Schultz returns to Warrensburg winners circle
Print this page
August 15, 2015  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—A hot August night turned into a hot night of racing at Central Missouri Speedway as 93 cars checked in for competition including 22 USRA Modifieds that took part in the action throughout the night.

The final heat races of the night saw the USRA Modifieds competing in three heats to sort out their main event lineup. USRA national points leader Terry Schultz rocketed to the win in the first heat with a power move off turn two with Tyler Shaw and Shad Badder second and third. Jason Bodenhamer grabbed the second heat over Jim Moody and Dean Wille. For the final heat, Eric Turner made a late-race pass and drove to the win over Lewis Jackson and Aaron Marrant.

The USRA Modifieds closed out the night’s program as the fast-paced action thrilled the nice crowd on hand. Schultz, who is gunning for a USRA Modified National Championship started on pole for the 25-lap main event. With Schultz leading Bodenhamer, who was going for his second with of the night leading the way an early caution flew for Justin Plumb. On the restart, Bodenhamer powered his way to the front using up the high side for all it was worth as Schultz settled into second.

Tim Karrick and Jared Rogers were involved in an early caution bringing the field to another restart still inside of lap five. Shortly after Karrick was caught up in another caution flag incident as his night came to an early end while Tyler Shaw received some damage to the left front of his car but able to continue.

Nick Pence and Steve Twenter had problems early on in the event with the battle up front beginning to really heat up between low-riding Schultze and High-side Bodenhamer leading the way. Schultz kept digging on the low side as Bodenhamer’s preferred line began to fade, ultimately leaving him in a battle with Jim Moody, Eric Turner and Shad Badder inside the top five.

A late caution slowed the field one final time for Terry Kirk as his night came to an end off of turn two on lap 17. Just eight laps remained when the field went back to green with Schultz leading Moody, Bodenhamer, Turner and Badder.

When the final laps came around, Schultz maintained his lead and captured his fifth CMS win of the year. Bodenhamer held strong for a solid-second place finish with Moody advancing forward to third from his sixth starting position. Badder made his way to fourth with Danny Scrogham edging Eric Turner at the line for fifth with Turner sixth. Completing the top ten were Lewis Jackson, Gunner Martin who recovered from an earlier mishap to finish eighth while Jared Rogers was ninth one spot ahead of a great finish for Tyler Shaw in tenth after receiving the left-front damage. Dean Wille recovered nicely from an early race caution and was just edged out of the top 10 by one spot as he also recovered from an early race caution period.

Next week at CMS is Comfort Inn Race Night at the track. Check may be found online by pointing your brower to for all the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

Pit Gates open at 4:30, Admission Gates open at 5, driver's pill draw cutoff is at 6:15 (no passing points awarded to driver if late draw), Drivers Meeting at 6:30, Hot Laps at 7, and Racing at 7:30! General Admission Adults $12, Military/Students w/ID $10, Seniors 65 and over $10, Kids 6 to 12 years $5, all children 5 and under free! Permanently confined to wheelchair, free! All weekly racing pit passes are $30. On race day call the track report line at 660-747-2166.

CMS is located just past the round-a-bout on Hwy 13 three and a half miles north of Warrensburg, Missouri from the junction of Highways 50 and 13. From the Interstate 70 Higginsville/Warrensburg Hwy 13 exit, the track is located 12.5 miles south on Hwy 13.

CMS thanks its primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling,, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Blue Springs Chiropractic, Economy Lumber, Brooks Automotive LLC, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, Rod End Supply, JA Performance and Outdoor Services, Seeburg Mufflers,, and

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 15, 2015


1. 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
2. 03 Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview
3. 00 Jim Moody, Odessa
4. 73b Shad Badder, Oak Grove
5. 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
6. 16 Eric Turner, Hermitage
7. 3j Lewis Jackson, Wellsville, Kan.
8. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs
9. 44 Jared Rogers, Tecumseh, Kan.
10. 85s Tyler Shaw, Mexico
11. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg
12. 23 Steve Twenter, Sedalia
13. 66m Max Grogan, Basehor, Kan.
14. 55 Terry Kirk, Urbana
15. 7m Aaron Marrant, Richmond
16. 0 Richard Layne, Kansas City
17. 00p Justin Plumb, Peculiar
18. 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
19. 32p Nick Pence, Raymore
DNS 24jr Jimmy Eaton, Bates City
DNS 82 David Wood, Richmond
DNS 209 Josiah Stephens, Grain Valley

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group