Smith goes back to back at Lakeside; Setzer, Anderson also win
Print this page
April 24, 2015  |  by Jr Lowery

KANSAS CITY, Kan.--The eminent threat of weather plagued Lakeside Speedway once again in the month of April. The staff would do a nice job in hurrying the races along all night. In the end, once again, Lakeside Speedway was able to dodge the bullet and get in the entire show.

Last week's feature winner in the USRA B-Mods, Brad Smith, along with youngster Jayden Bears brought the field to the green flag for Friday night's A Main.

It was Smith leading the charge from the start of the racing. Smith took to the point position but had a challenger with him in Dustin Gilbert.

Lap number 5 would see Gilbert wrestle the lead away from Smith. Gilbert looked strong on this night as he held the lead. On lap number 9 Gilbert dropped to low in turn 3 and appeared to hit the tires just enough to upset his car and momentum that he was carrying. It allowed Smith the opportunity he needed to retake the lead.

As the field came to start lap 10, Smith would retake the top spot on the grid. It would be the last lead change of the night. Smith would scoot to the checkers for his 2nd consecutive feature win.

Gilbert would hold on to his best finish of the season in 2nd, 3rd went to Shadren Turner, Randal Schiffelbein Jr. put on a drive to 4th after starting in the 11th position and Matt Pugh drove to a 5th place finish.

USRA B-Mod heat race winners on the night were Gilbert, Pugh, Turner and Bears.

A total of 21 USRA Stock Cars made the call for the A Main Friday night at Lakeside Speedway. When the smoke cleared at the end of the night a new, Power Player, is emerging in the name of Kevin Anderson.

Anderson has picked up feature wins during weeks 2 and 3. Friday night Anderson was hungry for another win.

Justin Seifert and Jim Powell Jr. brought this exciting field to the green flag.

Powell would take the lead early in this one while Anderson was held up battling back in the 4th position. Powell would hold on to the top spot for the next 10 laps. At lap 11 it started to heat up.

Anderson had to work his way up to Powell and the two would swap spots heading into lap 13 when Anderson was able to use lapped traffic to his advantage. As Powell had trouble getting by the lapped car, Anderson would use it to retake the lead from Powell. This would allow him to pick up his 3rd consecutive win in the USRA Stock Car class.

Anderson's 3rd straight win is an impressive feat when you consider the amount of talent that he is racing against.

Powell finished a close 2nd, Seifert celebrated a good 3rd place run, 4th went to Thomas Roberts and Sean Foster rounded out the top 5.

USRA Stock Car heat race winners were Powell, Anderson and Roberts.

It was wild feature event in the USRA Modified division on Friday night.

Tim Setzer and last week's feature winner, Lance Town, put a repeat performance on at the top to the field.

Setzer would lead from the opening lap, but it was Town keeping pace and applying the pressure the entire way.

A couple of yellows were brought out on the feature by Larry Clawson, the last one coming at lap 10. The restart on lap number 10 would be cause for some excitement.

Setzer and Town were still at the top spot, the battle was being waged for 3rd thru 6th right behind them. Heading into turn 3, heavy contact was made by Lewis Jackson and your points leader, Kerry Davis. Davis would suffer damage and have to go to the back as did the 2nd place driver in the points, Darron Fuqua. Fuqua stopped to avoid running into the action in front of him.

The green flag would fly again and at the front the battle was still all Setzer and Town.

Setzer, unlike a week ago, wouldn't let this one slip away. Setzer would close out the race just as he had started it, in the top spot. It was the 1st win on the season for Setzer.

Town would finish 2nd, Tim Karrick drove to a 3rd place finish after starting 7th, 4th went to Jackson and Austin Johnson raced his way to a 5th place finish.

USRA Modified heat race winners were Fuqua and Davis.

Racing action this week will continue on Sunday evening as Lakeside Speedway hosts the USAC Sprint Cars for the Weld spring Classic.

Pit gates open at 3:00 and tickets are $35.00 per ticket. Front gates open at 4:00. All tickets are General Admission 11 and older are $25.00 per ticket, under 10 are free and all Suite tickets are $35.00 per ticket. Racing start at 7:30.

