Brown pockets $4,000 in David Pope Memorial
Print this page
September 7, 2013  |  by Don Cook, Fort Worth Star-Telegram

CRANDALL, Texas -- David Pope would have been proud.

A large crowd and close to 200 race cars in the pits made for a very special evening Saturday for the David Pope Memorial at the RPM Speedway.

Pope was a successful businessman and an East Texas racer that lost his life a few years ago.

The top six drivers drew for positions but Chris Brown of Spring put it on cruise control to take the feature win. Cody Smith was second, Clyde Dunn Jr. was third, Troy Taylor was fourth and Dennie Gieber was fifth.

Brown also won the $540 Dash for Cash race in honor of Pope's No. 54.

In the meantime, six-place finisher Charlie Smith wrapped up the 2013 USRA Modified track championship.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
RPM Speedway, Crandall, Texas
Saturday, Sept. 7, 2013


Heat #1: 1. Charlie Smith, 2. Chase Delrio, 3. Bobby Malchus, 4. Max Eddie Thomas, 5. Patrik Daniel, 6. Lee McCullough, 7. Elliott Davis, 8. David Cook, 9. Michael Jackson.

Heat #2: 1. Joe Adams, 2. Tommy Williams, 3. Clyde Dunn Jr., 4. Bobby Ruffin, 5. Doug Byrns, 6. Billy Brierton, 7. Robert McKinney, DNS - Josh Landers.

Heat #3: 1. Cody Smith, 2. Colby Smith, 3. Stanley Kraly, 4. Steve Byram, 5. Sean Jones, 6. Steve McMackin, 7. Perry Belk, 8. Chaz Exum.

Heat #4: 1. Chris Brown, 2. Dennie Gieber, 3. Brandon Watson, 4. Corey Babbitt, 5. Billy Jack Brutchin, 6. George White, 7. Matt Deaver, 8. Tim Clonch.

Heat #5: 1. T.J.  Steele, 2. Troy Taylor, 3. Jason Gore, 4. Johnny Philpot, 5. Shawn Gammage, 6. Jim Knight, 7. Chuck Weaver, DNS - Scott Prather.

"B" Main #1 (top 6 advance): 1. Bobby Ruffin, 2. Bobby Malchus, 3. Corey Babbitt, 4. Patrik Daniel, 5. Brandon Watson, 6. Billy Brierton, 7. Sean Jones, 8. Lee McCullough, 9. Matt Deaver, 10. Michael Jackson, 11. Chuck Weaver, 12. Chaz Exum, 13. Scott Prather.

"B" Main #2 (top 6 advance): 1. Max Eddie Thomas, 2. Jason Gore, 3. Johnny Philpot, 4. Steve McMackin, 5. Jim Knight, 6. Shawn Gammage, 7. Josh Landers, 8. Billy Jack Burtchin, 9. Tim Clonch, 10. Elliott Davis, 11. Robert McKinney, 12. David Cook, 13. Doug Byrns, DNS - Perry Belk.

Utility Trailer of Dallas Dash for Cash 1. Chris Brown, 2. Cody Smith, 3. Troy Taylor, 4. T.J.  Steele, 5. Charlie Smith, 6. Joe Adams.

"A" Main: 1. Chris Brown, 2. Cody Smith, 3. Clyde Dunn Jr., 4. Troy Taylor, 5. Dennie Gieber, 6. Charlie Smith, 7. Colby Smith, 8. Maz Eddie Thomas, 9. Tommy Williams, 10. Corey Babbitt, 11. Chase Delrio, 12. Bobby Ruffin, 13. Billy Brierton, 14. Jason Gore, 15. Patrick Daniel, 16. Johnny Philpot, 17. Steve McMackin, 18. Jim Knight, 19. T.J.  Steele, 20. Joe Adams, 21. Brandon Watson, 22. Bobby Malchus, 23. Shawn Gammage, 24. Stanley Kraly.

Latest News from the USRA

May 19, 2018
Auringer, Jackson, Caudle, Stanton, Coopman claim Hamilton County Speedway checkers
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive finally outlasted Mother Nature to complete the second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series event of the season Satread more
May 19, 2018
Dycus dominates Devil's Bowl
With 30 USRA Modifieds rolling into the famed half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Touring Outlaw Modified Series were led by their two-time series champion Tristonread more
May 19, 2018
Sorensen sweeps NAPA North Star Nationals
The USRA Modifieds were on the card Saturday as part of the NAPA North Star Nationals at Deer Creek Speedway. A huge crowd was on hand to watch the USRA Modifieds and theread more
May 19, 2018
Dotson, Elliott, Nunnikhoven, Galvan outduel everybody on Earley Tractor Night at I-35 Speedway
The USRA Modifieds took to the track first Saturday on Earley Tractor Night at the I-35 Speedway to make up their feature from May 5. Dennis Elliott took the lead on the read more
May 19, 2018
Gallardo strikes back at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Military and public safety personal packed the stands for Military & Public Safety Night on a beautiful May 19 edition of the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Southern New Mexico more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group