Chateau Raceway checkers to Davis, Kath on opening night
Print this page
April 22, 2016  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn.—The 60th anniversary season of racing at Chateau Raceway kicked off with action Friday night in Lansing. Eighty-five cars were on hand for the 2016 season opener which included the tracks regular six classes of cars.

Kylie Kath of Owatonna, the defending champion in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod class, picked up right where he left off last fall as he posted a sweep on the night taking home the feature win along with his heat win. Kath worked from row four to the front in just four laps as he out ran Dan Hovden of Decorah, Iowa, to the checkers. Hovden scored the class's other heat win on the evening.

The USRA Modified feature was the most exciting of the night. A three-car battle through out the race got really tight near the end before Brandon Davis of Medford found the line that put him in victory lane. Jason Cummins of New Richland who scored the classes heat win on the night used a front row starting spot to jump out to the lead. Josh Angst of Winona and Davis came out of rows two and three to battle for second and third. Davis moved up to second on lap three only to have Josh take the spot away on lap 7. Seven laps later on lap 14 Davis moved back up to the runner up spot. The top three were bunched up tight a couple laps later when Cummins got a little higher in turn 2 than he had been running and Davis slid under him to take the lead. Cummins was able to get back down ahead of Angst but the two of them just followed Davis home from there.

Racing action continues next Friday night with action scheduled to get underway at 7 p.m.


Heat 1: Dan Hovden-Decorah IA, Kadden Kath-Owatonna, Mark Wytaske-Austin, Chris Bruns-Owatonna, Morgan Schrage-Cresco IA, Christian Warner-Owatonna

Heat 2: Kylie Kath-Owatonna, Jayden Larson-Mankato, Taylor Ausrud-Hayfield, Cole Lonergan-Dexter, Jessie Baer-Minnesota Lake

Feature: Ky Kath, Hovden, Ka Kath, Ausrud, Larson, Baer, Bruns, Schrage, Lonergan, Wytaske, Warner


Heat: Jason Cummins-New Richland, Brandon Davis-Medford, Greg Pfeifer Jr.-Brownsdale, Steve Wetzstein-West Concord, Josh Angst-Winona, Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie, Joe Horgdahl-Kasson, Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, Jacob Stark-Austin

Feature: Davis, Cummins, Angst, Pfeifer Jr., Wetstein, Hillson, Jensen, Horgdahl, Stark

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group