USRA B-Mods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 1 99 Brad Smith Belton , Mo 100.00
2 3 2 Dustin Gilbert Lawrence , Ks 95.00
3 5 17T Shadren Turner Saint Joseph, Mo 91.00
4 11 11JR Randal Schiffelbein Jr Tecumseh , Ks 87.00
5 4 38 Matt Pugh Overland Park, Ks 84.00
6 13 91 Eddie Schwope St. Joseph, Mo 81.00
7 7 181 Luke Nieman Nortonville , Ks 78.00
8 10 23B Curtis Berry Raymore , Mo 76.00
9 17 5 Dakota Foster Gardner , Ks 74.00
10 2 20J Jayden Bears - 72.00
11 6 44 Sam Schuler, Jr. Kansas City, Ks 70.00
12 12 3X3 Nick Newton Kansas City, Ks 68.00
13 9 22 Dustin Crist St Joseph, Mo 66.00
14 8 49P Shane Patch Overland Park, Ks 64.00
15 18 17C Cullen Thompson Hermann , Mo 62.00
16 14 7M Heath Murry Tonganoxie , Ks 60.00
17 25 57 Tim Powell Lansing , Ks 58.00
18 16 53B Terry Bivins Lebo , Ks 56.00
19 23 13 Stephen Blake Sr Shawnee , Ks 55.00
20 15 27 David Oxford Kansas City, Mo 54.00
21 27 49 Patrick Royalty Kansas City, Ks 53.00
22 22 23C Mandy Chick De Soto, Ks 52.00
23 21 15 Ed Noll Excelsior Springs, Mo 51.00
24 20 53 Monty Mitchell Manhattan , Ks 50.00
25 19 17R Ramon Ortega St Joseph, Mo 50.00
26 24 222 Colten Stevens Basehor , Ks 45.00 DNS
27 26 11 Mike Higley Kansas City, Mo 45.00 DNS

USRA Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 5 417 Kevin Anderson Kansas City, Mo 100.00
2 2 20P Jim Powell Jr. Lecoompton , Ks 95.00
3 1 37 Justin Seifert Kansas City, Ks 91.00
4 4 65X Thomas Roberts Kidder , Mo 87.00
5 8 55 Sean Foster Smithville, Mo 84.00
6 9 05 Brett Heeter Kansas City, Ks 81.00
7 3 14 Todd Staley Webster City, Ia - 78.00
8 6 00 Nick Whalen Kansas City, Ks 76.00
9 11 105 Clint Hedge Bonner Springs, Ks 74.00
10 13 12 Scotty Moore Kansas City, Ks 72.00
11 17 29 Nate Barnes Kearney , Mo 70.00
12 10 15X Phil Snodgrass Kearney , Mo 68.00
13 7 04 Chad Walker Kansas City, Ks 66.00
14 15 0T Bobby Tavis Iii Leavenworth , Ks 64.00
15 14 1 Christopher Smith Kansas City, Mo 62.00
16 19 26L Anthony Whitham Kansas City, Mo 60.00
17 18 5K Steve Herrick Topeka , Ks 58.00
18 20 T2 Tom Fogarty Olathe , Ks 56.00
19 21 97J Jeff Elder Smithville , Mo 55.00
20 12 9 Robert Garst Topeka , Ks 54.00
21 16 56 Joe Smith Jr. Kansas City, Ks 45.00 DNS

USRA Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 51 Tim Setzer Archie , Mo 100.00
2 3 21T Lance Town Wellsville , Ks 95.00
3 7 1K Tim Karrick Basehor , Ks 91.00
4 1 3J Lewis Jackson Wellsville , Ks 87.00
5 6 98 Austin Johnson Kansas City, Mo 84.00
6 11 3B Nic Bidiinger Perry , Ks 81.00
7 8 13H Eric Hanna Maryville , Mo 78.00
8 10 34 Mark Schafman Edwardsville , Ks 76.00
9 9 3 Larry "bubba" Harvey, Jr. Kansas City, Ks 74.00
10 15 175 Jason Park Kansas City, Ks 72.00
11 12 29S Jeff Smith Kansas City, Mo 70.00
12 4 68 Kerry Davis Parkville , Mo 68.00
13 5 87 Darron Fuqua Mayetta , Ks 66.00
14 14 21D Larry Clawson Pleasan Valley, Mo 64.00
15 13 2 Mike Eisenhut Topeka , Ks 45.00 DNS

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group