Turner, Ray top Southern New Mexico Speedway season openers
Print this page
May 7, 2016  |  by Walker Akers

LAS CRUCES, N.M.—It was a long off-season but here we are again with the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods and Holley USRA Stock Cars taking off for 2016 at the Southern New Mexico Speedway.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mods starting off the season opener for us tonight with their 20-lap main event. Brian Klein was starting on the pole and looking strong for the first few laps but Donovan Flores was chasing him down.

As Flores would catch the Uno a lapped car would spin directly in front of them. Neither driver had anywhere to go and the leaders would both come to a stop. Flores would join the rear and continue but the night was over for Klein who was shaping up to put on a show.

Rick Hall would inherit the lead after the front 2 had their incident but on the restart could only hold it for a couple laps before Jimmy Ray would dive it down low and steal the lead away.

Paddy Rush would also go around but Ray was untouchable tonight. At the checkered Ray would win way ahead with Rush barely holding off Allen who charged late. John Carney Sr. in fourth and Noah Hollingshead fifth.

Flores would get all the way back to sixth after being in the very rear.

Holley USRA Stock Cars took to the speedway next as a full class of cars would bring us many winners from last season going toe-to-toe. It was 25 laps for 24 cars as Cliff Everage would start on the pole.

The top 5 would jostle around for a while with a few different leaders including Lloyd Turner and Mark Morris.

Turner would finally clear the lead and go way ahead but the field was charging behind him. Jaime Torres and Jason Josselyn would also move through the field very quickly to battle for the lead, but after a hard and charging 25 laps it was Turner taking the win on the season opener at Southern New Mexico Speedway.

If you missed all the action tonight make sure you make it out next week as we go racing again. Gates open at 5:30 with racing at 7:45. We’ll be makin’ dust in the desert all night long so don’t be late!

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group