15th Annual Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals kicks off Wednesday
Print this page
October 12, 2014

LAS CRUCES, N.M.—The 15th Annual Widow Wax USRA Fall Nationals presented by Barnett Harley-Davidson is set for Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Oct. 16-18, at the Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, N.M., and this year's USRA Modified main event winner could walk away with as much as $25,000.

Saturday’s finale fill dole out at least $10,000 to the winner and $1,000 to each main event starter. However, if there are 51-75 cars at the event, the money goes up to $12,000 to win and $1,200 to start. A field of 76-100 cars pushes it up to $15,000 to win and $1,500 to start, and if 100 or more cars and drivers are in competition, the winners gets $15,000 while every driver taking the green flag earns at least $2,000.

As if that weren’t enough, Mesilla Valley Transportation is sponsoring the Front Row Challenge for the first time in the 15-year history of the mega-event. Both front row starters in Saturday’s A-Main will have the opportunity to start at the back of the field for $25,000 to win.

Heat race passing points will be used to determine main event lineups the first two nights. The top five finishers in Thursday’s A-Main advance to the inside row of Saturday’s A-Main and the top 5 in Friday’s A-Main to outside row of Saturday’s A-Main.

Stormy Scott is the defending champion of the event. Other past winners include Terry Phillips (2012) Jason Cummins (2011), Rodney Sanders (2010), Johnny Scott (2009), Eddie Martin (2005-07), Ron Jones (2000-01, 2004), Monte Bolton (2003) and Royal Jones (2002).

The event will also feature USRA B-Mods going wheel to wheel for $2,500 to win Saturday night. Drivers may compete under the local Limited X-Mod rules package or USRA B-Mod rules package.

Also on the racing card will be USRA Stock Cars (Street Stocks) racing for $300, $300 and $500 to win, respectively, and Casa Nissan Legends Cars which battle for $1,000 to win Saturday night.

The event will be a USRA national points race each night for the USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods and USRA Stock Cars.

Entry forms are available on the Southern New Mexico Speedway website at www.snmspeedway.com or the USRA website at www.usraracing.com under the Downloads tab.

An open practice is slated for Wednesday, Oct. 15, with gates opening at 4:30 p.m. and practice beginning at 6 p.m. Pit passes are $20 and entry to the grandstands is free.

On Thursday, Friday and Saturday, gates open at 5 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. Adult general admission tickets are just $12 on Thursday and Friday and $15 on Saturday or get a three-day pass for just $30. Pit passes are $40 each day or $100 for a three-day pit pass.

The Southern New Mexico Speedway is a 3/8-mile semi-banked clay oval located 11 miles west of Las Cruces at the Southern New Mexico State Fairgrounds. Take I-10 to exit 132 (about 10 miles west of Las Cruces), then go one block south, then west on frontage road (next to Love’s Travel Stop). For more information call 575-524-7913 or 505-524-7913 or visit www.snmspeedway.com online.

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usraracing, follow us at www.twitter.com/usraracing on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usratv.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver, RacinDirt.com, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, ElbowsUp.com, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Battleground Speedway, Bloomfield Speedway, Bronco Raceway Park, Buena Vista Raceway, Callaway Raceway, Cedar County Raceway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Dodge County Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gator Motorplex, Hamilton County Speedway, Hancock County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Marshalltown Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Mountain Creek Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, Royal Purple Raceway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, South Texas Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Texana Raceway park, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, West Siloam Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group