Muilenburg heads home with three trophies from North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
August 17, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- An unseasonably cool summer evening was the backdrop for Friday evening’s racing at North Central Arkansas Speedway.

It was a make-up feature race from the middle of July that got the feature racing started for the evening with the USRA Modified drivers hitting the track. Jason Snodgrass held the pole position but outside pole-sitter Steve Muilenburg took the early lead coming off turn two and never looked back as he drove to the wire-to-wire win. Kandy Methvin challenged Snodgrass for the second spot with the two drivers racing nose to tail before Methvin made the pass for the second spot before the midway point of the event. After being passed by Methvin, Snodgrass had Corey Weir challenge for the third spot which Weir would take on lap ten.

Chris Davidson and Steve Muilenburg paced the field to the start of the USRA B-Modified feature event. After a pair of aborted starts for single car spins, the third attempt to start came off well with Muilenburg taking the opening lap lead, followed across the start/finish line by John Briggs and Kandy Methvin. Muilenburg held off an early challenge from Briggs and was building a small but comfortable lead over the closing laps when caution came out on lap seventeen after Josh Farris got into the wall in turns one and two. Muilenburg got a great jump on the restart and pulled away from Briggs to take the win. Methvin tried to get past Briggs on the bottom of the track as the drivers came up to full speed but Briggs held Methvin off to take home a second place finish.

The second USRA Modified feature of the night went green with Jason Snodgrass again out in front on the pole with Corey Weir outside the front row. Weir would lead Snodgrass back to the stripe with Snodgrass holding off Steve Muilenburg and Jarred Hayes. After getting past Snodgrass for second, Muilenburg patiently waited for his chance to move forward and grabbed the lead from Weir on lap nine. Kandy Methvin slowly picked off cars and got past Weir for second on lap twelve. Methvin tried to close on Muilenburg but Muilenburg was able to drive to his third feature win on the night, followed at the end by Methvin and Weir.

Racing action continues this Friday night, August 23rd with all classes in action and a kids bicycle race on the schedule for intermission. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, Aug. 17, 2013


Make-up Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Kandy Methvin, 3. Corey Weir, 4. Jason Snodgrass, 5. Rusty Weir.

Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Kandy Methvin, 3. Corey Weir, 4. Jarred Hayes, 5. John Hayes, 6. Jason Snodgrass, 7. Rusty Weir.


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. John Briggs, 3. Kandy Methvin, 4. Chris Davidson, 5. Earl Muilenburg, 6. Brady Madden, 7. Cain Foster, 8. Josh Farris.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group