year.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
USRA Modified Fall Nationals
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Sunday, Oct. 21, 2012


"A" Main: Terry Phillips, Johnny Scott, Fito Gallardo, Jeff Taylor, Jason Cummins, Alex Stanford, Eddie Martin, Bumper Jones, Wayne Brooks, Stormy Scott, Jeremy Payne, Rodney Sanders, Royal Jones, Christy Georges, Jimmy Ray, Bryan Rowland, Dusty Riggs, Dereck Ramirez, Tanner Mullens, Jason Krohn, Tristan Sikes, Neal Flowers, Ricky Thornton Jr., Jake O’Neil.

"B" Main: B. Jones, Krohn, Martin, Thornton Jr., Rowland, Stanford, Brooks, Mullens, T. Sikes, Flowers, Riggs, Ramirez, O’Neil, C. Georges, Cain, Houston, Brown, J. Gallardo, R. Davis, H. Jones, Herring, Dawson, Brown, Adams, Falco.

"C" Main: J. Gallardo, T. Sikes, H. Jones, C. Georges, Houston, Riggs, O’Neil, Brown, Ramirez, Herring, R. Davis, Adams, Dawson, Falco, Weaver, Dutton, T. Georges, Sprinkle, Hatton, B. Davis, Tipton, Earvan, DeBord, Jenkins, Barnett.

Last Chance Race #1: B. Davis, Weaver, Brown, Herring, Hatton, Butch Reid, Roger Owens, Clint Miller, Greg Gorham, Brian Craighead, Brian Kleine, Michael Lucero.

Last Chance Race #2: O’Neil, R. Davis, Earvan, DeBord, T. Georges, Bob Sikes, Danny Dozier, Roy Don Mason, Todd Budlong, Mercedes Harris, Donovan Ooley, James Flemming.

Last Chance Race #3: Tipton, Sprinkle, Adams, Dutton, Jenkins, Bobby Sikes Jr., Alan Sharpensteen, Lee Heiligenthal, Melissa Gorham, Owen Puckett, Robbie Chiles, Duane Murphy.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group