Schmitt shines in Spring Valley
Print this page
July 25, 2015

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—Tom Schmitt picked up his second win of the season Saturday night as the Holley Iron Man Series featuring USRA Stock Cars invaded the Deer Creek Speedway as part of the 5th Annual World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Red Tail Tackle.

Schmitt, who started sixth, was part of an eight-car pack at the front of the field that jockeyed for position for the first half of the 20-lap main event at the high-banked clay oval in Spring Valley, Minn.

But the former USRA Stock Car National Champion and Holley Iron Man Series Champion asserted himself on lap 12 and then kept the field at bay for the remaining eight laps.

The win was worth $750 to the Independence, Iowa, driver.

Shawn Peter, who won Thursday night’s USRA Stock Car feature here, came home in a close second with Kyle Falck finishing third and earning an extra $250 as the NFG Fleet Graphics Hard Charger after starting 19th on the 23-car grid.

Kevin Donlan rebounded from an early flat tire to claim the fourth spot with Mitch Hovden rounding out the top five finishers.

Sixth through tenth, respectively, went to Brian Mahlstedt, Lynn Panos, Stefan Sybesma, Jake Newman and Steve Jackson.

The next Holley Iron Man Series event for the USRA Stock Cars happens Friday, Aug. 7, at the Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa.

The next Holley Iron Man Series race for the USRA B-Mods takes place on Wednesday, Sept. 2, at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association (USRA)
Holley Iron Man Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, July 25, 2015

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown, laps completed and money won. All drivers were locked into the “A” Main, with the top 8 re-drawing for starting positions 1-8.


Heat Race #1:
1. (4) 86 Philip Wernert, Galesville, Wis.
2. (8) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn.
3. (3) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa.
4. (5) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa.
5. (1) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.
6. (7) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn.
7. (2) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa.
8. (6) 69 Jake Ludeking, Decorah, Iowa.

Heat Race #2:
1. (4) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa.
2. (2) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn.
3. (3) 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah, Iowa.
4. (1) 2J Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa.
5. (7) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa.
6. (6) 48 Casey Sebastian, Cresco, Iowa.
7. (5) 14 Todd Staley, Webster City, Iowa.
8. (8) 9 Larry Blickenderfer, Shell Rock, Iowa.

Heat Race #3:
1. (7) 11x Shay Curtin, Cresco, Iowa.
2. (6) 32 Derek Green, Granada, Minn.
3. (3) 14m Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa.
4. (5) 5B Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa.
5. (4) 27t Tory Reicks, Waucoma, Iowa.
6. (2) 67 Darin Toot, Albert Lea, Minn.
7. (1) 20 Brent Tweten, Chatfield, Minn.

 “A” Main:
1. (6) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa, $750.
2. (3) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn., $600.
3. (19) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa, $750.
4. (13) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa, $450.
5. (4) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa, $400.
6. (9) 14m Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa, $350.
7. (10) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa, $300.
8. (11) 5B Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa, $250.
9. (14) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo., $225.
10. (12) 2J Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa, $200.
11. (8) 11x Shay Curtin, Cresco, Iowa, $190.
12. (22) 69 Jake Ludeking, Decorah, Iowa, $180.
13. (20) 14 Todd Staley, Webster City, Iowa, $170.
14. (17) 48 Casey Sebastian, Cresco, Iowa, $160.
15. (18) 67 Darin Toot, Albert Lea, Minn., $150.
16. (15) 27t Tory Reicks, Waucoma, Iowa, $140.
17. (5) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn., $130.
18. (21) 20 Brent Tweten, Chatfield, Minn., $125.
19. (7) 86 Philip Wernert, Galesville, Wis., $125.
20. (1) 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah, Iowa, $125.
21. (2) 32 Derek Green, Granada, Minn., $125.
22. (16) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn., $125.
23. (23) 9 Larry Blickenderfer, Shell Rock, Iowa, $125.

Margin of Victory: 0.433 second.
NFG Fleet Graphics Hard Charger: Falck (started 19th,, finished 3rd).
Entries: 23.
Next Race: Friday, Aug. 7, Fayette County Speedway, West Union, Iowa.
Points Standings: Schmitt 1094, Jackson 967, Staley 803, Hovden 733, Newman 732, Falck 700, Sybesma 699, Ludeking 601, Donlan 548, Anderson 519.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver,, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive,, Erson Cams, Heartland Auto Racing Show, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Harris Auto Racing, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, Mitchell Machine, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, East Texas Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Lonestar Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sioux Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

March 22, 2018
Former Out-Pace USRA B-Mod National Champion Morton returns to Lucas Oil Speedway weekly series in 2018
Even though it didn't work out at planned, J.C. Morton is glad he ventured out and tried a new racing opportunity last season. "If I hadn't, I'd have read more
March 20, 2018
Opening night at I-35 Speedway set for March 24
Opening night. The smell of spent race fuel, the sounds of racing engines, the hustle and bustle of the crowd in the pits and the grandstands, the roar of the motors as tread more
March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group