Weaver, Muilenburg winners at North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
June 7, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- After another week of racing was lost due to rain, drivers were anxious to get back on track this evening at North Central Arkansas Speedway and the largest crowd of the year was treated to another night of excellent racing action.

Todd Knight and Tim Weaver held down the front row at the start of the USRA Modified feature event, and Weaver used the high side of the track to gain the lead as the field swarmed out of turn two with the field fanning out three-wide behind the leaders battling for position. Kandy Methvin started sixth on the field and moved up through the field slowly, taking over fourth place on lap five, then taking the third spot on lap ten. The only caution of the race was displayed on lap seventeen for an incident between Jason Snodgrass and Mike Smith in turn two. The restart put Methvin on the rear bumper of Weaver but despite a hard charge on the restart, Methvin was unable to get close enough to seriously challenge for the lead. Steve Muilenburg had his hands full as the field got back up to speed with Knight, but Knight slipped up the track exiting turn four allowing Steve to seal his third place finish. After running in the top five for much of the race, Rusty Weir missed the cushion on the restart and allowed Rob Muilenburg past into the fifth spot, but Rob was unable to move past Knight before the checkered flag was waved.

Josh Farris and Bobby Ratteree were out in front of the field as of the USRA B-Mod feature powered up to speed. Ratteree got past Farris for the early lead and began to pull out to a small advantage as Steve Muilenburg came up from is ninth place starting spot and moved into the top three on the opening lap. Muilenburg moved past Farris into second on lap two and began a highly contested fight for the lead that lasted through lap eight when Muilenburg was finally able to get out front. As the top two cars fought for position, a four car fight for third was going on behind them with Chris Davidson, Farris, Kevin Grissum and Terry Phillips racing two and three wide all around the speedway behind them. After the drivers swapped spots on the scoresheet on laps three through six, Phillips finally moved into third for good on lap eight, one lap before the first caution of the event came out for an accident in turn two. The restart saw the field quickly spaced out single file before another caution came out on lap ten for a two-car accident on the front stretch. As the cars quickly cycled back up to full speed on the restart, Muilenburg outran the car of Ratteree and drove off to the win.

The next night of racing action will be Friday night, June 14th. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at www.dsmotorsports-llc.com.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, June 7, 2013


Feature: 1)7$ Tim Weaver, 2)41 Kandy Methvin, 3)33 Steve Muilenburg, 4)XXI Todd Knight, 5)59 Rob Muilenburg, 6)78 Rusty Weir, 7)71 Jason Snodgrass, 8)68 Corey Weir, 9)37 Mike Smith, 10)5 John Briggs.


Feature: 1)33 Steve Muilenburg, 2)20 Bobby Ratteree, 3)41T Toby Thompson, 4)33G Charlie Gentile, 5)2D Chris Davidson, 6)90 Josh Farris, 7)39 Earl Muilenburg, 8)48 Kevin Grissum, 9)62 Tommy Morgan, 10)41F Ray Flippin, 11)24F Cain Foster.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group