Bidinger, Heeter, Powell get wins at Lakeside
Print this page
June 24, 2016  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—As the feature got underway for the USRA B-Mods on Friday night for Planet Marrs Recycling at the Lakeside Speedway, many fans would have thought that the points leader, Chad Clancy, starting from the front row would have another easy win on his hands.

They would have been wrong.

Brad Smith took control of the race early. Smith put up a big lead until, with 6 laps to go, something broke on the Smith’s ride and he went up into the wall in turn 3. It would end his night.

The yellow would be an advantage for Tim Powell to see what he could do at the front. Powell started 5th in the main even and worked his way up to 2nd before the yellow. As the green flag flew Powell raced out to the lead. Chad Clancy and Luke Nieman were hot on his heels.

Powell using the high groove to his liking, pushed forward with the lead. He would see one final assault from Clancy on the white flag lap.

Clancy pulled alongside Powell heading out of turn 2, he would have to chase Powell down the back stretch and in the final turn Clancy put his hot rod on the bottom of the speedway hoping for the best.

The best on this night was Tim Powell. Powell would beat Clancy to the line collecting a well deserved victory.

Clancy would come home in 2nd, 3rd went to Nieman, 4th would be Andy Bryant and Shad Turner would finish in the 5th spot.

Points leader in the USRA Modified division, Kerry Davis, didn’t get off the start he wanted on Friday night’s feature.

Davis would lose his motor going into turn 1 just after the start of the feature. It would end his night and he would also collect Mark Schafman, Tim Karrick and Darron Fuqua in the melee.

Nic Bidinger would re-take the top spot as the race went back to green.

This feature would belong to Bidinger. Bidinger, former multiple time champ at Lakeside Speedway, looked like his old self on Friday night. Nothing could slow him down. Bidinger would build a lead up and would hold it. Even when the yellow would fly, he would go right back to the front and stay there.

Bidinger would blast his way to the win.

Tanner Mullens finished in the runner up spot, Tyler Schmidt had one of his best finishes of the year in 3rd, 4th went to Tim Karrick, who battled from the back after being involved in the 1st yellow of the night and rounding out the top 5 was Lance Town.

If there is one dominant driver at Lakeside Speedway, it’s got to be in the USRA Stock Car class and that’s Brett Heeter.

Heeter has logged 4 straight championships, on Friday night he was looking for win #5 on the season and guess what? He did it.

Heeter and pole setter, Trevor Hunt would lead the field to the green flag. Once it dropped it was all Heeter. At the front of the pack Heeter kept Hunt at bay all night long. Hunt would stay with him in the early part of the feature, but as the race wore on Heeter began to extend his lead.

Behind the top 2 there was great race going on for spots 3 thru 7! Side by side and 4 wide were several of the laps for these racers and the fans enjoyed it.

At the stripe Heeter took home win #5, Hunt finished in the runner-up spot, Justin Siefert ran from 10th to finish 3rd, 4th went to Chad Walker and Kevin Anderson returned from his wreck last week and finished 5th this week.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, June 24, 2016

1. (5) 57 Tim Powell, Lansing
2. (2) 21C Chad Clancy, Polo, Mo.
3. (3) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
4. (6) 28 Andy Bryant, Fort Scott
5. (4) 17T Shadren Turner, St. Joseph, Mo.
6. (8) 12C Steve Clancy, Odessa, Mo.
7. (7) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
8. (11) 3X3 Nick Newton, Kansas City
9. (9) 15 Ed Noll, Excelsior Springs, Mo.
10. (22) 7 Doug Keller, Easton, Mo.
11. (15) 117 Tim Galvan, Edwardsville
12. (13) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
13. (14) 22M Steve McDowell, Independence, Mo.
14. (16) 49 Patrick Royalty, Kansas City
15. (20) 21V Vic Tranckino, Basehor
16. (23) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee
17. (17) 5 Terry Bivins, Lebo
18. (21) 64K Monty Cook, St. Joseph, Mo.
19. (24) 17 Dean Galvan, Bonner Springs
20. (1) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
21. (25) 92 Dennis Melvin Sr., Basehor
22. (10) 7M Heath Murry, Tonganoxie
23. (12) 0 Chase Galvan, Bonner Springs
24. (19) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
25. (26) 91X Cody Thornton, Tonganoxie
26. (18) 97J Jeff Elder, Smithville, Mo.
27. (27) 27 David Moline, Kansas City, Mo.

1. (2) 05 Brett Heeter, Kansas City
2. (1) 33H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
3. (10) 37 Justin Seifert, Kansas City
4. (3) 04 Chad Walker, Kansas City
5. (7) 417 Kevin Anderson, Kansas City, Mo.
6. (12) 17C Lucas Conley, Spring Hill
7. (8) 5K Steve Herrick, Topeka
8. (6) T2 Tom Fogarty, Olathe
9. (11) 99D David Moline, Kansas City, Mo.
10. (5) 17 Kevin McGinnis, Kansas City
11. (9) 31Z Nick Zinn, Kansas City
12. (4) 46 David Holcomb, Kansas City
13. (13) 34 Rick Sparks, Kansas City

1. (2) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry
2. (4) 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita
3. (1) 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton
4. (6) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
5. (10) 21T Lance Town, Wellsville
6. (11) 22 Nick Shenberger, Independence, Mo.
7. (13) 29S Jeff Smith, Kansas City, Mo.
8. (9) 13H Eric Hanna, Maryville, Mo.
9. (15) 8X Chad Thomsen, Louisburg
10. (16) 23 Adam Kates, Tonganoxie
11. (8) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
12. (14) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City
13. (5) 70 Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
14. (12) 5 Kevin McGinnis, Edwardsville
15. (7) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
16. (3) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group