Davis, Heeter, Noll take opening night wins at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
April 3, 2015  |  by Jr. Lowrey

Kerry Davis edges out Darron Fuqua by a half-car-length to win the USRA Modified feature at the Lakeside Speedway on Friday, April 3.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.--It was a new beginning at Lakeside Speedway on Friday night. Cold weather, rain and other elements played games with the staff at Lakeside Speedway but in the end the track was ready to go on Friday night and the fans that braved the elements were treated to some great races on opening night.

Dalton Kirk and Kerry Davis brought the field to the green flag to start the USRA Modified A Main. Davis took command of the feature right from the start. For the first 6 laps it was Davis at the front of the field with Mark Schafman applying some pressure at the top spot.

Several drivers were working their way to the front as the laps clicked off. Last year’s champ, Nic Bidinger, started his move to the front but would find mechanical problems during lap number 6. This trouble would force him from the race. Davis still had control of the race.

Darron Fuqua worked his way up from 9th to 3rd by lap 9. Fuqua ran into a little bit of a problem as Schafman began to display engine troubles. It would only last a couple of laps and on the 9th circuit Schafman would pull into the infield. Fuqua would now have smooth sailing to catch Davis.
The feature was only set for 20 laps, so he would have to hurry.

Davis, at the front of the pack, needed to just hit his marks and come home with the win. Unfortunately for Davis lapped traffic would get in the way and it allowed Fuqua to close the gap.

As they came to the white flag, Davis still held the top spot but Fuqua was going to make a run at the top spot. As the two made their way around the track it all came down to the final turn. Fuqua took to the extreme high line on the track and made one last ditch effort as they pulled side by side in the middle of the final turn.

“I saw him in the end,” said Davis, “I saw his nose and told myself, ‘I got this one!’ The track was awesome, it’s a great opening night.”

The two drivers came off turn 4 to drag race down the front straight. Slight contact would be made between the two and Fuqua made contact with the front straight wall! Davis took the checkers 1st by a little less than half a car lenghth for the 1st victory of the season. It was an exciting way to end the night for everyone in attendance.

Fuqua, started 9th and came home 2nd, 3rd went to Tim Karrick, Tyler Schmidt started inside of row 3 and finished 4th and rounding out the top 5 was Jared Steins.

Heat race winners were Schafman, Schmidt and Karrick.

Another nail-biter occurred in the USRA Stock Car Feature event. Scotty Moore jumped out to the early lead, but Joe Smith Jr. was hot on his trail and by lap 4 he would be the new leader.

Behind the leader a strong battle brewed between Moore, Sean Foster and Jake Newman. A yellow would come out after Moore and Newman got together bunching the field up as 8 laps were down. During the majority of the laps several drivers were in the contention for the win, but one driver was working his tail off.

Starting deep in the field, the 2014 Stock Car Champ Brett Heeter was making his way to the front. The green flag waved and Heeter quickly went to the 3rd spot and would pick up another before chasing down the leader, Smith.

As the racers came to the white flag, Heeter had the advantage by just a tiny fraction. For the last lap Heeter would hang on and take the win. It would be a strong statement for the driver who has won 2 straight track championships.

Smith would hold on to 2nd, Nick Whalen drove through the field to finish 3rd, 4th went to Sean Foster and Anthony Whitham raced his way to a top 5 finish in 5th.

Heat race winners were Newman, Whalen and Smith.

Ed Noll was looking to get a strong finish on opening night in the USRA B-Mod division. He would get his wish.

Noll ran out to the point position right from the start. In the early part of the feature it was Gene Claxton giving Noll fits. Fortunately for Noll, Tim Powell was on the move and he soon would shoot it out with Claxton for the 2nd spot. A yellow would slow the pace down and bunch everyone up for another restart.

Noll would once again take control of the feature but a little smoke started to show from the back of Noll’s hot rod. Could Noll’s engine hang on? It did and Noll would take the first win of the season in the B Mod class.

Powell gave it his all and came up 2nd, Gene Claxton was 3rd, 4th was Eddie Schwope and Shadren Turner finished in 5th.

Heat race wins went to Sam Schuler Jr., Powell and Don Marrs.

An added bonus on the night was handed out by Gary Joslin of Joslin’s Jewelry. Each feature winner received a watch that was valued at $200.

Racing action continues at Lakeside Speedway next Friday night, April 10. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps are at 6:45 p.m. and the first race goes green at 7:30 p.m. Adult tickets are $12, kids 7 to 12 are $6, children 6 and under are Free and military personnel, seniors and students all get in for $10 with proper ID.

For more information on Lakeside Speedway visit them on the world wide web at www.LakesideSpeedway.net, find them on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or follow Lakeside on Twitter at Follow Lakeside Speedway on Twitter @Lakeside_Spdwy.

April 3, 2015 Lakeside Speedway Feature Results

USRA Modified Feature
1. Kerry Davis
2. Darron Fuqua
3. Tim Karrick
4. Tyler Schmidt
5. Jared Steins
6. Tim Setzer
7. Lewis Jackson
8. Austin Johnson
9. Dalton Kirk
10. Justin Johnson
11. Lance Town
12. Terry Bruner
13. Danny Barker
14. Jerry Liston Jr.
15. Eric Hanna
16. Mark Schafman
17. Nic Bidinger
18. Mark Hoover
19. Kirby Stiens
20. Jeff Smith DNS
21. Aaron Marrant DNS

USRA Stock Car Feature
1. Brett Heeter
2. Joe Smith Jr.
3. Nick Whalen
4. Sean Foster
5. Anthony Whitham
6. Jim Powell Jr.
7. Thomas Roberts
8. Bobby Tavis III
9. Jake Newman
10. Rich Boyden
11. Tom Fogarty
12. Scotty Moore
13. Cody Vail
14. Nicholas Smith
15. Christopher Smith
16. Jeff Elder
17. Chad Walker
18. Nate Barnes
19. Steve Herrick

USRA B-Mod Feature
1. Ed Noll
2. Tim Powell
3. Gene Claxton
4. Eddie Schwope
5. Shadren Turner
6. Chad Clancy
7. Don Marrs
8. Colten Stevens
9. Luke Nieman
10. Sam Schuler Jr.
11. Dustin Gilbert
12. Shane Patch
13. Rodney Schweizer
14. Tim Galvan
15. Stephen Blake Sr
16. Jayse Clinton
17. Mandy Chick
18. Derrick Mahoney
19. Donnie Miller
20. David Oxford
21. Scott Henney
22. Ronnie Miller
23. Rodney Phillips
24. Robert Isabell III
25. Jeff Miles
26. Matt Pugh

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group