USRA sanctioning returns to Lakeside Speedway; USRA Stock Cars added to weekly lineup in 2014
Print this page
November 1, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—Lakeside Speedway is continuing its affiliation with the United States Racing Association (USRA) for the 2014 racing season, officials from the track and USRA announced today.

In addition to USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods, the track’s Factory Stock division will transform to USRA Stock Cars for the weekly programs at the historic 4/10-mile clay oval in Kansas City, Kan.

Non-sanctioned Grand Nationals will round out the four-class card on Friday nights.

Since purchasing the Lakeside Speedway prior to the start of the 2013 season, owners Mike Johnson and Don Marrs have invested in track improvements to the 25-year-old facility.

One of their first decisions was to sanction the track’s Modified and B-Mod classes with the USRA, and it paid off with some of the biggest weekly car counts in the nation.

During the 2013 campaign, Lakeside’s fervent fan base witnessed and average of 26 USRA Modifieds and 35 USRA B-Mods with several drivers challenging for USRA national championships in both divisions.

Nic Bidinger captured the 2013 track championship for the USRA Modifieds while the season-long title for the USRA B-Mods went to Aaron Marrant. Bidinger will earn $1,500 for his efforts and Marrant will pocket $500 from the Lakeside Speedway points fund.

Matt Dotson of Clark, Mo. (USRA Modified) and Troy Hovey of Decorah, Iowa (USRA B-Mod) will be awarded $10,000 and $2,000, respectively, for their 2013 USRA national championships.

At the end of the 2014 season, a first-time USRA Stock Car track champion will also be crowned at Lakeside. This year’s USRA Stock Car national champion—Donovan Flores of Las Cruces, N.M.—garnered a $1,500 payday for his first crown under the USRA banner, plus $600 each for his track championships at the El Paso (Texas) Speedway Park and Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces.

Track management is currently working to finalize the 2014 racing schedule. The season will begin in March and continue through the first annual USRA Nationals. Next year’s calendar will include events for the USMTS Modifieds and other touring series to be announced.

For more information on special events, ticket information or sponsorship, call the Lakeside Speedway office at 913-299-9206 or visit online.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, Day Motor Sports, Dominator Race Products, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, Nitroquest, RACEceiver,, Radical Racegear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics, Something Inked.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, COMP Cams, Crane Cams, Edelbrock, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA MEMBER TRACKS: Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Dodge County Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Great American Dirt Track, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, LA Raceway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, NAPA Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Royal Purple Raceway, RPM Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tucson International Raceway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, West Plains Motor Speedway, West Siloam Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group