Luitjens earns 2005 USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series national crown
Print this page
December 4, 2005

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa -- Veteran racer Ron Luitjens of Brewster, Minn., made history in 2005 as he has been named the first national champion of the United States Racing Association. Luitjens, who competed weekly at the Murray County Speedway in Slayton, Minn., and Nobles County Speedway in Worthington, Minn., scored nine USRA Modified main event wins en route to becoming the inaugural USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series national champion.

Ron Luitjens receives his track championship trophy at the Murray County Speedway awards banquet recently. (Photo credit: Tim Lange)
The USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series factored in each USRA-licensed driver's best 30 finishes, and encompassed drivers from all four USRA-sanctioned classes.

In his best 30 starts, Luitjens recorded an impressive 25 top-5 finishes and 30 top-10 finishes as he led a near-sweep of the final top-10 positions by Gopher State competitors. Luitjens nipped USRA Hobby Stock driver Justin Luienburg of Reading, Minn., who notched seven wins, 24 top-5's and 30 top-10's on the season. Luienburg also competed at the Murray County Speedway and Nobles County Speedway during the 2005 calendar.

Luitjens' advantage over Luienburg in the final points standings was 2750 to 2685.

USRA Modified driver Brad Waits of Zumbrota, Minn., who competed at the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., and the Dodge County Speedway in Kasson, Minn., finished third in the final tally with 2675 points. USRA Hobby Stock driver David Ross of Reading, Minn., finished fourth with 2654 points, followed by Aaron Betz of Avoca, Minn. (5th place, Modified, 2539), Karl Fenske of Winona, Minn. (6th place, Modified, 2515), Neil Eckhart of Rochester, Minn. (7th place, Modified, 2451), Bob Timm of Rolling Stone, Minn. (8th place, Modified, 2332), Jay Ihrke of Dover, Minn. (9th place, Modified, 2285) and Zack VanderBeek of New Sharon, Iowa (10th place, Modified, 2272).

USRA Modified drivers filled eight of the top-10 spots while two USRA Hobby Stock drivers grabbed the other two positions. The highest-finishing USRA Stock Car driver was Matt Greiner (who finished 11th) while Jake Simpson was the top points-earner among the USRA B-Modified drivers.

In 2006, USRA officials have announced a lucrative national points fund and will crown a national champion in each USRA-sanctioned class.

For more information, call the USRA offices at 515-832-7944 or visit on the World Wide Web.

Ron Luitjens in action at the Murray County Speedway in Slayton, Minn. (Photo credit: Neil Wicks, NEWImages)

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group