Smith, Flippin visit victory lane at North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
July 12, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- After a one-week break from racing, the third week of the summer racing season got started this evening at North Central Arkansas Speedway with humid conditions greeting the returning drivers and the new cars that turned out for the resumption of weekly on-track action.

The USRA B-Mod division was the first feature race following intermission with Ray Flippin and Steve Muilenburg starting on the front row. Muilenburg held the high line through turns one and two and led the field to the stripe for the opening lap, but as he entered turn 3 on the second circuit a trail of smoke began to show from the back of his car and by the time he got back to the start/finish line the cloud of smoke engulfed the car and ended his night prematurely.

Flippin took control of the field for the restart followed by John Briggs and Chris Davidson in the second row of the outlaw style line-up and Briggs used the bottom of the track through turns 1-2 to hold down the second spot for the next three laps before Davidson took advantage of a slip over the cushion by Briggs to grab second. Kandy Methvin was in the ride normally piloted by Shawn Ply and after taking a few early laps to find the handle on the car Methvin took over fourth on lap 6.

A single-car spin bunched the field on lap twelve and with the cars again doubled up behind the leader, the upper line proved to be the place to be as Briggs and Methvin both found traction at the top of the track to move into second and third, respectively. Davidson fought with Jason Brigman for a single lap before Brigman took over fourth for good on lap 13.

As the laps ticked off, Flippin pulled away for the win with Briggs and Methvin fighting hard over the second spot that eventually went to Briggs as Methvin claimed third.

The USRA Modified feature got started with Mike Smith and Jason Snodgrass on the front row. Snodgrass grabbed the early lead coming off turn 2 followed closely by Smith, Rusty Weir, Kandy Methvin and Steve Muilenburg as cars raced two- and three-wide looking for a place to pass. Smith took the lead from Snodgrass on lap two as the field began to run single file and Muilenburg took over third from Weir on lap 3.

Caution came to the track on lap 5 for a single car spin by Methvin in turn 1, and with the field two-wide behind leader Smith for the restart Muilenburg was able to pass Snodgrass for second. After losing a pair of spots early on Jared Hayes was able to move past Weir to take the fourth spot on lap 13 and, after his early spin, Methvin was able to take home a fifth-place finish on the night.

Racing action continues Friday night, July 19, with added money in the USRA Modified and USRA B-Mod classes. Saturday night July 20, the Dragon Wagon sled makes itís first ever appearance at the speedway for some ground-shaking truck-pulling action with the gates opening at 6 p.m. and the pulling getting underway at 7:30.

The North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS (5277), or go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, July 12, 2013


Feature: 1. 41F Ray Flippin, 2. 5B John Briggs, 3. 86M Kandy Methvin, 4. 24B Jason Brigman, 5. 2D Chris Davidson, 6. 39 Earl Muilenburg, 7. 11 Dustin Shaw, 8. 24F Cain Foster, 9. 62 Tommy Morgan, 10. 48 Kevin Grissum, 11. 129 Lance Stillings, 12. 33 Steve Muilenburg.


Feature: 1. 37 Mike Smith, 2. 33 Steve Muilenburg, 3. 71 Jason Snodgrass, 4. 18 Jared Hayes, 5. 41 Kandy Methvin, 6. 78 Rusty Weir, 7. 59 Rob Muilenburg.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group