Steve Muilenburg steamroller continues at North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
June 28, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- Night 2 of the summer racing season at North Central Arkansas Speedway put the spotlight on the USRA B-Mod division with a special three-segment event for the drivers in the class that has begun to provide some of the most competitive on-track racing excitement.

The USRA B-Mod Triple Crown event saw lots of action in the first two 10-lap segments, and segment 3 upped the excitement one more notch. John Briggs started inside row two but grabbed the lead on lap one with Steve Muilenburg and Ray Flippin running nose-to-tail with the leader.

The top three cars fanned out three wide at both ends of the speedway trying to find the fasted line around the track and a after holding off Muilenburg and Flippin’s advances for the first six laps Briggs slipped sideways in turn 1 and both Flippin and Muilenburg got past but the yellow flag waved before the lap was completed for a single-car spin in turn 4, giving Briggs the lead back for the following restart.

After fighting off Muilenburg and Flippin for another three laps and with the top three cars all hotly contesting the lead the white flag waved and Briggs sailed off into turn 1 and gained a little advantage as he headed down the back straight. The advantage for Briggs proved to be short-lived though as Muilenburg drove deeply into the turn in a last-ditch effort to claim the win with Flippin closing on Briggs and taking the center line through turn 3.

As Briggs tried to accelerate off turn 4 his car slid over the cushion at the top of the track and Muilenburg drove to the win with Flippin also slipping past Briggs exiting the corner to claim second.

With all of the top cars in the tech barn, a post-race inspection revealed a malfunctioning rev-limiter on the car of Briggs that resulted in the disqualification of his car for the night.

The USRA Modified feature had Muilenburg and Mike Smith on the front row to start. Muilenburg took the early lead with Smith close behind running second on lap one but the cars of Rub Muilenburg and Kandy Methvin began to methodically move up in the running order before a single-car spin in turn 2 brought out the yellow flag on lap 16.

Methvin moved past Smith to take second on the following restart, and then grabbed the lead for a single lap as he raced wheel-to-wheel with Steve Muilenburg for three laps before Steve Muilenburg pulled away to take the win. Rob Muilenburg challenged Smith for third as the drivers came back up to speed on the same restart, but never could find a way past Smith before the end.

There will be no racing at the speedway Friday night, July 5, but action resumes at the track on Friday and Saturday night, July 12-13, with stock car racing on the speedway on the 12th and ATVs and motorcycles taking to the TT track on the 13th.

The North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, June 28, 2013


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Ray Flippin, 3. Chris Davidson, 4. Tommy Morgan, 5. Darrin Lee, 6. Dustin Shaw, DQ - John Briggs.


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Kandy Methvin, 3. Mike Smith, 4. Rob Muilenburg, 5. Rusty Weir, 6. Jason Snodgrass, 7. Kyle Cotter, 8. Jared Hayes.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group