Marrant gets first win of season at Lakeside
Print this page
July 24, 2015  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—It was a hot, steamy night that greeted the racers and fans on Friday night. The return for the fans that dared the warm temperatures was a great show.

Kerry Davis has been the King of the USRA Modifieds to this point at Lakeside Speedway. Heading into Friday night’s races, Davis has won 5 features and sits on top of the point standings. Was there anyone to battle Davis?

Aaron Marrant started off the season with a blown motor and then sat out a few weeks before getting back into the action. Since his return Marrant wasn’t tearing up the speedway, but he was getting better each week. After last week’s top 5 finish, it appeared that the former champ was back to his old ways.

At the start of the feature Marrant got out to the lead over Davis. It would set up a showdown that would last for all 20 laps of the main event.

Right from the beginning Marrant was back in familiar territory, out in front and riding on the top of the track. He would extend his lead over Davis as the laps began to click off.

Davis would give chase as Darron Fuqua would run behind Davis, Lance Town and Logan Martin would also try and run down the leader. An early caution for Mark Schafman would bunch up the field.

With the green flag waving again Marrant shot back out to the front of the field. Laps 12 thru 14 Davis would get close, but Marrant would answer the challenge. Two laps remained when Davis and Marrant would have contact and the two would battle it to the final corner. Davis was in the middle of the speedway with Marrant still hugging the high line.

On the white flag lap into the final corner, Marrant used lapped traffic to his advantage to secure the win as Davis got held up on the track.

Marrant would become the 9th different feature winner on the season.

Davis held on to the top of the standings with a 2nd place finish, 3rd went to a consistent Lance Town, 4th was Terry Schultz and Tim Karrick battled back to finish in 5th.

Two drivers in the USRA B-Mod division that have been battling at the top of the point standings this season, Ed Noll and Shadren Turner, brought the field to the green flag to start the USRA B-Mod main event on Friday night.

At the end of the first lap it was Ed Noll asserting himself as the alpha male of B Mods. A place he has come to know well this season at Lakeside after having won multiple times.

It wasn’t a runaway lead for Noll. Turner and Andy Bryant, both feature winners, were hot on Noll’s tail. Brad Smith, another feature winner, was also working his way to the front as all four drivers were ready to battle it out.

The action at the front would get hot and heavy as Bryant went to make a move on Noll, but it would be for naught as Colten Stevens took a wild ride in turn 3 and brought out a red flag situation.

A yellow would quickly follow the red and racing would resume. Once the green came back out Turner would take the lead from Noll on the restart. Turner would only hold the lead until turn 4 as Noll would return the favor and pull back in front of Turner with 4 laps to go.

The action still wasn’t done as the top 4 cars were nose to tail. Turner would bobble which gave Bryant 2nd and then Brad Smith made a move on Bryant that would give Smith the 2nd spot. This was all done in 1 lap. All the tight racing behind Noll allowed him to sneak away from the competition.

A late race yellow set up a green-white-checkered finish.

Noll would re-establish the lead and take the win. It was his 4th win of the season and it also meant he would put a little more cushion in the points lead.

Bryant would edge out Brad Smith by inches for second, fourth went to Luke Nieman and Turner would hold on to the fifth spot.

If you don’t like door-to-door, wheel-to-wheel racing action I would advise you not to watch the USRA Stock Car feature ever!

Kevin McGinnis would shoot out in front of the competition early in this one, but just before the halfway point Jason Ryun would take over the top spot and establish a sizable lead. Several cars were in the hunt behind Ryun and moving forward.

McGinnis, Brett Heeter, Kevin Anderson and Nate Barnes were all moving to the front and battling one another as the did so.

Ryun would lose control in turn 4 and drop from the top spot. McGinnis would retake the lead but only for a moment as Heeter would roll passed McGinnis for the top spot.

It looked like win #5 coming for the point leader, Heeter, but a yellow for a right front issue dashed Heeter’s hopes of another win.

McGinnis would be back in the lead once again. A three wide battle out of two would see Jason Ryun retake the lead, as he made contact with McGinnis and it would cause McGinnis to fall back. Anderson would now take up the mantle and battle Ryun for the lead with just a few laps to go.

The two would stay close at the front but Anderson would win the battle for the top spot and led the final three laps to pick off win no. 6 on the season. It’s the most wins of any USRA Stock Car driver this season.

Ryun would finish in the runner-up spot, Marshall Jewett would have one of his best finishes of the year in third, fourth would be Tom Fogarty and rounding out the top five was Nate Barnes.

Next Friday night, July 31, the spectator gates will open up at 5 p.m., hot laps will be at 6:45 p.m. and the first race goes green at 7:30 p.m.

Adult tickets are $12, kids 7 to 12 are $6, children under 6 are FREE and military personnel, students and seniors get in for $10 with proper I.D.

For more information on Lakeside Speedway visit them on the world wide web at, find them on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or follow Lakeside on Twitter at Follow Lakeside Speedway on Twitter @Lakeside_Spdwy.

Lakeside Speedway is a 4/10-mile semi-banked dirt oval located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City, Kan.).

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, July 24, 2015


1. Ed Noll
2. Andy Bryant
3. Brad Smith
4. Luke Nieman
5. Shadren Turner
6. Sam Schuler
7. Logan Martin
8. Chad Clancy
9. Terry Bivins
10. Gene Claxton
11. Patrick Royalty
12. Rodney Schweizer
13. DJ Demott
14. Vic Tranckino
15. Matt Pugh
16. Don Marrs
17. Tim Powell
18. Scott Henney
19. Lance Lincoln
20. Shane Patch
21. Colten Stevens
22. Dustin Crist
23. Dustin Gilbert
24. David Oxford


1. Kevin Anderson
2. Jason Ryun
3. Marshall Jewett
4. Tom Fogarty
5. Nate Barnes
6. Thomas Roberts
7. Sean Foster
8. Bobby Tavis III
9. Jason Park
10. Lucas Conely
11. Jeff Elder
12. Steve Herrick
13. Luke Driskell
14. Kevin McGinnis
15. Brett Heeter
16. Anyjony Whitham


1. Aaron Marrant
2. Kerry Davis
3. Lance Town
4. Terry Schultz
5. Tim Karrick
6. Nic Bidinger
7. Logan Martin
8. Lewis Jackson
9. Mike Eisenhut
10. Larry ‘Bubba’ Harvey
11. Shaynz Bailey
12. Jared Steins
13. Jason Park
14. Jeff Smith
15. Mike Higley
16. Darron Fuqua
17. Buddy Benedict
18. Kevin McGinnis
19. Mark Schafman
20. Justin Johnson

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group