Schott, Queensland power to wins at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
June 7, 2014  |  by Bill Nelson

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- A slightly unseasonably cool early June greeted the racers and fans Saturday on Podein Power & Equipment Night at the Deer Creek Speedway. The evening started out with a great turnout of drivers on hand for a meet and greet with the kids of the Deer Creek Speedway Kids Club. Afterwards the action turned to the racetrack.
Another strong field of 31 Elma Performance & Fabricating USRA B-Mods were on hand to do action on the high banked 3/8-mile Speedplant. Brandon Hare charged out of turn two with the lead with Alex Williamson close behind in second. Kadden Kath sat in the third spot with Cole Queensland and Nick Wagner racing for the fourth spot. Queensland took over the fourth spot while Hare slowly started to pull away from the field up front.

A caution flew on lap three with Hare again leading. Kath sat in second with Queensland and Williamson battling for the third spot. Jacob Bleess sat in fifth as the two car battle for third now became a t hree car battle for the second spot. Kath kept control of the spot as Queensland worked into third. With nine completed laps in the book Queensland and Kath raced again for second. Queensland took over the second spot and as they came upon the start/finish line Hare quickly slowed and pulled to the infield handing the lead to Queensland.

A final caution on lap twelve saw Queensland leading the field with Jacob Bleess now working up into the second spot. Kath and Williamson raced for the third spot. At the finish it was Queensland with the win. Bleess, Kath, Dustin Sorensen and Williamson rounded out the top five. Jerry Young won the "B feature and worked from twenty first to eighth in the feature while Trevor Fecht, Queensland, Sorensen and Kylie Kath won the heat races.

Lucas Schott led early in the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modified division. Brad Waits sat by close in second with Brandon Davis and Jason Cummins racing for the third spot. With five down Waits finally gained a little more ground on Schott up front and was credited with leading lap six before a caution flew over the field. Waits led on the restart with Cummins now pressuring Schott for the second spot. Schott held onto the second spot as another caution flew on lap ten.

Waits again led with Schott starting to pressure for the lead again. As they raced side by side at the line on lap twelve Schott was credited with the lap. A fina l caution on lap thirteen saw Schott leading. Waits sat in second until his machine pushed up the hill in turn two. Cummins slowed slightly while Davis moved past Cummins for third and alongside of Waits for second.

Waits regained composure and held onto the second spot. Joel Alberts and Steve Wetzstein raced for the fifth spot with Alberts cracking the top five on lap twenty. At the finish it was Schott with the win. Waits, Davis, Cummins and Alberts cracked the top five. Heat races were won by Schott, Wetzstein and Jay Richardson.
Regular racing action resumes again next Saturday with action in all five classes. Don't forget about the USAC Wingless Sprint Cars taking to the speedway on June 21. Definitely a must-see event.
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, June 7, 2014


"A" Feature: Cole Queensland, Jacob Bleess, Kadden Kath, Dustin Sorensen, Alex Williamson, Trevor Fecht, Erik Kanz, Jerry Young, Kylie Kath, Dan Hovden, Brady Keefe, Scott Demmer, Shaun Walski, Ryan Konkel, Craig Bentzin, Charlie Steinberg, Tanner Johnston, Kenny Boge Jr., Nick Wagner, David Pitz, Tyler Creely, Brandon Hare, Blake Arndt, Parker Hale.

"B" Feature: Young, Konkel, Walski, Arndt, Anthony Condit, Bill Stettner, Mike Chisholm, Steve Quinnell, Jackson Hale, Derek Clement, Cale Slawson.

Heat #1: Fecht, Wagner, Pitz, Boge Jr., Demmer, Stettner, Hale, Clement.

Heat #2: Queensland, Steinberg, Kanz, Hale, Bentzin, Young, Walski, Quinnell.

Heat #3: Sorensen, Williamson, Ka. Kath, Keefe, Creely, Arndt, Chisholm, Slawson.

Heat #4: Ky. Kath, Bleess, Hare, Hovden, Johnston, Konkel, Condit.


Feature: Lucas Schott, Brad Waits, Brandon Davis, Jason Cummins, Joel Alberts, Steve Wetzstein, Keith Foss, Josh Angst, Jacob Dahle, Craig Shaw, Dustin Scott, Todd Scharkey, Jake Timm, Jason Schlangen, Joe Horgdal, Joe Ludemann, Les Duellman, Mark Motl, Greg Jensen, Billy Steinberg, Jay Richardson, Darwyn Karau.

Heat #1: Schott, Waits, Davis, Foss, Schlangen, Angst, Shaw, Duellman.

Heat #2: Wetzstein, Cummins, Alberts, Motl, Jensen, Steinberg, Ludemann.

Heat #3: Richardson, Dahle, Scott, Horgdal, Scharkey, Timm, Karau.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group