Fuqua, Clancy, Seifert victors at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
May 9, 2014  |  by Bob Libbey

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- Darron Fuqua proved tonight at the Lakeside Speedway that the race isn’t over until the checkered flag flies. The Mayetta driver worked his way from fifth to second by lap 20 of the 25-lap USRA Modified feature and with the help of lapped traffic and a great line coming out of four was able to motor around Nic Bidinger for the win. Bidinger, who had won the third heat to qualify for the pole led every lap up until this point. Behind Bidinger at the line was Tim Setzer in third. Setzer too had battled Bidinger early on in the event. Mark Schafman and last week’s winner, Trevor Hunt, battled for fourth and fifth, finishing in that order, respectively.

Current USRA B-Mod national points leader Jake Richards looked like he was going to dominate the USRA B-Mod 15-lap feature until lady-luck reared her ugly head causing his radiator hose to burst. Chad Clancy motored next to Richards as his bad luck struck and wouldn’t be challenged from that point on. Clancy received his first trophy of the season. Randall Schiffelbein Jr. and Gene Claxton battled hard for second and third, finishing in that order. Despite scraping against the outer concrete wall a time or two…or three, Mike Higley was able to go from 14th to finish 4th while newcomer, Doug Keller, rounded out the top-five.

The USRA Stock Car feature started out with Jay Barnes taking early command of the 15-lap event. Former champion, Justin Seifert, needed but a couple laps to motor in to the lead and looked like it would be clear sailing from there. As the race progressed, Dean Hensler, was working his way from his 13th starting position and by lap 8 was knocking on Seifert’s door. Hensler would take the lead on lap 11 only to be overtaken by Seifert a lap later. Seifert this time would not give up the top stop and registered his second win of the season. Hensler would finish third to Brett Heeter, who raced from a 14th starting position. Kevin Anderson and Barnes rounded out the top five.

“Racing on the rivers edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and USRA Stock Cars. Gates open at 5:00pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, and the first race gets under way at 7:30pm. Adult ticket prices are $12.00, kids 7-12 $6.00, and children 6 and younger admitted FREE. Senior Citizen’s and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, May 9, 2014


1. (3) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
2. (1) 3B Nic Bidiinger, Perry
3. (4) 51 Tim Setzer, Archie, Mo.
4. (6) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
5. (2) 99H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
6. (5) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
7. (9) 34A Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
8. (8) 7J Justin Johnson, Gardner
9. (7) 88D Matt Dotson, Hallsville, Mo.
10. (10) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo.
11. (14) 59 Jared Stiens, Maryville, Mo.
12. (12) 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton
13. (17) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
14. (13) 1 Kirby Stiens, Conception Junction, Mo.
15. (15) X33 Nick Newton, Kansas City
16. (22) 86 Buddy Benedict, Independence, Mo.
17. (24) 96 Danny Barker, Kansas City
18. (23) 8T Terry Bruner, Shawnee
19. (20) 29S Jeff Smith, Kansas City, Mo.
20. (21) 56 Brian Troxel, Centralia, Mo.
21. (11) 3J Lewis Jackson, Wellsville
22. (19) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City
23. (18) 21T Lance Town, Wellsville
24. (16) 8 Mark Hoover, Maryville, Mo.


1. (4) 21C Chad Clancy, Smithville, Mo.
2. (1) 11JR Randal Schiffelbein Jr., Tecumseh
3. (7) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
4. (13) 11 Mike Higley, Kansas City, Mo.
5. (10) 7K Doug Keller, Easton, Mo.
6. (5) 20Y Yancy Shepard, Smithville, Mo.
7. (16) 17T Shadren Turner, St. Joseph, Mo.
8. (9) 11C Chad Feather, Kearney, Mo.
9. (18) 44 Sam Schuler Jr., Kansas City
10. (19) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
11. (14) 14 Bobby Wood, Rayville, Mo.
12. (8) 9T Cody Thornton, Tonganoxie
13. (6) 15 Ed Noll, Excelsior Springs, Mo.
14. (12) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee
15. (22) 16 David Pierce, Kansas City, Mo.
16. (23) 13 Stephen Blake Sr, Shawnee
17. (24) 1 Jacob Hobscheidt, Plattsmouth, Neb.
18. (15) 75 Robert Isabell III, Bonner Springs
19. (2) 7J Jake Richards, Edwardsville
20. (3) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
21. (17) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
22. (11) 29 Nate Barnes, Kearney, Mo.
23. (21) 4 Chad Walker, Kansas City
24. (20) 23 Cam Atkinson, Kearney, Mo.
DNS. (23) 21K Kevin Sloan, Easton
DNS. (16) 57S Royce Stanley Jr., Kansas City, Mo.


1. (3) 37 Justin Seifert, Kansas City
2. (14) 5 Brett Heeter, Kansas City
3. (13) 8 Dean Hensler, Weatherby Lake, Mo.
4. (4) 417 Kevin Anderson, Kansas City, Mo.
5. (2) 19 Jay Barnes, Kearney, Mo.
6. (6) 26L Anthony Whitham, Kansas City, Mo.
7. (5) 7 Marshall Jewett, Gardner
8. (10) 0 Nick Whalen, Kansas City
9. (1) 56 Joe Smith Jr., Kansas City
10. (9) 6 Hank Thompson, Kansas City
11. (11) 53W Larry Waters, Kansas City
12. (7) 41K Vernon Kever, Kansas City, Mo.
13. (12) 56K Nicholas Smith, Kansas City
14. (8) 34S Richard Sparks, Kansas City
15. (15) 1 Zachary Paige, Kansas City, Mo.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group