World Modified Dirt Track Championship blasts off Thursday at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
July 22, 2014  |  by Jeff Nun,

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—This Thursday, Friday and Saturday, July 24-26, the best of the best dirt modified drivers on the planet converge on the Deer Creek Speedway for the 4th running of the World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Red Tail Tackle.

In less just three years, the mega-event at the iconic high-banked 3/8-mile clay oval in Spring Valley, Minn., has solidified itself as the “who’s who” marquee event for open-wheel dirt modified racing.

This year’s blockbuster event will award no less than $17,000 to the winner and at least $1,500 to each of the main event starters in Saturday night’s 100-lap finale.

Race fans will witness a complete program of co-sanctioned USMTS/USRA Modifieds each day, plus different support classes each night.

Thursday and Friday will feature qualifying, heat races, consolation races and an “A” Qualifier for the Modifieds. Qualifying will be done through group time trials with a green-white-checkered format. The top six qualifiers from each group will be inverted for their heat race. Heat races will take the top 12 in passing points to the “A” Main Qualifier with the remainder going to one of the “B” Mains.

The top six in overall points each night are locked into the first 12 starting spots of Saturday’s championship “A” Main.

Saturday’s show will feature an “alphabet soup” of main events as drivers try to make their way into the big dance. Fourteen additional drivers will qualify from Saturday’s “B” Main into the 100-lap “A” Main, and one additional driver will sneak into the field via the annual fan auction prior to the race to create a 27-car starting field.

Jason Hughes conquered last year’s 100-lapper while Ryan Gustin blistered the field in 2012 to take home a record $25,000 which included part of more than $30,000 in additional sponsorship money that was raised less than 24 hours before the final night. The inaugural event in 2011 went to Brad Waits of nearby Rochester, Minn., as he bested the toughest, most talent-laden field ever compiled while driving a used chassis he acquired one week prior to the show.

Joining the racing card on Thursday will be the Iron Man Challenge featuring USRA Stock Cars plus Wissota Super Stocks. The Iron Man Challenge for USRA B-Mods shares the spotlight on Friday, along with Wissota Street Stocks. Saturday’s support class will be Wissota Midwest Mods.

Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. on Thursday and Friday with hot laps and time trials beginning at 6:30, followed by racing at 7:15. On Saturday, spectator gates swing open at 4 p.m. and the first heat race gets the green flag at 6:45.

Thursday and Friday ticket prices are $25 for adults, $10 for kids and pit passes are $35. On Saturday, adult tickets are $30, kids are $10 and pits are $40.

There will be an open practice for all drivers on Wednesday from 6-9 p.m. Pit passes are $20 and admission to the grandstands is free.

Miner’s Outdoor & Rec will have golf carts available to rent for this year’s event. Rates for the weekend are $175 for a standard cart, $250 for a four-passenger cart and $400 for a six-passenger cart, tax included. A credit card and valid driver's license is required for all golf cart rentals. Rental hours are Wednesday from 12-8 p.m., Thursday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Friday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the campground. Reservations may be made by calling or texting 507-440-3372.

For race fans unable to attend the 4th Annual World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Red Tail Tackle, every lap of every class all three nights will be broadcast via pay-per-view by RacinDirt. Visit today to order your three-day package and save.

The Deer Creek Speedway sits on 60 acres of scenic rural rolling hills with one of America’s most popular state-of-the-art racing complexes and a busy modern campground. The 3/8-mile high-banked clay oval is located 11.3 miles south of I-90 (exit 209) on US 63 (0.7 mile north of SR 16) in Spring Valley, Minn. For more info, call toll-free 877-327-7223 or 507-346-2342 on race day or visit online.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver,, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive,, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Battleground Speedway, Bloomfield Speedway, Bronco Raceway Park, Buena Vista Raceway, Callaway Raceway, Cedar County Raceway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Dodge County Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gator Motorplex, Hamilton County Speedway, Hancock County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Marshalltown Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Mountain Creek Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, Royal Purple Raceway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, South Texas Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Texana Raceway park, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, West Siloam Speedway.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group